We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food at reasonable prices, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 238 Cherokee Grill

238 Cherokee Grill
222 S. Railroad Ave., Kings Mountain, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasonable prices, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We tried it for Saturday noon lunch. The hostess was friendly and accommodating. Once seated I moved the salt and pepper shakers out of the way and saw food debris. This was my only (minor) complaint. The rest of the place appeared clean and taken care of. The waitress was prompt. Drinks arrived quickly. Our appetizer "Firecracker Shrimp" was outstanding and arrived just a few minutes after our drinks. The atmosphere was comfortable. We each had burgers and they were good, with quality meat and ingredients. I recommend the fresh chips instead of fries. They have a good beer selection, draft and bottle. It was a good first visit. The service and food was very good. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

People and food are very good and prices weren't that bad. Will be going back. Use to do a shot every time a train went by if you yelled train! Don't know if they still do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Face, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Was "OK" til the Food Poisoning Hit!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pretty building, lots of wait staff (talking among themselves and stomping up and down the wooden floor). Food was average or better. Two hours later my husband was hit with a 36 hour bout of food poisoning. We called the restaurant the next morning to suggest they find the cause. We were told the manager would call us as soon as he come in. Haven't heard a word from him......

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were visiting Kings Mountain this weekend and had spotted this little restaurant "across the tracks". No one had told us anything about it, but on a whim, we decided to check it out: What a Find!
From the outside, there wasn't much promise nor hint of what awaited us. The rustic raw brick and rough white cedar trim, the finished hardwood floors, modern lighting and HVAC: All very clean and well presented.
The staff were friendly and attentive, but the food! Not at all what we expected!! An eclectic menu at modest prices all prepared and "plated" in a manner fitting the Hyatt Regency!
As a traditionalist, the ONLY thing that they could have done to change to an "Excellent" rating is have a live band. And who knows...they just might already have that and we were there on their night off!
So, If you happen to be Kings Mountain and looking for Excellent and Atmosphere...Check these guys 'n' gals out! You won't be disappointed. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great price,excellent cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This restaurent was one listed at the hotel where I was staying. I ate at te bar. I had fresh salmon. I asked for it to be cooked medium rare. It was medium rare!! The pecan risotto was tasty. The guy next to me was also a business traveler. He had the special, a 12oz. Pork chop. He loved it. An older couple came in and sat next to me about8 pm. One asked for the special and the restuarant was out of the special. The husband noted that this is the second week in a row where the special was sold out before 8 pm.

Kings mountain is a small town outside Charlotte. The meals were less than $20. Great value. This is a local bar/restuarant and it was busy with couples and families as well as singles.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 238 Cherokee Grill also viewed

 

Been to 238 Cherokee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 238 Cherokee Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.