We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Outer Banks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
A TripAdvisor Member
“Visit to Outer Banks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I thought the hotel was very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I think the price was high for the first week in May. The beds were great, however, when I moved, the headboard made noise. Other than this noise and the early morning trash pick-up outside my bedroom window, it was very quiet. The pool was very nice and was heated. I did not get in it because it was so cold outside and very windy. But the saving grace was the firepit in the courtyard. I was able to relax, get a little sun, while sitting in front of the fire pit to stay warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    230
    105
    30
    18
See reviews for
246
346
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loved Kittyhawk. Walking down the beach there was now crowd, peaceful and relaxing. Hotel has a great restaurant and excellent service. Rooms are standard but clean. We plan to visit again to fly kites! This property has a nice pier and beautiful views of the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to stay at this Hilton Garden Inn because it seemed liked one of the nicer ones in Kitty Hawk. We opted for an ocean front balcony room with Jacuzzi tub. These rooms are the best you can get at this hotel, however, I was so disappointed with the ocean view (sounds weird being ocean front) but the pier was always in our line of sight. We'd lie in bed and look out the balcony hoping to see only ocean waves, but all we saw was a pier with hardly any ocean views. The huge window next to the Jacuzzi tub had a great view of the ocean IF you were in the tub, otherwise, all you would see is the parking lot below. There was also a wedding reception scheduled one night, so instead of listening to the peaceful ocean waves, we heard people talking all night long at the reception. Definitely not worth the premium price tag considering the view is not very good for an “Ocean Front.”

Another weird thing I noticed was that none of the sliding doors had screens. I was hesitant to leave the doors wide open at night without that bug barrier. Our little balcony table was also broken, so the hotel is starting to show some wear from sure. Our bathroom also had a weird smell and felt a little dingy...not necessarily terrible or anything, but just sort of an "it's been used a lot" sort of feeling.

With all of the said, the staff members at this hotel were very nice! We were checked in promptly, they had free warm cookies, coffee in the lobby for anytime of day you desired it, we were constantly greeted by the staff …everyone from the front desk to the nice gentleman washing salt mist off of the windows. We requested a few extra towels in our room one day and we got them in a flash! The service at this hotel was very good.

In conclusion, I would consider staying here again, but I would NOT pay for the premium Ocean Front Jacuzzi room...I would definitely down-grade my room choice and save some money since the ocean front views did not meet my expectations at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to accommodate all reservations but we apologize if this room did not meet your expectations. Again, we apologize and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Hall, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is beautiful hotel. The lobby is worth spending time to enjoy the beautiful art work, and the spectacular fish tanks. Service was excellent ! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Outer Banks !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed here for a friends wedding weekend, and it was just what we needed. we had a view of the ocean, the beds were super comfortable and the room was really clean. we had a few drinks at the bar waiting on the shuttle to the wedding and the bartenders were great.
my only issue is that they only have room service for a few short hours around dinner. no breakfast, lunch or late night room service is available.
other than that, it was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This Hilton is by far the best place to stay anywhere. The staff is qualified, extremely attentive and friendly. When you speak of quality this location is the definition! Not to mention the location, the views are spectacular and you are within a few short miles of all the fun and excitement of the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We'll go back to Kitty Hawk and the Outer Banks, but we won't be back at this Hilton. We had and ocean front room and had to move to another room the first night we arrived because the people in the room next door were still letting their children scream at 10:30. The staff did respond to our request quickly and moved us to a corner room which at least was quieter. The next morning we had breakfast; it wasn't especially good and it was overpriced for the area. Then the next morning we were awakened by an early morning (before 7AM) fire alarm going off. Just as we got up, it stopped. There was constant bulldozer work outside our room; they seem to be shoving sand around at the base of the pier, and the noise from people around the pool went on entirely too long at night. I imagine there should be better insulation in the building but it's not something they are going to fix I'm sure. There are much nicer places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Pick one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we sincerely apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.