We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price they charge!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn On The Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the price they charge!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We decided to spend almost a week at this hotel. Booked direct online. Arrived to semi-friendly staff, hotel lobby clean and inviting. Checked in and proceeded to our room. First thing wife wanted to do was to open up balcony door and look at the ocean views . She couldn't get door opened. After assisting her with the door we opened it up to an awesome ocean view. Looked at the balcony and it was not clean. An old cigar and 3 Mountain Dew cans. House keeping missed. Beds seemed ok and room clean. After a day we still had problems with balcony door and now had a problem with front door to room. Something electrical and a very loose handle. It wouldn't let us get access every time we swiped card. We made the front desk aware of issues with both doors on tues am. Didn't hear anything else, so we finally went down on wed to a different girl and explained issue. She Didn't apologize but said she would get maintenance dept on it ASAP . I Left and came back a while later, asked front desk on way in if room was fixed ? They said it was. Went up to room, now could not get access at all. Went back down and she said yes. I need a new card because they reset door . Great. Why didn't they tell me this when I passed the desk the first time. Finally got into our room, and the balcony door was not fixed at all. Never was for the 5 nights we stayed. During the stay we noticed mold on the bathroom ceiling, probably due to no ventilation units in bath, so it made the bathroom very hot and humid most of the time. During the stay house keepers never cleaned off balcony or old soda cans from last visitor. Beds were ok and room was generally clean. Front door was also very rusty and hard to close, we had to slam it every time we came into the room . The breakfast Buffett was very good and we were happy about that, they had eggs, bacon and sausage plus waffles and a lot of other items.Overall not the best experience for the price you pay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered with the doors to your room. Our Chief Engineer has since looked into the problem with the handles and has fixed them. We also apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. It is certainly not normal for these things to happen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We all hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next trip to The Outer Banks and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    55
    27
    34
See reviews for
96
117
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This comfort Inn is located on the beach, with beach facing rooms.
I was treat like a guest by the staff. Jennifer on the front desk is professional, friendly and caring. This applies to the staff as well.
The breakfast is very good. Good hot food selection of bacon, sausage, eggs, grits and waffles. Lots of fresh fruit and other choies.
The wi -fi works very well if you need this.
The rooms are newly updated, except the beds. Clean and comfortable but slightly small as this is an older updated hotel.
Choose a 2nd floor or higher for the best beach view and these rooms are best rooms Less wear and tear from sand and traffic.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and were all thrilled to hear that you found their service above par. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the selections at breakfast. We like to think that our variety is one of the best and freshest on the beach, especially for a complimentary one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is on the ocean. A little pricy at $200 plus. We were willing to pay since only one nite. Adequate at best. We have 1st floor. No view since sand dunes are right there. Room was hard lived in by those before us. Has door to ocean in your room but can't access with key to re-enter. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are our number one goals and we are sorry that we did not meet this with you. We also apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. While our rooms on the first floor do not have a view due to the protective sand dune, we do have non-pet friendly rooms available on upper floors that do have one. We hope that you will change your mind about staying with us again and decide to try one of the upper floor rooms. Again, we apologize your stay was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is our first time here, and we loved it. Cyera took great care of us when we checked in. She was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our room was a terrific, ocean view room. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The beach access was convenient, and best of all, the beach was jot crowded. As others gave reported, the breakfast is plentiful, and the man in charge kept everything well stocked. We will definitely recommend this property to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront up high. Get a corner room for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed your first visit to The Outer Banks, but also your stay with us. I would have to agree that Cyerra is a pure joy to work with and are glad she was able to get you settled and comfortable. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed here two years in a row and have enjoyed our stay here very much. The big pluses:
-The prices are very reasonable for ocean view rooms. Other hotels in the area will charge much higher rates for the same kind of room so very nice.
-The rooms very very clean and were restocked each day with clean towels and clean sheets. Small amenities like soap, tissues, and coffee were also regularly stocked up without having to ask specifically for them.
-The front desk and the overall service was exceptional. Everyone at the front desk was willing to help with any needs we had and were always quick to offer a friendly greeting. The maids and maintenance were also just as friendly and were always pleasant to talk to.
-Beach access is ridiculously simple. It's literally right on the side of the building and can be accessed from the hotel. There is a shower provided right next to the entrance so you can wash off the sand before you head up to your room. There's also a deck that you can sit on to watch the waves if you don't want to get all sandy. The beach wasn't ever overly crowded so there was plenty of space to spread out.
-There is a complimentary breakfast offered in the lobby, which has also been renovated, and while we never sampled it, it is a nice convenience if you don't want to spend a lot of money on breakfast.

The minuses:
-The rooms need to be renovated. As I mentioned above, the lobby and front desk have been renovated recently and looks very, very good. The rooms however need to receive the same treatment. They're not horribly beaten up or outdated, but there are definite signs of wear. Some examples in our room was a broken plug, light fixtures that don't really brighten up the room all that much, a drain that doesn't really drain well, some marks on the ceiling, and some rust in the corners of the bathroom. They are doing some renovations in the hotel and no doubt will move to the rooms, but they are necessary.
-The elevator is terrible. Last year they had a ramp to get up to the elevator which is one floor above the lobby. The ramp was practically impossible for my dad who uses a powered wheelchair to get around. That's why we were very relieved to hear they had put in an elevator. Unfortunately the new elevator only brings you from the floor the lobby is on to the first floor. While this is nice that you don't have the terrible ramp to deal with, that still leaves the old elevator that is incredibly slow, hot, and creaky.
-The only major problem was the day we checked out. They decided that morning they wanted to paint the elevator door on our floor, the outside of all the rooms' doors, and the walls. We understood that this was necessary as there were dings and scratches everywhere but it was the most inconvenient time to do it. All three of us got paint on ourselves when trying to move our luggage downstairs. Me on the back of my shorts, my mom on the bottom of her shirt, and my dad on his shoes. We also got paint on one of our suitcases when it brushed against the door on the way out of our room. It was upsetting because we were already disappointed to be leaving the beach, stressed from trying to get everything together to head back home, so the added stress of trying to not get covered in paint was irritating to say the least.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as the service is good, the rooms are clean, the location is excellent, and the price is not to be beat for such convenient access to the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ocean side. They're slightly more money, but the view both during the day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your second stay with us. We feel that having repeat guests are one of the most important keys to our success and we appreciate your business. We do apologize that you got paint on you from our maintenance guys painting the hallways. We hope that this does not dissuade you from staying with us in the future. We would love to serve you as our guests again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was in a great location and the front desk were nice. Took a little bit to get checked in but we were offered a better room for the same price so that was good.

The room was ok. For what we paid, it could have been in a little better shape. The bathroom needed some work-toilet seat was damaged, drain in tub/shower was old and the slip proof mat was "very" used. Beds were comfortable and slept well. A/C worked great and our balcony view was nice.

Beach access was close and handy and the hot breakfast was ok. Nothing to write home about.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive for every guest to feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your visit with us. The concerns you had regarding the bathroom have been corrected. Thank you for letting us know. We also agree with you about the view.....it is very nice. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For the price (about half of the other ocean view king rooms) it was great! The pluses: the price was great, the breakfast was very good and the gentleman taking care of it was all over it, the view was very nice, the section of beach was not too crowded, the staff was very pleasant and the place is exceptionally clean. The minuses; the rooms need renovating (nothing serious just nick in the wall here, broken plug there, rust in the corner of the bathroom, etc) the AC unit had a very strong musty smell as if the water did not drain out of it and sat in the bottom of the unit (fixed with a heavy dose of Febreze). They have already renovated the lobby and entrance way and I would think that it will only be a matter of time before the rooms are also renovated but I am afraid that will cause an increase in price.
I would go back to stay there again with no hesitation realizing there are nicer places to stay in the Outer Banks but they come with a higher premium.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors with balconies facing the ocean for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree with you about the great view. You can't get much closer to the sunrise and the photo opportunities are outstanding. We also are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We like to think that it is the best complimentary breakfast on the beach! Thank you again for telling us about your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again only your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.