We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Pittsford, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My room was by far amazing. It had an oceanfront balcony and while it was too cold to enjoy it for any length of time, I still was able to enjoy the ocean view through my large window in my room. The only thing that could have improved my room was having a door to the balcony that was easily propped open so that I could hear the sound of the ocean all the time. The location is good but not ideal for me. It was too busy for me even in the off season. I likely won't return because of the location. But for people who like to have all the restaurants and stores nearby it would be perfect for them. Just not for me. I prefer the quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Takeme2theCaribbean,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your March stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us during the off season. I know that the weather can be cold during that time and I'm glad that you chose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    206
    62
    28
    12
See reviews for
242
206
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Its a simple hotel and for the fact that its on the beach was amazing. The room itself was small and damp (i guess from all of the humidity. The air conditioner worked great, and loved the idea of the fridge and microwave right in the room. The breakfast was pretty basic and got boring after the 1st day. The rooms are old and need alittle more TLC but the beach where the hotel is, is very pretty and peaceful.

Room Tip: Shop around and book early i was able to get this hotel at the cheapest price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Stephanie M,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and apologize for any inconvenience. I will forward a copy of your review to our Housekeeping and Engineering staff so they can address the issues your raised in your review.

Thank you again and I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at Shutters during our honeymoon. Every day we put up the "privacy please" tag in the door - housekeeping staff still left clean towels and extra supplies right outside the door for us. Any time they were nearby as we were leaving the room they would ask if we needed anything. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the complimentary toiletries were from Bath and Body Works! The location was excellent for us. Step right outside your room to the beach, or choose from many nearby activities and restaurants. Shutters is right on the Beach Road in the middle of the OBX - close to everything! Free breakfast was very convenient for us. They had apple juice, orange juice, milk, hot tea, coffee, grits, oatmeal, several flavors of yogurt, boiled eggs, fresh cut fruit (pineapple, cantaloupe, honey dew, grapes), make your own waffles, sausage gravy, biscuits, danishes, bagels, English muffins, cereal, and all the appropriate condiments even including peanut butter. We stayed in room 126. It was a dune view but we enjoyed the convenience of being on the ground floor. AC worked great. Room was very spacious, clean, updated,and included a couch and desk. Hubby is still bragging about the bed, and he is picky! I will say the comforter was a little too much for me - I woke up sweating a few times. Bathroom was on the smaller side and a little oddly placed as you first enter the room, but it worked fine. Good water pressure. They had an indoor pool and hot tub. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 126 was on the corner of the ground floor in the adjacent building - close to the gazebo - dune view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Tosha L,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff took good care of you. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Little pricey for what you are getting but cleaning crew is awesome. They have worked with me since I put privacy sign on the door everyday because id rather have privacy then workers in my room everyday. I leave them trash and dirty towels outside my door and when I come back from a busy day they have replaced everything for me. Love the view, the pool, the customer service and location.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this hotel for couples for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Derek C,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff took good care of you. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ended up at Shutters at the last minute. Our stay on the Outer Banks had come to an end, but it was a beautiful day, and we couldn't bear to leave just yet. I found a good deal on my phone, and booked a room in their parking lot. Being that it was only 11 am or so, our room was not ready. The two women at the front desk were wonderful. So kind and helpful. They gave us the pool code and directed us to the beach. We loved the boardwalk and gazebo and really enjoyed the pool. It really felt like vacation, and we were exited when our room was ready before we expected it. Walking into the room, we were all hit with a very strong, and strange odor. Judging by other reviews, and our own assessment, this was either mold, or possibly the smell of old cigarettes. We were in the main building, overlooking the pool. Either way, it was difficult to breathe, and we propped the door open to let in some air. The room was very nicely remodeled, but was not clean. There was hair and crumbs in the sheets, and globs of snot (gross, sorry) on the inside of the shower curtain. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and despite the air being on full blast, the room felt warm and sticky all night. The floor felt soft and wet. Very strange. Breakfast was great, and the atmosphere was very friendly. If the room had been a bit better we would recommend Shutters. Unfortunately, we will probably not return.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sara L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am so sorry that hear about the issues that you encountered during your stay. I will be forwarding a copy of your review to our Housekeeping and Engineering staff so that can address these issues. We strive to ensure that every guest has a clean, comfortable room while with us and I am sorry we fell short of that goal during your stay.

Again Sara, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here with my wife & kids while passing through for one night in late July.

Decided to treat ourselves to an ocean front room. The hotel is in a nice location right on a very nice beach. Ocean views from our 3rd floor room were very nice. The room was pretty standard, but has a strange layout that has you enter the room almost directly into the bathroom. The bathroom area was small and the drain a little slow but the room was clean and comfortable.

Around 10PM someone one the beach was lighting off fireworks. We all went out on the balcony to watch. That's when he heard and saw one of the guests on the 2nd floor urinating off of the balcony. We were stunned. The hotel has a no smoking policy on the balcony but this slob didn't care about that either as he puffed away. I complained to the young lady at the desk but she had no idea what to do and just nervously giggled. It's unfortunate how one bad experience can taint an otherwise nice stay. Next time through I will spend a little more for a place with decent cliental.

On the plus side the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear 33333,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us and please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. I understand how other guests actions can taint your stay and we try to do everything we can do limit improper behavior. Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We recently stayed at Shutter for 3 nights during peak season. I choose Shutter based on other reviews. Upon arrival we were given a oceanfront room. The room was very clean with a fridge and exactly what we were expecting. A quick walk to the beach which was great. A nice breakfast included each morning with waffles, cereal etc......We had an issue with our toilet and was fixed by maintenance. the Outer Banks is fantastic and would stay at Shutter again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear mmalario1,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.