We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want Franks, This is the Place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capt'n Franks

Capt'n Franks
3800 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9210
(252) 261-9923
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 61 restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Newport News, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If You Want Franks, This is the Place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Depending of weather, you can sit inside or on the patio. A very good variety of hot dogs, which are very plump and on large, soft buns. No view since it is located on a busy by-pass, but a very nice spot to have an enjoyable lunch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    52
    44
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Good Franks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stopped by here the day before Thanksgiving for some take out before hearing back to our house! Glad I arrived when I did because the place got packed, and for good reason! Very tasty dogs! I had a Texas Dog, which was very good. The bun was so soft, it melted in your mouth. My boyfriend had the Chicago dog and I'm not really sure he tasted it, because he seemed to suck it down in one bite! Very friendly service as well! Will return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Popular year round dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Oscar Meyer restaurant dogs--I was told no preservatives. Consistantly good dogs. Many names of dogs on menu such as "Chicago" and others. A locals favorite. Quick service and a fair price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Iconic, Legendary, and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are traveling to the outer banks, you have to stop and experience Capt'n Franks - some of the best hotdogs I have ever eaten, and they come in a variety of sizes with a variety of toppings. We eat there about once a month we are go "to town" and my favorite is the Kraut Dog - with spicy mustard and onions - yummy. The atmosphere is fun and in good weather there is outdoor seating. Love, Love, Love their french fries and they have awesome vinegar on the side.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two Texas and a fry.............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Captain Franks is one of those legendary hot dog places. You gotta try the Texas Dog (chili , mustard and onion) and the fresh fries. My usual lunch place when Im downtown.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt'n Franks also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Capt'n Franks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt'n Franks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.