We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice gift shop.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pelican Seafood Co.

Black Pelican Seafood Co.
3848 Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4278
877-890-6049
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hughesville, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nice gift shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I ate here on our first night in the Outer Banks. It was a Friday during Lent so we needed to find a nice seafood restaurant. The Black Pelican fit the bill. I started my meal with their house salad which was very fresh and ordered their Chesapeake pizza minus the bacon which was very tasty. My husband got the fried flounder and shrimp, with rice pilaf and broccoli, which he said was great. The portions were so filling that we unfortunately did not have room for desert. We stopped in their gift shop where they had some very unique items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    273
    126
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, MA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant has a tremendous selection fro pizza to grilled tuna. I had the prime rib and it was excellent. My wife had the grilled tuna and said it was one of the best meals she has had. A place we will probably return to before we leave.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family and I visit this restaurant as often as we can...as we live in New Jersey. The food is phenomenal and we love the whole culinary experience...as well ad the atmosphere. It is a great dining experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food with beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have eaten here business and personal. Food was great. Drinks are priced well. Good service. Can see why it's so popular. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've dinned here three times and experienced 1 great meal, 1 good meal and 1 below average meal. The mahi was delicious the first visit and very dry the second stop. The almond topping is a great adder. The before dinner bread is a must. Can be quite busy at times so you may be eating late.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pelican Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Black Pelican Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pelican Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.