We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kitty Hawk
NW North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“In the middle of it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There isn't a better location on the Outer Banks to be centrally located to all the good stuff. I hate to tell you all the good stuff about this hotel as it will always be full and I won't be able to get in there. :)

A great hotel with all the amenties one could need for a fantastice weekend at OBX!

Room Tip: Spend the extra bucks and do Beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    210
    95
    28
    16
See reviews for
234
303
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, lobby so homey, with two fireplaces on each side of the lobby, with beautifully kept aquariums, rooms were great, and even ocean view rooms gave great viewing access of the beach and the ocean. Rooms were clean, comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and the restaurant gave points back if you ate in their restaurant. Since it was off season and not much was open it was a great alternative to not have to try to find something after a 6hr trip!. Will definitely stay there again whenever I have a trip to the OBX.

Room Tip: oceanview give a great view of the ocean and not as costly as oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am not sure I would stay here in the summer. We had an oceanfront room and the balcony was separated by a wall that did not go all the way to the rail, you could look around and see your neighbors, which I would not like. Fortunately we had no neighbors. Clean rooms, nice linens, great employees, wonderful lobby to hang out in, lots of newspapers to read, wonderful view.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room, we were in 318, high enough to have a good view of the ocean and hear the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were slightly nicer than an average hotel. The staff was really great. The breakfast was outstanding! Overall we enjoyed our stay. I think you are adding extra to the cost because of the Hilton name.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I went to the Outer Banks for our annual anniversary trip and were soothed and delighted by our ocean front accomodations at the Hilton. The hotel was very clean and the ocean view was spectacular. The sound of the ocean was an added treat. The location was very convenient to everything we desired and overall the service was delightful. There was a computer glitche in the restaurant which tested the gentleman serving which made his service less than good; however, we easily found an alternative that we enjoyed. We enjoyed our visit at Kitty Hawk and if we return we will definitely consider the Hilton again for our accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Most people stay in beach houses when they visit North Carolina's Outerbanks, as does my family when we go for a week in the Summer. However, houses aren't usually available for shorter stays, and spur of the moment trips, etc. My family and I made such a spur of the moment trip to go to the beach over the unseasonably warm MLK holiday weekend. There are not many good choices for hotels on the Outerbanks of North Carolina. Most of the hotels are older and pretty run down. Not so with the Hilton Garden Inn in Kitty Hawk. This is a newer hotel and is, by far, the nicest hotel on the Outerbanks. We arrived about noon (way before check-in time) and our room was not ready yet. The front desk clerk said she would contact housekeeping to put a rush on our room and would call our cell phone when the room was ready. We hung out in the lobby for about 10 minutes when the clerk came over and told us that our room was ready now. Everyone we had contact with at this hotel was very friendly and provided great customer service. The room was clean and well appointed with a small balcony and awesome ocean views up and down the beach. It was not an overly large room, probably average size....if staying for a week I would definitely prefer a house! The only two complaints that I had are 1. the sliding glass doors to the balcony...when the people above beside you open or close their sliding doors it sounds like thunder or a mini earth quake. The room above us had several kids that kept opening and closing the door constantly. Fortunately the didn't stay up too late, but the did get up early and wake us up with the thunder from the door. This is a poor design that needs to be addressed. 2. The second complaint is more minor. The beds are not super comfortable. They are not bad, but not as comfortable as the beds at a Marriott, and definitely not as comfortable as my memory foam bead at home.

To sum it up, This is a very nice place to stay with a great location and awesome views. We will definitely stay here again when coming to the OBX for a short stay.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Friends and I visited the area just to get away from hustle and bustle of our hectic lives. The hotel had beautiful oceanfront views but the rooms are slightly outdated. However great option on the OBX for hotel guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.