We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all our expectations!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Raleigh, NC
1 review
“Exceeded all our expectations!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We booked this hotel based on online reviews since we had never been to the Outer Banks previously and were pleasantly surprised at clannishness of the hotel, the and the friendliness and customer focus of the hotel staff. We had a Tower room 2nd floor and the rooms are spacious and very clean. We knew when we booked that our ocean view would be blocked by the dunes so that was not a big deal. The location of the hotel is great and surprisingly the pools were not crowded. The continental breakfast is like any other hotel but it was still adequate for what we expected. The hotel really made our outer banks experience a peasant one. We will stay here again when we come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    204
    62
    28
    12
See reviews for
240
205
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

This was our first time visiting the Outer Banks, and we totally relied on Trip Advisor ratings to find a hotel. Once again we were not let down by the users honesty and opinions. So thank you to everyone who reviewed this hotel and all the others honestly!!
The hotel is really nice and they really appear to care about their guests! They use brand name products (Bath and Body and Maxwell House to name a couple!) and that says to me that they want to go the extra step to give their guests special attention! PLEASE don't change! These little things matter!

The staff was great (except for the young lady at check out who told us that it was our fault our refrigerator stopped working~ then another employee stepped in and told her it was not us but the timer in the back had been set incorrectly by hotel staff). It rained each day of our trip and on the last leg, it actually rained hard enough to leak water under our door and into our hotel room, but the nicest employee (wish I would have gotten her name!) moved us up to higher ground and provided us with a great view for all our troubles. The cleaning staff was a great help when we needed additional products!

Pros- They have Bath and Body Works products!!! I mean HELLO that is worth the extra money to stay there! The one lady who worked the front desk~ wish I would have gotten your name but I remember how sweet you were and even called me Ms. Kimberly~~ you are amazing! The pools and hotub was really nice! The breakfast was good and FREE! The view from the top floor, and the beach access! The serve Maxwell House coffee, and even stock the rooms with it! Close to everything~ especially The Kill Devil Grill!

Cons- Only the one front desk attendant and the water leaking into the room.

This hotel takes the time to do it right the first time! Give it a try I do not think you will be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Was one of the best hotels i've stayed at. The service was great. We needed a printer to get tickets for a baseball game, and they let me use their desk computer. there is also a computer for anyone to use in the lobby. the breakfast at the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our fourth stay at Colony IV and it was a nice stay again. This time we traveled with young children, but we have been there before ourselves, with teens and with our parents. This is no resort, but the rooms were clean, large enough to be accomodating, and the bed and amenities were average or better. Indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub are clean and very enjoyable for young children or adults relaxing after the beach. Teens may be a bit disappointed as the pools are shallow and close at 9:00PM. Great location with direct beach access, showers off sand, and excellent location at 8.5 mile post - near everything. Our rooms had refrigerator and microwave and some had table and chairs making lunch on-site easy so beach time can be maximized. TV has limited stations but includes HBO and the other basic cable stations. No Versus channel so if you visit in July, you will miss Tour de France. But, rooms have ethernet connection for Internet and accessing live TDF feeds was easy. We have stayed in several other hotels in OBX over the years. Some had restaurants on site, larger pools, bar, but Colony IV has become our favorite and when we head to OBX for our next visit, we will try to book Colony IV first. Almost forgot to mention the continental breakfast. Again, a very clean area with the basics (bagels, pastries, cereal, juice) except the coffee. It is fantastic and available around the clock.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor & we were not disappointed. We chose a room facing the parking lot because the price was so right. It had very easy access to the beach. The room was very clean & had a very pleasant & fresh smell. The front desk staff was very pleasant & friendly. We stayed 5 nights & each evening we went back to the gazebo to watch the show the dolphins put on. They seemed to swim by about 1/2 hour after high tide each evening. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Hotel staff was very nice, great towels & toiletries are from Bath & Bodyworks! Clean hotel room & nice continential breakfast. Walk to Beach is just over the Sand Dune from Hotel grounds. Pools are clean & well managed, however the outdoor pool was not heated (Summertime!) and had not yet heated-up from the sun. The Fitness Room has 4-5 nice equipments, was nicely air-conditioned with a flat screen TV!! I would definately stay here with my family again!! **WARNING! Hotel pricing on Yahoo! in incorrect. The Hotel does not authorize their pricing. The price listed was less then their Company printed price sheet for off-season! Still, their price is much lower then lesser Hotel/Motel of it's size ('non-Chain'). This Hotel sit's head & shoulders over it's competitors!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We were looking for a hotel for one night only, and checked into this place based on its trip advisor reviews. The hotel lobby and breakfast area are beautiful, and the front desk staff were very friendly. Our room was on the second floor and was billed as partial view--this meant that if we stood up and stretched to see over the dunes, we could see the beach. However, they told us that from the beginning, so we knew what we were getting. The room itself was large; it had a couch, but that didn't face the TV at all! The TV itself was small and had horrible audio video reception. We were only there for 1 evening, so didn't complain.

Breakfast selection was very poor, so if you stay here expect to eat somewhere else. We would probably stay here again if we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.