We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun shot makers course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Scape Links Golf Course

Sea Scape Links Golf Course
300 Eckner Street, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
252-261-2158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 attractions in Kitty Hawk
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular golf course in the Outer Banks region that was designed by Art Wall, the 1959 Masters champion.
Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun shot makers course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I really enjoyed this short course. It does require you to place your shots carefully. Miss the fairway and you can be in big trouble. the course was in great shape and the greens were a little fast but true. they had been aerated about 3 weeks before I played, but had healed wonderfully. Book on GolfNow.com for a better rate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brunswick,ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun course, but one bad marshal ruins it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently a group of four of us played here on a vacation, myself, my father, and two of my uncles. Overall the course is nice, and the staff friendly, but be careful of lunch at the turn. The food was not bad, it is actually good for a clubhouse, as we were told by the pro in the shop, the starter, and two cart girls, over and over. They all suggest calling in lunch from the 8th hole (where a menu is provided at the tee box) and they will have it ready for you at the turn. They did, but when we sat down to eat the bartender told us we couldn't and had to take it with us as not to hold up anyone behind us. We asked if we could let any groups simply play through as the course was not crowded, and were told no.
We started the back nine trying to eat burgers on the tee box, and in between shots, as I guess is the only choice at this course. This Is when we were first approached by the marshal who told us to "stop having a picnic". We asked why we were pushed by every employee to purchase lunch if we were not going to be allowed to eat it, only to get the reply "eat while you play".
At the end of the tenth hole we had a threesome behind us catching up as we attempted to "eat while we played". We were again approached by the marshal saying we were playing too slow, that we were on pace for a 5 1/2 hour round, and he prefers to keep the round to 5 hours. We told him the smaller group behind us was welcome to play through, but we were told we just needed to play faster (again, while trying to eat the lunch pushed on you).
This persisted THE ENTIRE BACK NINE. The marshal coming up on every tee box telling us to hurry, but not wanting the threesome behind us to play through. I'd understand if we were goofing off, but we weren't, we were simply playing a round of golf. The group behind us was playing three man best ball, not rocket science, but that is faster than 4 playing straight up. Even faster when they aren't sanding divots or repairing ball marks (or waiting for the group in front of them to clear before they hit).
Its hard to play fast when "eating while you play", waiting on the cart girl to clear from in front of you every other hole (literally, they must have had a death wish), and a marshal constantly badgering you AT EVERY TEE BOX.
Funny enough, when people anger me I play worse, as do most, and the round takes longer. We finished up with a round that took 4 people 4 hours and 45 minutes, at a course we had never played full of blind shots. Not good enough for the marshal though, who said "it should only take 15 minutes a hole, that's 4 1/2 hours."
Good at math the guy was, but here it is more in depth:

par 72 course x 4 players = 288 total strokes shooting an even round. (like most people, we are not that good)
at 4 1/2 hours (270 minutes) that provides each player less than a minute to get to or locate their ball, line up the shot, and hit the ball.
Please. If you want rounds that fast, ask for a handicap and tell me in advance, or allow us to let someone play through. If you don't want people to eat, don't have the entire staff push lunch on customers. And if you want people to return to your course (which we didn't), don't let one marshal with a power trip and bad math skills undo all the great customer service the rest of the staff had.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My two nephews scheduled a tee-time at Sea Scape Links Golf Course when we were in Duck, NC last week. They came back and said it was a really nice golf course and thought the price was very reasonable. They really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bob was rude and criminal like”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bob was rude and treated us like garbage under his foot acted like a criminal. We unknowingly purchased a 9.hole t time from their website and upon checking in Bob never mentioned 9 holes. In fact made us read a policy that after starting the 10th hole we could not get a rain check. After teeing off on the 10th Bob came out to tell us to pay for the back 9 immediately and threatened to call the police. He actually pulled his phone out and started to dial. I asked if he thought we were trying to steal 9 holes and he yes and then repeated to us to pay now or he is calling the police. First off all we all work hard and have professional jobs and stealing 9 holes was a ridiculous accusation, We then realized it was a scam to begin with - Get us out to the course for a cheap rate and when we check-in never mention 9 holes, and even mislead us into we were playing 18, then threaten us with incarceration right after we T-off on the 10th unless we pay now! Bob's behavior was so bizarre and he certainly was NOT being a gentleman as you would expect while out with your family for a nice outing. There was hardly anyone else at the course so this is how they get money out of the people that do come to play. Nice try for the bait and switch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great course with some good challenges.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The course weaves around the residential setting of Kitty Hawk. We were therein April and chose to play nine holes at the end of the day. The course was not busy and our two rounds were quite enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Scape Links Golf Course also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Outer Banks, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sea Scape Links Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Scape Links Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Scape Links Golf Course to your Saves list