We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn

River Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River Inn to your Saves list
River Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 E New Bern Rd, Kinston, NC 28504 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Lumberton, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked the room through Choice Privilidges.Motel lobby was filthy and had an odor. The Indian male behind the counter was extremely rude and arrogant. He has no respect for ladies. We were so disgusted by the filth and his attitude that I called Choice Privilidges and had them cancel my reservation and book us into another motel. I would not recommend this motel for anyone! If I had read the reviews first it would have saved us alot of trouble. I would highly recommend the Quality Inn in Kinston.

Room Tip: Quality Inn Kinston, NC
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    10
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First I'd note that the sign says, "Under new management." I only saw the one man at the front desk both at night and the next morning, and he was ultra nice. So, I do wish him well.

With that note, I must say this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I'm fine with a budget hotel when we just want to sleep and be on our way. I just want a clean and comfortable room in those cases. Econo Lodge was neither clean nor comfortable.

The first thing I noticed was the carpet was worn out and filthy. In places, the pile was worn through to the liner. It had big stains in several places. And, it felt sticky. I wore my shoes in the room.

A battery was missing in the remote of the big bulky TV. The manager got a battery and checked to be sure that worked. That's how I knew he was trying.

We settled in, and the AC sounded like a train. Clang. Clang. It wasn't very cool either. Then I fell to sleep, and a burning smell woke me up. Hot air was coming out of the AC along with the smell of something burning. I guess the motor burned out. I got it turned off, and we spent a hot night in the room, since this happened at 1 a.m.

I went in the bathroom after the burning AC issue and noticed hair all along the walls (and a couple stuck to the inside of the tub) and also dirty walls and a super wrinkled shower curtain.

The sheets looked clean (and I hope they were), but they were worn thin (kind of limp and pilly), and the pillow was flat as a pancake. It was too hot to use the covers. So I was laying there hot and wondering if there were roaches and bedbugs. I never saw any bugs, so that was the plus point along with the new manager being nice.

Maybe they will upgrade at the Econo Lodge Kinston, but right now it's filthy and in horrible disrepair.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before paying. We booked ahead, and we would not have stayed if we knew about thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had to go here because there was no other place near Camp Lejune that would allow pets on the dates we needed. And they charge you $50 per pet. It looks like an old run down Howard Johnsons. The rooms are not very well maintained, the pool has no water and the breakfast is a joke... I wouldn't even sit in the chair in our room, it was gross. The pillows were so flat, disappeared into the bed. The bathtub was chipping away, the carpet was disgusting...don't stay here if you can help it.

Room Tip: One with a keycard that worked, ours didn't, the manager had to be called everytime we had to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have a son stationed out near here, we stayed here last year, june/2011 and it was okay. We went here may/2012 and i didn't know a place could downhill so fast. Don't let the pictures fool you, the pool is never filled, they got rid of the buffet that used to be there. Our room was moldy, and my daughter woke up with bites on both her arms. Not a clean room at all. We left and went to a different place. Also, not really feeling all that safe there after dark.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

First thing the clerk said when I checked in was that it's under new mgmt and is being renovated. The room was clean, freshly painted and clean towels and linens. No micro or coffee pot. Desk chair was filthy and carpet needs cleaning or replacing. i reported all to front desk when I checked out and the mgr wrote everything down that i spoke of. Internet connection was excellent. Best part of the stay...LOL...

Room Tip: wait a year before you try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The party started at midnight in all the rooms around us, loud music, cursing, fighting, yelling, etc. called the front desk over and over and did not get answer till 4 am and was told to just call the police. I left at 4:30 am and just drove 4 hours home so I could sleep. I have called and asked for the manager to call me to discuss the issue but so far he has not. the experience was so bad that I have called the corportate office to complain. I travel a lot for my job, and this was the worse!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This place is filthy, moldy and run down. There are exposed electrical wiries, holes in walls, cracked tiles in the bath, stains on carpet, smell of mildew and mold, beer cans lying around the grounds as well as piles of trash strewn about the grounds. There is a bicycle in the lobby next to the breakfast bar. It has the feel of a New Delhi slum. I'm still looking for the goat. I know there must be one tied up somewhere.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you accept it. Don't be afraid to demand another room when you find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn

Address: 208 E New Bern Rd, Kinston, NC 28504 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice riverfront hotel. Spacious clean rooms. Free continental breakfast, WiFi, HBO and computer desk for guests. Coin laundry and vending facilities. Pets allowed in limited rooms for a fee. Free truck parking. Convenient to shopping, dining and downtown historic locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.