We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems a bit overpriced but overall a great first stay in the obx” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn On The Ocean to your Saves list
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seems a bit overpriced but overall a great first stay in the obx”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights and 1800 seems a bit pricey but comparable for the area I guess. The first night we arrived around 11:30 and the older lady at the front desk was down right ignorant. We came down and asked for some coffee and she said isn't there any in your room we replied we drank it and she threw two packs of coffee at me (not exaggerating ) we were also told we had queen size beds and they are very all doubles. Aside from that the continental breakfast is the best I've ever had. And absolutely love the deck and gazebo overlooking the beach. The housekeeping staff is top notch ( our reg was Tammy and I wish I could take her home with me. What a sweetheart) not uncommon to see these ladies working well into late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    95
    63
    28
    36
See reviews for
102
132
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellwood, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here several years ago and we decided to stay here again. It was one of the best prices then, and still one of the best prices now. We paid under $200/night for a newly renovated oceanfront room with hot breakfast, microwave, mini-fridge, great location, and free wi-fi. Of course there were some things that were a bit annoying like a balcony door that was difficult to open, a loud A/C unit, and lack of cellphone reception inside the building, but nothing out of the ordinary for the price. All staff were friendly and accommodating; not a single one was rude to us. Apparently the hotel is still undergoing renovations, but we didn't notice any construction while there. Overall, if you are looking for a decent mid-priced oceanfront hotel, this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Second floor or higher if you want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ok, I get it. I'm ocean front at OBX. But I paid over $300 for one night. I knew that since I booked online, but we wanted a one night getaway. Check in was a semi-friendly individual, I had to ask about internet and breakfast, that info wasn't provided. The room was ok, but very old and much in need of an update. Baseboards had chipping paint, a/c filters haven't been cleaned in quite some time, no vent in the bathroom. The balcony had chipped concrete right by the mounting post, and we were on the fourth floor. The bed was comfy though! Breakfast was ok in the morning. I doubt that I'd stay here again unless the price was reduced about 50%.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher, ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We are sorry that you had to ask about the complimentary breakfast and the WiFi. We have since spoken to all of our Front Desk staff to make sure that this information is passed to each guest. We hope that you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to The Outer Banks. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We decided to spend almost a week at this hotel. Booked direct online. Arrived to semi-friendly staff, hotel lobby clean and inviting. Checked in and proceeded to our room. First thing wife wanted to do was to open up balcony door and look at the ocean views . She couldn't get door opened. After assisting her with the door we opened it up to an awesome ocean view. Looked at the balcony and it was not clean. An old cigar and 3 Mountain Dew cans. House keeping missed. Beds seemed ok and room clean. After a day we still had problems with balcony door and now had a problem with front door to room. Something electrical and a very loose handle. It wouldn't let us get access every time we swiped card. We made the front desk aware of issues with both doors on tues am. Didn't hear anything else, so we finally went down on wed to a different girl and explained issue. She Didn't apologize but said she would get maintenance dept on it ASAP . I Left and came back a while later, asked front desk on way in if room was fixed ? They said it was. Went up to room, now could not get access at all. Went back down and she said yes. I need a new card because they reset door . Great. Why didn't they tell me this when I passed the desk the first time. Finally got into our room, and the balcony door was not fixed at all. Never was for the 5 nights we stayed. During the stay we noticed mold on the bathroom ceiling, probably due to no ventilation units in bath, so it made the bathroom very hot and humid most of the time. During the stay house keepers never cleaned off balcony or old soda cans from last visitor. Beds were ok and room was generally clean. Front door was also very rusty and hard to close, we had to slam it every time we came into the room . The breakfast Buffett was very good and we were happy about that, they had eggs, bacon and sausage plus waffles and a lot of other items.Overall not the best experience for the price you pay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered with the doors to your room. Our Chief Engineer has since looked into the problem with the handles and has fixed them. We also apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. It is certainly not normal for these things to happen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We all hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next trip to The Outer Banks and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This comfort Inn is located on the beach, with beach facing rooms.
I was treat like a guest by the staff. Jennifer on the front desk is professional, friendly and caring. This applies to the staff as well.
The breakfast is very good. Good hot food selection of bacon, sausage, eggs, grits and waffles. Lots of fresh fruit and other choies.
The wi -fi works very well if you need this.
The rooms are newly updated, except the beds. Clean and comfortable but slightly small as this is an older updated hotel.
Choose a 2nd floor or higher for the best beach view and these rooms are best rooms Less wear and tear from sand and traffic.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and were all thrilled to hear that you found their service above par. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the selections at breakfast. We like to think that our variety is one of the best and freshest on the beach, especially for a complimentary one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is on the ocean. A little pricy at $200 plus. We were willing to pay since only one nite. Adequate at best. We have 1st floor. No view since sand dunes are right there. Room was hard lived in by those before us. Has door to ocean in your room but can't access with key to re-enter. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are our number one goals and we are sorry that we did not meet this with you. We also apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. While our rooms on the first floor do not have a view due to the protective sand dune, we do have non-pet friendly rooms available on upper floors that do have one. We hope that you will change your mind about staying with us again and decide to try one of the upper floor rooms. Again, we apologize your stay was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is our first time here, and we loved it. Cyera took great care of us when we checked in. She was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our room was a terrific, ocean view room. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The beach access was convenient, and best of all, the beach was jot crowded. As others gave reported, the breakfast is plentiful, and the man in charge kept everything well stocked. We will definitely recommend this property to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront up high. Get a corner room for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed your first visit to The Outer Banks, but also your stay with us. I would have to agree that Cyerra is a pure joy to work with and are glad she was able to get you settled and comfortable. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.