We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were on a two week motorcycle trip with another couple and stayed at the Colony IV for a few nights. Since it was pretty reasonable for a resort being on the water we were concerned. So it was a pleasant surprise! Rooms have been updated a bit and are quite nice- though not top-end. Because we added on one night we actually stayed in both the ' motel' and the 'tower' and found both acceptable. The new lobby and breakfast area are very nice. What really makes it is the wonderful staff, great location and extras. It offers both an indoor and outdoor pool plus the nice walkway to the gazebo overlooking the ocean. Many were taking advantage of the private beach. We would not hesitate to return. Of note - wonderful restaurant within blocks is called JK!! We are from Chicago and travel extensively and this was gourmet dining and not overpriced. The one right across the street called Port O'Call has a great decor but the food not so much. There are many other options for eating in the area but just had to mention JK! Also very close to the Wright Memorial and that is a definite stop.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    213
    66
    29
    13
See reviews for
247
220
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NorthGeorgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Others have talked about how new and clean this place looked. I suspect the only reason it looked new and clean was because it got flooded during the 2003 hurricane season's storm surge.

Our room smelled musty and even though the carpet and bath counter top was new, everything else was 60's era old two double bed decor. The best place about the site was the area for registration and eating breakfast but you don't stay in those areas. The room really smelled and the air conditioner seemed to put moisture into the room instead of taking it out.

I would not recommend this facility to anyone. It was over-priced and not anywhere near my expectations based on the other reviews here. I wonder if any of those people really stayed here or not.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

This place is a great place to stay. My wife was extremly happy b/c they gave her bath and body lotion and soap every day.

The pool and spa were great should be open later though.

Quick access to the ocean and even a little gazibo to sit and watch the sunrise or just to watch the ocean.

Nice staff and free breakfast. continental.

  • Liked — price, location and amenities
  • Disliked — pool hours
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Based on the good reviews on tripadvisor, we booked a room at the Colony IV in Kill Devil Hills. My daughter is getting married next year in the outer banks so we wanted to spend some time in the area checking out restaurants etc. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. Our room was on the upper floor with an ocean view. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was above average and well stocked. The Colony does not provide wireless internet in the rooms, but they do provide an ethernet cord upon request. (We needed internet access to find a few restaurants in the area). We did not get a chance to use the pool facilities but it did look very clean. I have two complaints: the air conditioning unit was very loud and the walls were kinda thin (kids next doors were loud) but overall, I would recommend this property if you are looking for a conveniently located and well maintained hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Loud air conditioning unit
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Although we have not stayed in this hotel for a few years (we started staying at a house in Duck in the Summer of 2005) the Colony IV was the only place we stayed on our almost annual trips to OBX from the early 90's through 2003. Driving by, we see that they made some major renovations after suffering some hurricane damage in 2004, but we stayed there on at least 8-10 occasions prior to that. The staff was always top notch and on the ball, and the rates, especially in season, were always great considering its location right on the beach.

Although we no longer stay at a hotel during our almost annual trips, if we ever decided to book a hotel in KDH, this is where we would stay. In all the years we did go down to that area, we never considered going anywhere else.

Stayed July 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Stayed at the Colony IV By The Sea for 3 nights.
Pros:
The staff as advertised was very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a room 117, just 100 feet from the beach.
Well kept grounds and rooms.
Great location.
Everything worked perfectly.
Very good value.
Cons:
Very little shelving or places to put things on, especially in the bath area.

As a seasoned traveler this was one of the better privately owned hotels I have stayed in recent memory.

  • Liked — everthing was as advertised...no surprises
  • Disliked — Needs a small shelf in the bathroon sink area, and some clothes hooks on the wall and doors.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmarva, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

Our family (Me, DH, and DS) stayed at this hotel in late March for Easter. The hotel staff were very friendly from booking the reservation directly all the way to checking in, staying, and checking out. The continental breakfast was nice too, although we only ate there once because we stayed in a room with a full kitchen. Highly recommend this hotel to families looking to save money on dining but want to experience all of the attractions of the OBX. The pools looked nice but it was too cold to go in them. The hotel is right on the beach and the view can be breathtaking at times. We were so comfortable in our room that we ended up staying in and watching movies together one morning. Parking was also nice as there was plenty of it. AND the hotel carries Bath and Body Works products! The location was wonderful too, as the hotel centrally located among many of the attractions. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip with MIL to the OBX!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.