We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

My wife and I are ministers and REALLY need a getaway now and then. We read the TripAdvisor about Colony IV and WOW!! were we impressed. I have NEVER stayed at a cleaner hotel.
We enjoyed every minute of it. We got a second floor tower room, and slept with the balcony door open all night just to hear that wonderful Atlantic Ocean!

After going out to eat, we availed ourselves of the indoor pool and jacuzzi while watching the sun go down. The next morning we drank coffee on the balcony and watched the sun come up over the ocean. (How can anyone say there is no God)

We truly enjoyed the continental breakfast and the beautifully decorated lobby ALL in addition to getting to walk on the beach barefooted in 44 degree weather!!!

The hotel staff was awesome!! They even remembered our names at check-out the next day. The housekeeping staff really does a great job..AND GUESS WHAT?? We got all this for only $49!!! (Manager's special for the season)
Folks, you'd be out of your minds NOT to stay here.
Couples...Have alittle romance and check in at Colony IV
You will NOT be disappointed!
THANK YOU, Colony IV..we will be back!

  • Liked — Location..friendly staff...cleanliness..price
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    213
    66
    29
    13
See reviews for
247
220
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We are regulars at OBX. It was our first stay at Colony IV and it won't be our last. The facility is inviting, attractive, clean and offers a great ocean view from tower rooms. The only suggestion for improvement would be to make tower entrance more user friendly. The Managers Special is a great time to give it a try!

  • Liked — comfort of room
  • Disliked — tower entrance
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Me and my husband decided to take a trip down to North Carolina for Thanksgiving and due to the reviews decided to check this place out. I have never had such wonderful service and such a nice stay for so little. They are running a winter special so it was only 49 dollars a night for a room directly on the beach. The person taking our reservation was very pleasant and patient. Even though we got lost and ended up getting there in the middle of the night the person who greeted us wasn't tired and grumpy like you get with most hotels. I really cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff was, plus you get the same type of complimentary breakfast you would at any regular chain like Days Inn. They also have an indoor pool that is well maintained and an outdoor heated pool if you are brave enough. I myself am not a coffee drinker and normally have to request tea in the less expensive places but they even had that in our room. This hotel is really not lacking anything. We even got up the next morning and got to see dolphins all the way down the beach line. It was AWESOME!! Don't let star ratings by chain hotels fool you, this hotel is a great find. I look forward to staying at it again very soon.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great amenities...did I mention the price?!?!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We recently stayed at the Colony. It has recently been remodeled. The entire location was especially nice & clean. The lobby & breakfast area were very nice, beach area was decent, & the room was spotless. Price was decent. I would recommend staying on the top floor though. Any little bit of movement above us was so incredibly loud - I had such a hard time sleeping there. We were on the first floor. So, I would definitely recommend the place - just stay on the top floor :)

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise level from room above us
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed here based on the trip advisor reviews. Staff at check in were very friendly. We had a third floor room they have a partial view of the ocean due to the dunes.
The rooms are clean and very typical of most hotel rooms. The fridge and coffee machine are an added bonus. Stayed in other hotels on this coastline that were better value but I wouldn't knock this hotel it has everything you need and is in a good location, Breakfast is provided but there's not a lot to it.
Big disappointment was the pool, it's not deep at all so not really for swimmming in more of a plunge pool. The pool is also completely boxed in so is very shady and stuffy, there's no air getting in, so best to stick to the beach.

Not my first choice hotel for this area but not bad either.

  • Liked — It was very clean and the staff were friendly
  • Disliked — The swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

awesome! we had a great stay at the colony iv. we ended up making great time getting down to the beach and we got to the hotel a little early. they allowed us to check in then, which was really nice. the lobby was really cute, and the people at the desk were very friendly and helpful. the room was very clean and very large! we stayed in the tower on the 3rd floor, which is one of the only places that gets a true ocean view. we had a private balcony with some chairs on it, which offered a very nice view of the ocean. when we got into the room we noticed our toilet didn't flush so we went down to the office to let them know on our way to dinner. when we got back a maintenance man had already been in, but we still couldn't flush the toilet, after a minute of fiddling with it i realized that there was nothing wrong with it in the first place you just have to push on the handle REALLY hard because its one of those high pressure toilets. so keep that in mind. we will definitely be returning, only next time i think we may downgrade our room, because while the view was nice we really didn't go out on the balcony much because they also have a gazebo that is steps from the hotel that is really nice. we also had a little too much room in the room, too much for 2 people at least. also just to note, our room had a nice sized mini fridge, a coffee maker and a microwave, they kept the room stocked with coffee, cups, and lots of towels. the hotel also has a nice outdoor and indoor pool with hot tub, and a small gym. I've been going to kill devil hills for years with my family and this was the first time going on my own, and definitely the nicest stay I've had!

  • Liked — access to the beach, surrounding attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and it was fine for what we needed. We usually stay at B & B's, but we wanted to stay a little closer to the action.
The hotel is typical, but it is located on the beach. Room was clean, taken care of the next day by the cleaning staff in a good manner, they have their own gazebo on the beach which we enjoyed, the beach area in front was small due to erosion and hopefully the town can get it back to normal.
The breakfast is your standard contiental but we only ate there one morning and opted for a heariter breakfast somewhere else.
All in all, the stay was fine, no problems and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — On the beach, nice gazebo overlooking the beach
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.