We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow -what took me so long?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josephine's Sicilian Kitchen

Josephine's Sicilian Kitchen
3701 Croatan Highway, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
(252) 261-2669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Restaurant details
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow -what took me so long?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Being an OBX local, you see lots of restaurants come and go, not making it after a season. I heard lots about Josephine's - most rave reviews. We took my Dad there for his 81st birthday - wow - it was so so worth the wait! My brother got the Fra Diavlo (see picture) - got an A+. My mom and I got the veal saltimbocca (sp) - and that was truly amazing. Our appetizers were grape-leaves and calamari - both outstandingly prepared. The prices were very reasonable too - most entrees around $15 - not bad for the OBX! The waitress was so patient with my Dad/Mom who can ask tons of questions - really friendly, helpful, wonderful service. All around, A+ on everything! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    44
    17
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Authentic italian food with a great atmosphere. Everything was excellent from the food to the service. We had the meatballs and the veal and both were fantastic . The bartender named howard was very nice although seemed a bit overwhelmed . Try it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal.....worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Eggplant, chicken, seafood.... it was all delicious! The restaurant is small, so there can be a wait.... just located in a non-descript strip shopping center..... but very yummy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This food is below average, and anyone who has eaten Italian food in NY or NJ would agree. Somehow all their negative reviews seem to disappear from their Trip Advisor page including mine from a year ago. Really?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is small, quaint and busy. Mainly locals go here but we have seen more tourists as the word gets out. They open at 5:00 and if you aren't in line, best wait until 6:00pm to show up. That would be about the time the first groups finish up. All authentic Sicilian cooking by Josephine and her husband. Very good prices and more than you can eat. (She has doggy bags)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josephine's Sicilian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Josephine's Sicilian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josephine's Sicilian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.