We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; entirely average/below average hotel & room condition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn On The Ocean to your Saves list
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location; entirely average/below average hotel & room condition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bottom line, we'd stay at this hotel again only based on it's great oceanfront location, and if no other oceanfront hotels of better quality were available. It wasn't a horrific experience, but for the cost ($250 a night for a king oceanfront) we'd definitely pay $100 a night more for a much newer, nicer oceanfront hotel in the future. As others have said, it's an older property. The lobby is newer and nice, but in our opinion their money & effort would be better spent on the rest of the hotel. The rooms, halls, elevators...where visitors spend the majority of their daily time, are very dated, run down, dirty, smelly, and rusted. The elevators are very old, run down, slow, and jerk you to a stop...a telltale sign of the overall level of maintenance of the facility upon first arrival. The hallways were dank, musty, no ventilation, and smelled incredibly nasty...we literally hurried from our room to the elevators each time. The room accommodations are adequate, nothing noteworthy of positive nature. If you look under the bed, behind the nightstands, table, etc, its is absolutely FILTHY...clearly thorough cleaning is not a priority. This is also evident by the filth still under the bathroom vanity, and even remnants (other people's hairs, etc) in the bathroom sink and stuck to the shower walls. The bed and bedding and pillows were ok, at least seemed to be clean and were fairly comfortable. The balcony rails and exterior overall was very rundown and rusty, and the balcony light was broken, had no bulbs even in it. The coffee for the single pot coffee maker in room was beyond weak...disgusting. Again, from one who travels on business frequently, a telltale sign of hotel quality (note to hotel management: if you put a coffee maker and coffee in the room, that denotes that if used, the occupant probably actually likes coffee...thus it's worth your while to try to ensure it's at least decent coffee so they have a positive experience). The coffee in the lobby/breakfast buffet was consistently and equally nasty. Having said that, the breakfast buffet was a highlight. Bacon, link sausage, scrambled eggs, waffle makers with regular and cinnamon batter, juices, other baked good and cold products...a pretty decent spread that was clearly very popular each morning with the guests...it stayed busy right up until 9AM. All in all an entirely average to below average hotel experience, which should have been much better for the money. Keeping our balcony door open all the time, all night...and waking to the sound of the crashing waves and the view of the ocean was awesome, spectacular, amazing...and we look forward to doing it again as soon as possible...but we'll put a few more $$ forth for a better kept hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the views from your room and the hotel. It is one of the best spots to catch the sunrise on The Outer Banks. We are also glad that you found our breakfast enjoyable. The kitchen staff truly strives to make sure our guests start their day off right and we have passed your comments along to them as well. While, yes we are an older hotel, we are constantly making improvements to our property to ensure guest satisfaction. We apologize that you did not enjoy your room. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the coffee, it is a standard set by Choice Hotels International. However, your feedback on the coffee will be forwarded to them. Thank you again for your comments, and please enjoy the remainder of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    55
    28
    35
See reviews for
96
119
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This location is great, centrally located and right on the beach. BUT, this hotel is clearly an older property and in need of constant maintenance. The frig in the room was not cold, the bath tub would not drain properly and the rooms are damp. The floor lamp did not work, and the halls were hot. The door to the balcony did not want to close, there was water draining from the ac on the balcony and the rails were rusty.
The room was clean and beds were were nice and they had great pillows. The breakfast was ok. The deck areas needed some attention, and there was constant maintenance and repair going on inside while we were there.
This was a decent hotel but should have been nicer for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We agree with you that our new pillows are fabulous and definitely help provide a comfortable night's sleep. Being an oceanfront hotel, our maintenance department is constantly making sure that you have the best experience possible. We are sorry that we missed the mark with you. We hope your will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you visit The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby and rooms, but hallways and bathrooms need a refresh. Stunning view from the balcony starting at the 2nd floor. Very basic breakfast with weak coffee. Nice and very warm pool. Beautiful beach. We were originally booked into a first floor room but the nice lady at the front desk suggested we take a room higher up to enjoy a better view. I later realized that there is a sand dune right in front of the entire hotel that completely blocks the view from all the first floor oceanfront rooms, and there seems to be quite a bit of pedestrian traffic on the walkway in front of those rooms. We were glad to be higher. Only negative was the strong smell in the room coming from the bathroom (drains?). We got around that by leaving the balcony door open all the time but the smell would have been a serious problem if the weather had not allowed for that.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the beach! The beach out back is simply beautiful and the ocean is perfect for swimming in. We apologize for the difficulty you had with the bathroom. Our maintenance department will check into that. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Comfort Inn is located right on the beach, a real advantage when lugging chairs, boogie boards, etc. It also made taking an impromptu evening walk on the beach a breeze. The lobby looks like it has been recently remodeled and the small gym perfect for the athlete in the family.

The only downsides were the hot, smelly hallways.There is zero ventilation and it was rather unpleasant. That said, I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We also think that being so close to getting your toes in the sand is perfect. Especially after a long car ride....you can almost immediately begin to de-stress and enjoy your vacation. We are working on a solution to make the hallways more bearable during the summer months. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel had an upscale feel to it, by Comfort Inn standards. Room was very clean, with either new, or well cared for furnishings. A flat screen, and a comfortable bed with nice linens.Bathroom was very nice and very clean, again with upgrade type fixtures. The front desk was pleasant at checkin, and i noticed that there was even a bar in the lobby. Breakfast was the standard fare, but somehow it seemed prepared better, especially the eggs. The beach was beautiful, with very nice grassy dunes. The hotel has a nice sized pool and patio. I didnt eat there, but there was a nice looking ice cream/ pizza place and a seafood restaurant right across the street. Plenty of other eating and shopping options within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We try to make sure that every guest has an A-list experience and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. When you come back next year, do try the ice cream across the street. It is homemade and wonderful! Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect! It only requires a short walk to reach the beach. Although the rooms and balconies show some age and wear, they are very clean and comfortable. The women at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful, especially when we decided to add an additional night to our stay. They even had our luggage moved to a new room (our current room was already booked for the additional night) so that we could continue our vacation without interruption.

The breakfast consists of fruit, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, waffles (that you make yourself), eggs, bacon, sausage links, etc. It was very delicious and quite filling. My only suggestion is that the drinks be moved so that they are no longer in between cereal and waffles. Because of this location, many people had to wait in line behind those building their breakfast plates to simply get a refill.

This hotel is pet friendly, so those who are not fond of animals may want to stay elsewhere. Fortunately, we did not have any issues with barking dogs, but we did hear some coming from rooms on different floors as we made our way to breakfast.

Last, I have to mention the ramps that so many have complained about. These ramps seem to be designed to assist in moving luggage carts to the elevator. There is a sign at the front desk that asks for guests allow an employee to handle the luggage racks/ramps. NO ONE HAS TO WALK UP OR DOWN THESE RAMPS! There are wide stairs right beside the ramps that require little effort to walk up or down.

My boyfriend and I are already talking about coming back to the Outer Banks next summer and we hope to stay at the Comfort Inn on that trip as well.

If you are looking for a swanky hotel with diamond chandeliers in every room, a free breakfast that is made to order, and perfectly polished door knobs, the Comfort Inn On the Ocean is not for you. However, if you'd like a nice hotel on the beach with a friendly staff, filling breakfast and clean rooms, you need not look farther.

Room Tip: If you request an ocean front room, avoid the first floor as the view is obstructed by a sand dune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our Front Desk staff tries especially hard to make sure everyone feels welcome in our hotel each and every time one of our guests pass through the lobby. We are glad they met this goal with you! Thank you for also letting us know about the breakfast line situation. We will be addressing this. As for the ramps, yes we have staff in place to assist with luggage, or anything else, that needs to be moved up and down. We also have plans to eliminate the need to use the ramps to access our rooms in the very near future. Thank you again for your kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were thrilled to stay a fourth time at Comfort Inn on the Ocean. Same great staff and stay experience we consistently encounter each year. Improvements this time - key swipe entries from pool and beach access are functional; chaise lounges by pool; a second set of coin op washer/dryer on the fourth floor. Pool area has been remodeled since last year. No small pool or hot tub but we wouldn't have been using them this year anyway. The super friendly staff make this hotel a standout not just on the Outer Banks but among hotels we've stayed in anywhere. Front desk staff-housekeeping-maintenence-everyone is welcoming and helpful. Room was clean as always. Beds are really comfy. Great breakfast. Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms although they make it even harder to leave! Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your return visit. All of us here are pleased to know that you consistently have a wonderful experience with the staff and with your room. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.