We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecue at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton NC BBQ

High Cotton NC BBQ
5230 Virginia Dare Trl, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
2522552275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Barbecue at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Barbecue at it's finest!. Very good service. Clean and attractive dining area.This was my first visit, and ended up going there two days straight!!Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    120
    48
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Really Good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place looks like a typical tourist family restaurant, but the bbq was excellent and the service was fast and friendly. Very good and reasonable prices!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ate here twice on our recent trip to OBX. Found this place several years ago & it's a favorite. Never been disappointed with anything about it. Love the vinegar based NC BBQ. My husband had the ribs on our 2nd visit this year & I was wishing I'd ordered them too. They were so tender & tasty! Don't particularly care for the Brunswick stew-but that's a matter of taste. Special one night was potato salad-it was different than we make in PA but very good. The owner is there alot of the time running the register or walking around to make sure everything is good. If you've never been.........give it a try. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good and Very Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A wonderful, inexpensive stop for NC barbecue. Simple, clean, and efficient with lots of choices and a very manageable bill at the end. Quick, friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a bargain price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I ordered takeout. We ordered the biggest meal on the menu (Ribs with 2 other meats) and shared it in out hotel room. It was about $15 and filled both of us up. The ribs were tasty, the brisket was very very good, and the chopped pork was awesome! I loved the vinegar-based sauce. This was a good choice!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton NC BBQ also viewed

 

Been to High Cotton NC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton NC BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.