We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine AND free WiFi!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kinston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kinston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kinston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1382 Hwy 258 South, Kinston, NC 28501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pristine AND free WiFi!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here between a visit to the Lenox Factory and a stay in Ocean Isle,NC. Love the free WiFi but even more importantly the entire facility is very clean. The breakfast foods are hot when the're supposed to be and cold when the're supposed to be and the lady working the room keeps it very clean and well stocked and she has a smile for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
24
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

When we booked three rooms for a family gathering I was a little concerned because a previous TA reviewer had cited some minor issues there. But apparently they've been addressed because our stay was excellent in every respect. The rooms were fine, everything immaculate,their breakfast was plentiful and the staff seemed to go out of their way for us. I was especially impressed by a 5:00-7:00PM reception which offered free snacks,sandwiches, soft drinks and water. I've stayed in some much more expensive hotels that did not provide that and it was a very pleasant surprise. I hope they continue it because it's a very nice touch. I highly recommend the Hampton Inn, Kinston.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

The lobby is very nice but it stops there. The internet is slow, old tv, remote did not work. As a Diamond Hilton i am use to nicer Hamptons. When I came back from dinner there was a group in the front of hotel drinking from brown bags. I did not feel comfortable or safe. The bed felt as though it was going to colapse. I do NOT recommend this hotel. The front desk person was very polite.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way back from the beach. The hotel has some age on it, but the interior has been updated. Inside hallways are always a plus, and the rooms are clean and have comfortable beds.

We loved the breakfast, which includes pastry items and cereal, as well as waffles, eggs, and sausage.

We didn't get to use the pool or the fitness center. The WifI was fast. We had no problems while staying here.

The attendant who checked us in was very friendly.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. It is very clean, quiet and well located right on Hwy 258. We have stayed at Hamptons before and like their ameneties - great hot breakfast with eggs, bacon or sausage, fruit, waffles, etc. The beds are very nice deep pillow top only they are trying to use their old shallow pocket sheets. As a result, several times a night you have to get up and remake the bed because the bottom sheet and mattress cover won't stay on and end up in a ball under the occupants. We are not restless sleepers, it's just that the sheets are too small. The bathroom is lovely with granite counters but they are very small. If you want to close the door, you have to wiggle between the sink and the toilet. It is definitely a one person bath room - no such thing as one person using the sink and one person using the toilet. On the positive side, the staff is very friendly and pleasant. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here late June 2011. Booked the room on Hilton points - this is one of the VERY few left in the lousy Hilton reward system that gives you a room for just 7500 points/night. Well spent, I say!

For a Hampton, this place is quite large - has an indoor pool and the best Hampton breakfast I have ever seen - and I use Hamptons in NJ, PA, VA, and NC quite often! They had a very competent breakfast staff, and had boiled eggs, fruits (oranges, even!), omelets, and much more available. Staff in general were pleasant and courteous; check-in/checkout seamless.

I have seen other recent reviewers complaining about the beds and the rooms being outdated. this was definitely NOT my experience! I say stay here if are in the area or need a roughly halfway stop between Myrtle Beach and DC/PA/NJ - you won't go wrong! And you will see the biggest tobacco fields in the mid-Atlantic, btw - all going to supply China, no doubt!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was at his hotel the 22nd, checking out on the 24th of july, i picked this hotel based off its name and reputation.The holiday inn was very pricey and the other hotels in town look more like roach motels, but upon entering the Hampton Inn i felt very comfortable, but after getting into my room i could tell off the back how aged this hotel is. I also decided on this hotel based on the comfort of their beds but along with the aging of the hotel itself, so was the bedding. Both nights while i was asleep i had to get up in the middle of the night and replace the fitted sheet which continue to come off and expose the mattress. The final straw for me was seeing roaches in the Bathroom and around the computer desk which was a bit shocking. Also the employees here have a cat that they feed, and he hangs around the front door at night. This isnt a problem for most but it was for me because my kid is afraid of cats, and he doesnt move or run off when you approach him. So to sum it up, if things arent changed at this location on my next visit to kinston i believe i will spend the extra $11.00 per night to stay in the newer holiday inn at a pricey $130.00 per night.

Room Tip: As a none smoker the only double bed room was a smoking room. I thought i could handle the smell,but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kinston

Address: 1382 Hwy 258 South, Kinston, NC 28501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kinston Hotel Kinston
Kinston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kinston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.