We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. Room was clean and well maintained. We had an issue with the bath tub and it was resolved immediately by the service personnel. Kids loved the interior pool and the fact that we where really close to the beach. Property is clean and well organised. Would recommend this place for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear mafor77,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff took good care of you. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    247
    79
    29
    14
See reviews for
303
253
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have stayed at Shutters several times in the past couple of years. This stay was as wonderful as all the others but with the added bonus of a free upgrade to oceanview when a problem was found with our original room prior to check-in. What a treat! The room was neat, nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable. There was an elevator so we didn't have to carry our luggage up and down the stairs. There is plenty of parking and the hotel is located pretty central to the main area of OBX. The staff was super nice and very accommodating. We arrived early and were given the pool access codes and there were restrooms in the lobby we could use to change into our swimwear so we could enjoy the beach while waiting for our room to be ready. It was a great stay and we loved it so much, we decided to come back for another overnight stay in just a few weeks.

Room Tip: If you just need a basic room for an inexpensive beach trip, the main building rooms with parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Robin D,

Thank you for your great review and thank you for booking your return trip with us also. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the upgrade also. I look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

First, I would like to thank all the contributors that took the time to post a review of Shutters on Trip advisor. Your reviews and comments and a great room rate made my selection to stay at Shutters an easy one.

My wife and I, and another couple stayed at Shutters from 8/24 – 8/27. We reserved two rooms on the ground floor of the Towers, knowing that we would not have a view of the beach – which was fine. What we gained was the ability to use the back patio to hang out in the evening. We simply pulled over the chairs to one patio and enjoyed the good company of friends. Can’t do this on the upper floor balconies!

Each room was spacious – two queen beds, but we all agreed that that bathrooms were a bit small, and one had a very slight leak at the bottom of the toilet bowl, that we reported to the front desk. My wife noted that the beds were a bit soft, but didn’t hamper either of us from getting a great night’s sleep. The rooms were well very clean, equipped with a small refrig, HD TV, wireless internet and microwave. The A/C worked just the way it should, and kept the room nice an cool.

Motel staff were very attentive and willing to help us with any request that we had. A free continental breakfast consisting of waffles, cereals, melons, biscuits juices and coffee etc. was offered every morning. Didn't have the occasion to use either the indoor or outdoor pools as we spent most of our day out on the beach, which was easily accessible from the property.

I would highly recommend Shutters to anyone that is looking to spend time in OBX. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again for those times we are looking to decompress from our hectic schedules.

If you travel with other couples or families and don’t care about an view, definitely take the first floor of the tower – it’s like having multiple adjoining rooms! My wife and I will definitely be back for future visits.

Room Tip: Definitely book rooms in the Beach Tower. Don't let the fact that the 1st floor rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Frank P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and with your friends. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My son and I stayed here for 7 days and I never met an employee that didn't greet me with a smile. The front desk personnel was especially helpful with any request I had (either for directions or their personal opinions on restaurants). I would only recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to come to the Outer Banks. The location is great, the rooms were very clean and pleasantly decorated, the view is wonderful and the prices were very affordable. We had an oceanfront double queen room and even though the hotel was booked for the weekend, there was no noise to keep us awake. In fact there wasn't any bothersome noise at all. The bathroom was a little small, but most of the space was taken by a very nice sized tub/shower. There was a musty smell to the room, but it's common with older hotels built right on the water. A $2.00 can of your favorite room freshener fixes it. There is also a very nice sized alcove closet area in the sleeping area. You don't have to hang clothes next to the front door or bathroom. I highly recommend this place if you like comfort, charm and the best customer service at a great price!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the ocean. Get at least the third floor of the tower. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Roberta D,

Thank you for your very nice review and wonderful comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff took good care of you. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I took our first trip to OBX and stayed at Shutters on the Banks for a weekend. Once we walked into the lobby we felt at home. Sandy at the front desk was so courteous and personable and this was the FIRST time meeting her. She was informative in recommending a great restaurant for lunch and even gave us the opportunity of seeing their Honeymoon suite as we considered returning for our anniversary. We arrived very early (10am) but we were able to check into our room at 12pm. Breakfast was ok and managed well but the distance to the beach is what was awesome. You just walk up a little bit after leaving your room and the gazebo is there for you to sit as the breeze flows through; just heavenly. My husband and I walked the beach and had a great time.
Our room was a dune view ( 2nd floor) however we had a slight view of the ocean. When we return we definitely are going to try to get a room on the 4th floor oceanview. The bathrooms are small but not much time will be spent there.(smile)
The room is equipped with flat screen tv, nice size refrigerator and microwave. The dresser was a little worn however that didnt take away from all the positives. The balcony is a great size and you get a big view. Looking forward to returning with our son as there are a lot of activities for kids on the main strip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor oceanview are best. If not and reserving a deluxe room with dune view request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sharon B,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you when you celebrate your anniversary.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The room was perfect, location couldn't be beat. Bathroom a little small, but it did what it was suppose to do. The beach access was terrific. Breakfast was also wonderful. Overall we loved the hotel, the price was great and the staff friendly. We stayed at another hotel last year and left after one night. Not this hotel, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Dune view rooms have a small patio with chairs on it and it was quite private, we never saw anyone o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sandra L,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife found Shutters online and never having been to the OBX we really didn't know what to expect. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. It's apparent that Shutters on the Banks has been a hotel on the NC shore for some time now, but it is also apparent that it has been recently renovated. It's so clean and quaint. Our room was an ocean front room and that's just what we got. The staff was so friendly but not so much as to be annoying. The free breakfast is what you would expect from a small hotel but more than adequate. The beach was great! With private properties on both sides, and the hotel being small, we had plenty of room to stretch out. For those bad reviews you see here on tripadvisor, don't listen...this place will not disappoint you. Thank you Shutters for great vacation!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for an ocean front room...it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Mike S,

Thank you for your very nice review and thank you for taking the time to post it. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the hotel and the Outer Banks. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#7 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.