We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar

Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar
4700 N Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-3944
252-261-2546
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Price range: $22 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eckner St.
Description: Ocean Boulevard is an American Bistro with a Seasonal Menu, a unique and comprehensive wine list, and great martinis. We provide a Global influence to Regional foods sourced from the dock of Wanchese, the fields of Currituck, and beyond. Located across from the Kitty Hawk Beach in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina, this restaurant is a priority experience for Visitors and Island Locals alike.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Ocean Boulevard in early June 2014. We went on the early side (about 5:45 pm) to beat the crowd and also take advantage of happy hour pricing. Parking was no issue; there are spaces in a lot behind the restaurant, as well as a couple on the beach road right in front.

We started out with martinis (how could we not?) and shared an appetizer of seared tuna with soba noodles and pickled cucumber, which was delicious. This was followed by main courses of mahi risotto with mussels, calamari, and scallops for me and cobia on basmati rice with broccoli and bok choy for my wife. A nice bottle of wine accompanied the entrées.

The restaurant clearly uses top-quality ingredients, and whoever is in the kitchen knows what he/she is doing, because our entrées were excellent. I would have liked to check out the desserts, but the main courses and shared app left us so full there was no way.

We have been to Ocean Boulevard a number of times in the past few years and have always had a good experience. I agree that prices are a bit on the high side, but they aren't ridiculously so, and the value for money is very good. We're looking forward to our next visit -- maybe next time we'll actually get to see Donny, who introduced us to ghost peppers a few years ago.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    63
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

One of the few restaurants I've seen with a 100% sanitation rating! This place has great views inside and out. Inside, you can watch the chefs prepare from an outstanding menu through a bricked opening/bar seating area (very cool) and upstairs you can sit in window and watch the waves crash on the beach and see dolphins cruising by (whales have even been spotted from this vantage point). The wine list here is extensive and well rounded and the craft bartenders have an impressive martini menu ... but the food and service is where they shine at Ocean Boulevard. Several visits have proven consistently that the chefs here take pride in serving world class fare. The rare local tuna is always a favorite, as is the rack of Lamb and the steaks are as good or better than any we've had on the Outer Banks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A step above most of the area's beach restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the Ocean Boulevard on a Monday night in June without a reservation and were rather pleased with service and the fare - rack of lamb and a large chicken centered salad. While neither were exceptional, they were quite tasty. The pricing was somewhat on the high side, all things considered. Parking was a bit of a problem considering the limited size of the restaurant's lot and the no parking signs nearby.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Oh. My. Goodness. Get the chef's table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was one of the best meals I've ever had. Their flavor combinations are out of this world, and their creativity is unmatched on the Outer Banks in my opinion. We had the pleasure of sitting at the chef's table, which was very entertaining and we enjoyed watching them work!

Their dishes are complex yet simple, and we'll be back for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I had the catfish with an Asian twist - broccoli, bok choy and mushroom pots stickers in a ginger/soy sauce. So tasty. Husband had the salmon special - orchettee pasta, kale & asparagus. He said it was delicious. And the complimentary bread & butter is sinful

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Boulevard Bistro & Martini Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.