We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn On The Ocean to your Saves list
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My wife and I spend at least one week every year in the outer banks. This year we had a rental that was Sunday to Sunday in Rodanthe so we came a day early and stayed at the Comfort Inn on the Ocean and found it clean and welcoming. Most places and restaurants are on the higher price scale and this hotel was no exception. We had a good breakfast, the room was clean and the beach was very accessible. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy we were able to provide you with a nice stopover on your way to your rental in Rodanthe. We agree that we have a good breakfast and are also glad you found our central location appealing. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    111
    75
    35
    39
See reviews for
126
150
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Way overpriced for a room that had mold on the ceiling, part of the wall missing in the bathroom, carpet that didn't extend to baseboards, dirt behind the bathroom door. Parking is horrible unless you get there early. While sitting on the patio, someone on the balcony above me dumped an unknown liquid off their balcony that splashed all over me. GROSS !!! Spend wisely and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us and for the difficulties you experienced. The condition you described is definitely not a normal occurrence and we are sorry that you had to experience it. As for parking, we realize that on busy days/weekends or parking lot does get full. We provide additional parking directly across the street from the hotel. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again and allow us to provide you with a great experience. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent the Labor Day weekend (3 nights) in the "ocean view" room. You can't see the ocean unless you're 7 ft tall. There is a sand bank that blocks your view if you're on the ground floor. You have a patio, however the door locks don't work and therefore cannot be opened from outside. When returning from the beach you have to go around the side entrance.
Rooms look like they haven't been upgraded since the 90's. They were clean however. Rooms had a microwave and fridge, big plus. Staff was friendly and polite. My opining it is way over priced. Not worth $900 for three nights.

Room Tip: Avoid "ocean view" rooms on the ground floor. You won't be able to see the ocean, unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We strive to make every guest happy and satisfied with their stay. We are sorry this was not the case with you. We do hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and 1800 seems a bit pricey but comparable for the area I guess. The first night we arrived around 11:30 and the older lady at the front desk was down right ignorant. We came down and asked for some coffee and she said isn't there any in your room we replied we drank it and she threw two packs of coffee at me (not exaggerating ) we were also told we had queen size beds and they are very all doubles. Aside from that the continental breakfast is the best I've ever had. And absolutely love the deck and gazebo overlooking the beach. The housekeeping staff is top notch ( our reg was Tammy and I wish I could take her home with me. What a sweetheart) not uncommon to see these ladies working well into late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here several years ago and we decided to stay here again. It was one of the best prices then, and still one of the best prices now. We paid under $200/night for a newly renovated oceanfront room with hot breakfast, microwave, mini-fridge, great location, and free wi-fi. Of course there were some things that were a bit annoying like a balcony door that was difficult to open, a loud A/C unit, and lack of cellphone reception inside the building, but nothing out of the ordinary for the price. All staff were friendly and accommodating; not a single one was rude to us. Apparently the hotel is still undergoing renovations, but we didn't notice any construction while there. Overall, if you are looking for a decent mid-priced oceanfront hotel, this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Second floor or higher if you want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ok, I get it. I'm ocean front at OBX. But I paid over $300 for one night. I knew that since I booked online, but we wanted a one night getaway. Check in was a semi-friendly individual, I had to ask about internet and breakfast, that info wasn't provided. The room was ok, but very old and much in need of an update. Baseboards had chipping paint, a/c filters haven't been cleaned in quite some time, no vent in the bathroom. The balcony had chipped concrete right by the mounting post, and we were on the fourth floor. The bed was comfy though! Breakfast was ok in the morning. I doubt that I'd stay here again unless the price was reduced about 50%.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher, ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We are sorry that you had to ask about the complimentary breakfast and the WiFi. We have since spoken to all of our Front Desk staff to make sure that this information is passed to each guest. We hope that you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to The Outer Banks. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We decided to spend almost a week at this hotel. Booked direct online. Arrived to semi-friendly staff, hotel lobby clean and inviting. Checked in and proceeded to our room. First thing wife wanted to do was to open up balcony door and look at the ocean views . She couldn't get door opened. After assisting her with the door we opened it up to an awesome ocean view. Looked at the balcony and it was not clean. An old cigar and 3 Mountain Dew cans. House keeping missed. Beds seemed ok and room clean. After a day we still had problems with balcony door and now had a problem with front door to room. Something electrical and a very loose handle. It wouldn't let us get access every time we swiped card. We made the front desk aware of issues with both doors on tues am. Didn't hear anything else, so we finally went down on wed to a different girl and explained issue. She Didn't apologize but said she would get maintenance dept on it ASAP . I Left and came back a while later, asked front desk on way in if room was fixed ? They said it was. Went up to room, now could not get access at all. Went back down and she said yes. I need a new card because they reset door . Great. Why didn't they tell me this when I passed the desk the first time. Finally got into our room, and the balcony door was not fixed at all. Never was for the 5 nights we stayed. During the stay we noticed mold on the bathroom ceiling, probably due to no ventilation units in bath, so it made the bathroom very hot and humid most of the time. During the stay house keepers never cleaned off balcony or old soda cans from last visitor. Beds were ok and room was generally clean. Front door was also very rusty and hard to close, we had to slam it every time we came into the room . The breakfast Buffett was very good and we were happy about that, they had eggs, bacon and sausage plus waffles and a lot of other items.Overall not the best experience for the price you pay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered with the doors to your room. Our Chief Engineer has since looked into the problem with the handles and has fixed them. We also apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. It is certainly not normal for these things to happen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We all hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next trip to The Outer Banks and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
#15 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.