We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitty Hawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Beach Haven
Save Saved
You added Beach Haven to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Same as before. No brainer. Super close to beach and convenient. Staff is outstanding. The manager is very helpful. Rooms are always clean. Everyone should try this place out if you want a clean room and within just a few paces to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this property. The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable. The staff is incredible--friendly, helpful and very accommodating. I have recommended it to my family who live in North Carolina for their next trip to the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay that has a friendly, personal feel to it, this is your place. The staff treats you like you are part of the family, the rooms are very clean and access to the beach is great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The innkeeper at this motel is the secret to its success. She is an extremely energetic, detail oriented person. The rooms are set up in the typical roadside motel fashion, bed, sofa, sink area next to tiny bathroom. Every inch of space is utilized to make guests more comfortable. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, dishes, and even a water dispenser. She thoughtfully put chairs on the porch for my husband, myself and two kid sized chairs for our little travelers. Linens and rooms are kept impeccably clean. Beach equipment is available for a very low rental price, even beach towels. The innkeeper will even let guests do laundry for $1.50 per load in her high-capacity machines. At the end of a long road trip, that was a tremendous help to my family. The motel is about 5 steps from an uncrowded beach. The only downside to this location (and to most of Kitty Hawk) is that walking to restaurants and shops is difficult due to lack of sidewalks.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which is closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Ocean
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms were wonderful, well equipped and comfortable. The owners/staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. The room we had did have some equipment for cooking/eating, but be aware that it is very limited.

There is all kinds of things to take to the beach - chairs, toys, coolers. And the deck in front of the hotel is wonderful.

As Kitty Hawk can be a bit of a crowded nightmare, it's nice to be away from the mobs.

Be aware, though, that this place is not directly on the beach, but across the street. It's an easy walk, but there is a significant dune that will block any view you might have hoped to have. The street can get a little busy, so it's probably not an option to let small children navigate it on their own.

The beach is nice and not crowded. Great place to fly a kite, then you can say "I flew at Kitty Hawk"!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's been 9 years since I traveled back down to the Outer Banks and the Beach Haven is where I stayed 9 years ago in a little room by myself. It was a perfect place for rest and relaxation. Joe
was such a sweet man and wonderful host. I'm sorry to hear that he passed away. This time I
traveled with my 9 year old grandson. I was going to go alone again to see the ocean, but he
wanted to go with me this time. The Beach Haven is still a beautiful place. The grounds are immaculate and so well taken care of. I had the same room I had the last time I was there and
it was so tastefully redecorated and agaIn so clean. My grandson loved this place as much as
I did. Raina, the manager at the Beach Haven, is so nice and friendly and made us feel so welcome. We can hardly wait to go back there again and recommend this place for anyone
that wants a peaceful and quiet place to enjoy the sun and the beautiful ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came down from Ohio for our 1st wedding anniversary. It was a great experience. The location is very central to plenty of good dining. The owner is very courteous and willing to help in any way she can. A great motel.... Tropical storm Andrea put a damper on things weather wise but it was still a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Address: 4104 Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel Kitty Hawk
Beach Haven Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;