We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1156 Hill Farm Road, Kinston, NC 28503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I love my job!! It affords me the opportunity to return to hotels I love. It is such a pleasure coming back to this establishment and seeing familiar faces. The fact that there is little turn over just proves the dedication of the hotel staff committed to making sure all guests are happy with their stay. There is ample parking, a short hop from the parking lot to the check in desk, and lots of luggage carts to help get your luggage to your room. At other hotels I’ve stayed at, I had to search for a luggage cart. The temperature was set so my room was already at a comfortable setting when I arrived. It is cold outside, but my room is warm and comfortable. I arrived at night, but the room was lit when entered so I didn’t have to hunt for switches. I’m looking forward to a great hot breakfast selection that I tend to over eat at. I love sinking into the bed (ultra comfortable) and watching tv on the big flat screen. The Internet connection is awesome. How else would I be able to type this review. My suggestion, stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Kinston. This is my 5th year and it just keeps getting better and better.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinstonExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Rbulldog,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to know that we've been your Hotel of choice whenever you're in town on business. We are glad to know that the easy to access luggage carts, caribg staff, comfortable room and bedding, and reliable internet access all made your stay exceptional.We welcome you to come back and stay again soon. Lastly let us say that we love your job too because it enables us to serve you once again, and each time we do is truly a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
4
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel for a softball tournament. The fields are close to this hotel, which made it very convenient. The room was very nice and spacious, since we stayed in a suite. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. They had a delicious continental breakfast in the morning and soft warm chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The kids thought these treats were great! They even allowed us to check in early (6 hours), since our softball games were delayed due to rain. That was Awesome!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinstonExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear KitKat2066,

Sorry your game was delayed due to rain; however your beautiful review was right on time and brought much sunshine and joy to our hearts. Guest satisfaction like yours is indeed why we do what we do. Glad to know the bedding collection was sufficient in providing you with much rest and relaxation, and that the guestroom gave you enough space so that you could stretch out and move comfortably. As you awoke the next morning, we are honored to have taken part in the start of your day when you enjoyed a hot healthy breakfast at the Smart Start Breakfast bar. As you retired from your day, glad you were able to relax with one of our warm moist cookies. Those things along with the early checkin when you arrived was no problem at all. We do it to make you smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you plan to come to this hotel, plan on a few extra minutes to figure out how to get there even if you can see it--especially at night. It is the most confusing hotel entrance I have ever experienced. You can't go from 70 to Hill Farm Road and get in with out a U turn in the cemetery and you can't turn in from 70 heading east. Once you get in there is a strange jog through the Golden Corral parking lot.

Once you find it, it isn't too bad. Relatively new but with a variably helpful staff. Some are very good, some not so much. I haven't been to the Hampton Inn since the renovation but it is probably the best of lots of really bad choices in Kinston.

It really is pretty pricey for what you get though.

Room Tip: There is an entrance on the north end, but no parking there, so try to get a room in the middle or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear tatworthington,

Thank you for your detailed review. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to find the hotel.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Due to frequent business in the area over the last several years, I have been a guest at this hotel numerous times. Initiatially, I was impressed with the amenities, the service, and the physical condition of the hotel. It is also very convenient to shopping and restaurants in the area. However, I was extremely disappointed during my last stay (9/18). HUGE waterbugs/roaches in the bathroom, terrible service at the front desk and overall a very unpleasant experience. In the future, I will stay just a few miles down the street at their competitor, The Hamption Inn, which has much better service, has been beautifully renovated and is CLEAN! Will miss the nice lady in the breakfast room!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a non-smoking room in advance (even if it's in your Rewards profile), becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinstonExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear TravelDiva411,

Thank you for the time you took to leave us your comments and concerns. Thank you for your many visits to our Hotel on occassions past. We are glad you were pleased with the room amenities, service provided to you by the staff, and the appearence and condition of both the guestroom and hotel interior and exterior. We are also happy to know that the location of some shopping establishments as well as the neighboring resturants for dining did not require you to travel very far. However on your last stay with us, we are very sorry to learn of the displeasure you experienced. Since reading your review, each guestroom has been inspected to make sure that no insects of any kind are present. Our sevice team has been notified so that they understand that rudness is not tolerated at this Hotel. We are sorry to had lost you to the Hampton Inn, and we would like to invite you back. We vow that next time will be different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love staying at this hotel when passing through Kinston, but this past stay was SPECTACULAR!! The entire hotel has been upgraded. Getting into the room was far easier with the new pass key. The toiletries are from Bed & Bath where I shop normally, the wide screen tv was a blast to watch as I sank into a very cushy and comfortable bed. My work stay turned into a vacation stay. I still have a complaint. It is very difficult to get out of bed in the morning. It’s tooooooooo comfortable. Great folks, great breakfasts, great stay.

Room Tip: Any floor is great. The walls are thick so I don’t hear noise from the next room or footsteps above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinstonExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
"WOW" is truly what we want you to say each and every time you leave from your stay with us. Thank you for the outstanding review and for your continued loyalty to our Hotel and brand name. We are pleased to know that the renolvations are to your liking. Also we are glad to know you're enjoying the new bathroom line, as well as the wide-screen television. As we understand that convenience is the key, we're glad that you found our new key lock system to be helpful when accessing the room. Glad we could accomodate you and transistion your business trip to a more leisure type experience. Lastly, we'll do our best and make the bed a little less comfortable so you can get out of it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. We arrived at night and the road in is slightly confusing but once found we had a good night's sleep and were refreshed for our travels. Staff was very nice, breakfast room was very nice with their hot cinnamon buns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Once again, I returned to this hotel while in town on business. I laughed when I read some of the "bad reviews". I've been staying at this hotel in Kinston for 6 years while traveling through this area, and never, and I repeat never have I had a bad stay nor have I experienced any of the obnoxious complaints of others that I read.

First, the rooms and bathrooms are clean with no odor
Next, the beds and pillows are VERY COMFORTABLE
The rooms are quiet with thick enough walls to block sounds from rooms on either side
The staff is very warm and friendly
The prices are comfortable
The breakfast food is great with a wide selection to choose from!!

With all of the above, how can one complain?
I recommend this hotel, always!

Room Tip: top floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston

Address: 1156 Hill Farm Road, Kinston, NC 28503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, the ideal hotel for business or leisure. Also welcome to historic Kinston, North Carolina home of the Kinston Indians Baseball team that plays at Grainger Stadium. We are located just off US 70 midway between Raleigh and the Carolina Coast. Originally established as a tobacco inspection center in 1759 along the banks of the Neuse River, the city was first known as Kingston (named for King George III of England). In 1784 following the revolutionary war the people of Kingston requested the letter G be dropped. In 1826 Kinston was incorporated. Come see the many historical sights Kinston has to offer such as the C.S.S. Neuse State Historic Site and the Caswell Center No.1 Fire Station Museum. If you are traveling here on business, there are plenty of companies in the area including Electrolulx, Smithfield Foods, and West Pharmaceuticals. While staying with us our rooms are equipped with a work desk and free high-speed Internet. We also offer spacious king suites which include whirlpool tubs. In the evening come down to the lobby and indulge yourself with some of our fresh baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies as well as fresh fruit. Our hotel will do its best to meet your every need to make your stay as perfect as possible. Visit Kinston and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kinston
Holiday Inn Kinston
Kinston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.