We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Little pricey for what you are getting but cleaning crew is awesome. They have worked with me since I put privacy sign on the door everyday because id rather have privacy then workers in my room everyday. I leave them trash and dirty towels outside my door and when I come back from a busy day they have replaced everything for me. Love the view, the pool, the customer service and location.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this hotel for couples for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Derek C,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff took good care of you. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    196
    59
    27
    12
See reviews for
232
195
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ended up at Shutters at the last minute. Our stay on the Outer Banks had come to an end, but it was a beautiful day, and we couldn't bear to leave just yet. I found a good deal on my phone, and booked a room in their parking lot. Being that it was only 11 am or so, our room was not ready. The two women at the front desk were wonderful. So kind and helpful. They gave us the pool code and directed us to the beach. We loved the boardwalk and gazebo and really enjoyed the pool. It really felt like vacation, and we were exited when our room was ready before we expected it. Walking into the room, we were all hit with a very strong, and strange odor. Judging by other reviews, and our own assessment, this was either mold, or possibly the smell of old cigarettes. We were in the main building, overlooking the pool. Either way, it was difficult to breathe, and we propped the door open to let in some air. The room was very nicely remodeled, but was not clean. There was hair and crumbs in the sheets, and globs of snot (gross, sorry) on the inside of the shower curtain. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and despite the air being on full blast, the room felt warm and sticky all night. The floor felt soft and wet. Very strange. Breakfast was great, and the atmosphere was very friendly. If the room had been a bit better we would recommend Shutters. Unfortunately, we will probably not return.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sara L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am so sorry that hear about the issues that you encountered during your stay. I will be forwarding a copy of your review to our Housekeeping and Engineering staff so that can address these issues. We strive to ensure that every guest has a clean, comfortable room while with us and I am sorry we fell short of that goal during your stay.

Again Sara, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here with my wife & kids while passing through for one night in late July.

Decided to treat ourselves to an ocean front room. The hotel is in a nice location right on a very nice beach. Ocean views from our 3rd floor room were very nice. The room was pretty standard, but has a strange layout that has you enter the room almost directly into the bathroom. The bathroom area was small and the drain a little slow but the room was clean and comfortable.

Around 10PM someone one the beach was lighting off fireworks. We all went out on the balcony to watch. That's when he heard and saw one of the guests on the 2nd floor urinating off of the balcony. We were stunned. The hotel has a no smoking policy on the balcony but this slob didn't care about that either as he puffed away. I complained to the young lady at the desk but she had no idea what to do and just nervously giggled. It's unfortunate how one bad experience can taint an otherwise nice stay. Next time through I will spend a little more for a place with decent cliental.

On the plus side the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear 33333,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us and please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. I understand how other guests actions can taint your stay and we try to do everything we can do limit improper behavior. Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We recently stayed at Shutter for 3 nights during peak season. I choose Shutter based on other reviews. Upon arrival we were given a oceanfront room. The room was very clean with a fridge and exactly what we were expecting. A quick walk to the beach which was great. A nice breakfast included each morning with waffles, cereal etc......We had an issue with our toilet and was fixed by maintenance. the Outer Banks is fantastic and would stay at Shutter again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear mmalario1,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-August 2014. We had a room on the second floor, aptly named a dune view room (but you could still see the sea). The location of the hotel/motel is the main selling factor - it's literally on the beach. And we had a fantastic time using this place as a base to explore the Outer Banks. The beach itself is nice, if not a little crowded - try further south towards Hatteras if you want more solitude.

As naive Brits, we didn't quite realise how popular the area is with American tourists. No problem, though for just over $1,000 for 4 nights we expected a bit more luxury in our room to be honest. Functional, clean and pristine but felt a bit early 2000's decor/appliance wise. Guess you pay for the location at peak time, and not the room fittings etc...

Anyway, we genuinely had a nice time and breakfasts were good too - the usual bagels, waffles and fruit (though the fruit cocktail tasted as if it were tinned). Nice outside dining area; only issue is if it rains there is hardly anywhere to sit. And seems like when it rains, the American tourists enjoy eating copious amounts of waffles and therefore not really freeing the tables up.

Would we stay here again if back in the Outer Banks? Of course. Had a genuinely relaxing time in clean surroundings. Lots of decent restaurants a short drive away too.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us and I hope that you had a good trip back home. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and had chance to explore the Outer Banks. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to come to the beach a day early to try and beat some of the Saturday traffic. We booked a room at Shutters for our Friday night in July. We booked a pool view room for $159. plus taxes/fees...came out to $179.50 total. We had 3 pretty major issues during our stay:

First: Our room ended up being on the ground floor directly across from the entrance to the outdoor pool; one word...noisy. Also, the light at the entrance to the pool was left on all night and it was very bright. The shades on the huge window did nothing to keep the light out of our room.

Second: Our room had an efficiency which would have been great if I had known about it. Nothing was mentioned at the time I booked, that I was booking an efficiency. I could have saved my family money by not eating out for dinner that evening.

Third: About 4 or 5am our AC unit decided to give up the ghost. We cleaned up, packed up and checked out as the temps in the room passed 82 degrees. We left sticky and covered in sweat.

Our room overall was clean and was a good size. The front desk provided excellent service and the ladies were super friendly. The continental breakfast was just like every other continental breakfast. Our stay was very average and I feel in order to have a good or excellent stay, I'd need to shell out more $$$ and the room was already $179.50 for one night.

Room Tip: If you can afford to, definitely choose an oceanfront or at least an oceanview room. Otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear SOMDCHEEKYMOMMY,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your time with us. We strive to ensure that every guest has a comfortable stay in a clean room and I am sorry that we feel short of that goal during your stay.
If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very pleased as always. This was our third stay at Shutters and this time I brought my family and booked three rooms! My mother-in-law really appreciated her handicap accessible room on the first floor as she suffers with breathing problems and cannot do steps. The rooms are clean and the beds are super comfy! The staff has been courteous and very accommodating each time we visit and we also enjoy the continental breakfast offered as we like to get out on the beach early. Another positive is that Shutters allows their customers to arrive prior to check-in and park onsite. You get access to the pools, hottub, refreshments, the beach, and they will call you when your room is ready. The same applies for after check out, so we hung out and missed all the heavy traffic. We can't wait to stay again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Stacy B,

Thank you for your review and for continuing to stay with Shutters over the years. It is because of repeat guests like yourself that we continue to be able to provide the high level of service and amenities. I look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sincerely,

John Zellers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.