We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Colony IV from June 8 - 17, 2007” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stayed at Colony IV from June 8 - 17, 2007”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My family of five (children ages, 7, 5 and 2) stayed at the Colony IV during the week of June 8th through June 16, 2007. We initially booked the efficiency but when we checked-in we quickly determined that the room felt too small (with the view of an outside wall). The front-desk staff was very accommodating in relocating us to room 233 in the tower building (with a partial ocean view). As other reviews have stated, the room was very clean and staff were quite friendly. My biggest complaint would be that the walls are really paper thin. You can easily hear conversations going on in other rooms as if they were in your room. I ran the fan most of the time and this seemed to help muffle the sounds. The breakffast was also nothing to write home about. It's what you may expect from a continential breakfast (all the tables were uneven so watch your coffee!). Overall, the motel met our basic needs. If you want a middle of the road motel that's clean, then this is a great place to stay. The kids loved the heated pool.

  • Liked — Air conditioner worked well. Easy access to the beach.
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    214
    66
    29
    14
See reviews for
250
220
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed at the Colony IV By the Sea from June 1, 2007 to June 4, 2007. We came to Outer Banks for a wedding and wanted to have a quick get-a-way weekend. We read the reviews at Trip Advisor, and I must say they were right on.

We book about 2 months prior via telephone and were given a confirmation number, we ended up having to change the reservation later on, and did so with out any problems. We arrived about 12:30 on June 1, 2007, and were greeted by the front desk staff. The area was very clean and hospitable. You could tell everything had recently been renovated.

We arrived at our room, and while the bedding and some decor was a little bit dated, everything was very clean (especially the bathrooms, I was VERY impressed!!) however there was a slight "beachy" smell, but that is to be expected when you stay ON the beach. Both pools, inside and outside, were both very clean and at a good tempature. There is a board walk out to the beach and a nice gazebo to sit and watch the waves roll in.

The grounds were kept very nice (however there was the remains of a tropical storm which blew everything around!!!!) but I was very impressed with the overall hotel. Our linens were changed everyday, and fresh towels in the bathroom. Also, the bathroom was scrubbed down everyday, and you could tell, it shined!!! There was a small continental breakfast with cereal, bagels, pastries etc. every morning.

If you are not going to be staying in a beach house or condo, or if you are looking to get a way for just a few days, the Colony IV truely is the best way to go. The staff was fabulous, and very nice. I must say that the bathrooms were cleaner than some 4 or 5 star hotels I have stayed at, and the staff definatly much nicer. We would most definatly return.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, FANTASTIC!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at Colony IV By the Sea for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. As everyone else has stated, the rooms were very clean and a good size. The fridge will fit basic amenities such as soda, water, sandwich fixings, etc. There was an iron and ironing board in the room. The hotel were very nicely appointed, especially in the lobby with its water fowl theme. The continental breakfast was nice and did the job just fine. There are not enough tables when the hotel is full. The two pools are small, but nice and clean. The inside pool's water was very warm. The front desk personnel were very polite and helpful. We ran into a couple of rude employees outside the tower building. One cut us off from entering a doorway and did not even give a greeting of any kind. The store right in front of the hotel has a good supply of snacks, beverages, and beach items. We rented bikes from the rental place just two spaces down from the hotel and rode to several local restaurants and the Wright Brothers Memorial ($10/day or $40/wk). The beach in front of the hotel was clean and had plenty of room for everyone. Our room on the second floor of the tower had a view of the sand dune and a slight view of the water. Depending on which way and how hard the wind was blowing, it could get warm on the balcony. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, breakfast, and located near attractions.
  • Disliked — Not enough tables in breakfast area.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We traveled to Kill Devil Hills the weekend of May 11, a quick trip for my husband's birthday. We didn't arrive until almost 10 pm on Friday, but the night clerk was very friendly.

Our room was nice - looked like it was recently remodeled. We were on the end so the water took a little while to warm up - but other than that the accomodations were very nice.

The indoor hot tub was very nice as was the heated indoor pool. We didn't try the outdoor pool but it looked very clean.

The fitness center was very small - in fact I have more equipment in my home gym, but it did give the basic necessities. A treadmill, stair stepper, and a bike.

We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Our room was right on the dune. Out the door up the walkway and viola --- the beach! Can't get any better than that.
  • Disliked — Slow to warm water.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

The Colony by the sea is a great hotel to stay in. My wife and I just got back from our weekend there and have nothing but great memories. The check in and check out process was easy and expedient as well as all other services (maid, cleaning, breakfast). The property was very clean and kept up nicely. Along with being easy to find it was extremely close to the beach with its own personal walk way and gazebo. The price was more than reasonable for the location and amenities. The only problems we had were the pools closing at 9pm, which seemed early to us, and the fitness room that was listed could have been better defined as three out of date machines in a closet. Again with these few discrepancies I was more than pleased with the property and management of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again and suggest it to anyone else.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — Fitness room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We had a small family reunion during mid season (April) and had a wonderful stay! The rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. The weather was VERY windy while we were there and cold and we spent both afternoons at the indoor pool! The water was very warm and we were SOO happy! There was a strong whistling/moaning noise through the door frame in both of our rooms, but figured it was because it was so windy and not the norm. The breakfast was very nice. We were on the 2nd floor, but wished we had splurged the extra 30 bucks for an ocean view. It was a short distance to the Wright Brother museum and nice restaurants and shopping. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — the indoor pool!
  • Disliked — the wind through the door frames was noisy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed 3 nights during spring break week at the Colony IV. We visit the Outer Banks at least twice a year. We usually stay in a rental house but only had a couple days so opted for a hotel. If you have visited OBX you know hotels are becoming harder to find and most of them are not very nice.

We arrived and checked in with no problem they even moved us to the ocean side at no extra charge since the hotel was not full, although the only view was of a sand dune it was still nice!

The rooms are super clean! No musty smells you often find at a beachfront hotel. Evidently the hotel was pretty much destroyed during a hurricane, Isabelle I think, and has been pretty much rebuilt. The paint and carpet were fresh as was the furniture. The room had a small frig and a microwave, no iron. The room is fairly small, 2 beds and a desk with one chair plus a dresser. The bathroom area is very small, but does have a nice granite sink and tile floors. It was fine for us for a short stay, ( 3 of us - 2 adults one child.) They could use more hooks to hang towels especially since it is a beach hotel, would probably save the carpet! The towels and linens looked new. They have a very nice outdoor heated pool and an indoor pool, my daughter enjoyed both! They also have a small exercise room.

They have a continental breakfast which was decent - bagels, cereal, english muffins, pastries etc. Nothing fancy but was more than adequate. Although I can imagine in the summer the room is quite crowded.

The price was great and we would definitely stay again. I did notice they had some pool side rooms that were a little larger with a table and 4 chairs, one even looked like it had a kitchen area.

They have a nice gazebo where you can sit and enjoy the ocean, the beaches here are beautiful.

The staff seemed polite and we enjoyed our stay!!! This hotel is definitely a step above most in the area.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the hotel and location.
  • Disliked — The small bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.