We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel...for families with kids!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shutters on the Banks
405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An average hotel...for families with kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were fortunate to get a room that wasn't on the walkway to the beach or pool so we didn't have the noise of people going by. The room was set up with a kitchenette which would be great if you are traveling with kids and planned to cook meals in the room. The room was very basic and the bathroom badly needs a renovation! There must be some sort of waterproofing on the beds because they had a very "crinkley" sound when you moved.
If we were to stay again we would definitely ask for a room in the new tower section and above the second floor...the floors below have a view of the ocean blocked by the sand dunes. The outside walkway to the beach was very nice and there are outside showers provided for washing off the sand.
The biggest disappointment was the breakfast selection and the breakfast room. There were absolutely no seats in the very small room, or the lobby, when we arrived about 9am. it was difficult to get to the food areas because of the number of people...the space is vastly undersized for the size of the hotel. We ended up taking what food we had out to the picnic tables near the beach walkway.
We would look for another place to stay next time!

Room Tip: Tower room above 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    158
    45
    22
    11
See reviews for
191
157
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night before our house was ready but we had a wonderful experience. Needed a late checkout which wasn't avail but they allowed us to use all the facilities for as long as we needed. Clean and nice rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Shutters in the Banks has many amenities- free wireless Internet, indoor and outdoor pools, free breakfast, fitness room, and is located on the beach. Friendly staff and Great value! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place...huge rooms, fridge & microwave, patio (we were in the tower--balcony if you're up higher) and very clean. Breakfast was good, although not enough seating & had to take our food back to our room, minor problem. Beautiful gazebo overlooking the beach. We didn't use either pool but they looked great. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Top 2 floors of the tower have ocean view. Would have gotten one of those but they were taken. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was nervous about staying at Shutters because I usually prefer chain hotels, but we wanted the local experience. Shutters is located on the beach and close to shopping and attractions. You can walk to the beach on the walkway and there are showers to wash off your feet. The front desk staff was very nice, but not helpful with restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was typical. The walkways could use some maintenance because the painted concrete was peeling.
My biggest complaint was the dampness in the room. The air conditioner ran continuously, but couldn’t keep the humidity at bay. We stayed on the second floor of the main building. Perhaps it is better in the Tower building?

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location on the beach! Extended weekend trip for Labor Day. Stayed in an efficiency on the 2nd floor with a pool view. Room was very spacious and comfy with queen beds, full refrigerator & Stove and microwave. Room was very clean. Short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose Monday through Wednesday nights because we knew the large crowds were gone after Labor Day. We were oceanfront on the 3rd and then the 4th floor in the tower building. The rooms were very clean with a balcony. We had a microwave, and small refrigerator. The staff were very courteous and helpful. There is a continental breakfast with 2 waffle irons. We had planned to stay in 3 different hotels but ended up staying at the Shutters because the rate was the best compared to several well known chain hotels.
We would definitely recommend Shutters!

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd or 4th floor room if you are paying for an oceanfront room and want to see more than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Shutters On The Banks Hotel
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.