We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing oceanfront location, but no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing oceanfront location, but no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We needed a last minute room on a weekend and Shutters had availability and the price was right - half the price of some of the larger hotels. Based on reviews, I booked Shutters and was pleasantly surprised at how close we were the beach - just a few steps & over a dune & you were there. We may try some of the other rooms that were recommended on here next time. Two teens are very loud in one room, so we need more space next time! We stayed in a parking lot, first floor view, but could pull right up to the door to unload. The room was clean, beds were comfy, had a small fridge which is great for drinks but a noisy microwave beside the bed (the timer wouldn't shut off - forgot to mention to staff.) We did mention that the tub & sink had slow drains, but I'm sure there is a lot of sand in there! Breakfast was included and had make your own Belgian waffles (the best item), packets of - listen to reviewers, go early. I had no problems at 8am but they got low when we were there at 9. My fav part was eating my breakfast in the gazebo on top of the dune with the ocean view. Thanks Shutters for being there for us when we needed a last minute getaway! Both pools were small and had a lot of guests (some were drinking) so we didn't visit.

Room Tip: Upper lowers have a balcony, but only a few face the ocean from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    187
    58
    25
    12
See reviews for
231
188
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The wife and I drove in last minute. we were able to get a room which beat all the ocean Front hotels hands down. Interior pool and spa Exterior pool on the beach. Great room decent continental breakfast. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located with an OK view of the beach from our third floor ocean view room. It has a small and shallow heated outdoor pool, not facing the beach. The rooms are nice and sufficiently spacious. They were generally clean. The balcony was a great plus; it was spacious with large railings for hanging towels. Although the bathroom & vanity area were quite small it was a huge bonus to have towel racks, especially the metal racks in the shower that were convenient for hanging wet swim suits. The lack of a safe in the room was disappointing. Breakfast ended too early in the morning for our access. The shutter-blinds on the windows are attractive; but, if you need black-out drapes in order to sleep the sun may wake you early. The hotel was generally quiet at night for sleeping. It seemed that the area lacked access to hotel-based or beach-front snack-bars where we could get a quick lunch on or near the beach. It would be great to see a move away from use of disposable cups in the rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a view the ocean view rooms above the second floor are desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is in need of some updating which I believe they are doing. The room we stayed in was a handicapped room so that we could get the $129/night rate. The décor is definitely outdated. The beds are incredibly hard and I found myself sore after the second night. The bathroom was large since it had to be wheelchair accessible. I was a little disappointed that we didn't have an overhead light for two of the days we were there because the bulb was burned out. There was other light sources over the sink but even one of those bulbs was also burned out. No big deal but made me wonder if they were cleaning the bathroom while were gone or they were just restocking the towels. The complimentary breakfast is nice but they definitely need to expand their dining room. They have a little lounge area that is not necessary that could expand to include more tables. If you have small children you either had to hope they wouldn't spill anything on the couch or take them back to the room. That is the main complaint that I have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights during our first trip to the Outer Banks in early October 2012. After much research on Tripadvisor we chose "Shutters" and were very glad we did. For a seashore accommodation, the room was nice, clean and comfortable, and the rate was reasonable compared to other places in the area, some of which looked shabby compared to Shutters. I had recently recovered from a broken ankle and was pleased that the booking staff put us on the first floor of the tower building right next to the pathway to the Gazebo making it easy for me to access the Gazebo and enjoy the views on the beach with a minimum amount of walking.. We enjoyed the breakfast in the attractive and clean breakfast room each day -- choices were limited but definitely sufficient, tasty and fresh.
Front desk staff were very helpful in recommending and giving directions to excellent local eateries for dinner. We had originally only made a one night reservation and planned to travel farther south for the other two nights, but we liked this place so much we decided to extend our stay and use this as a central location for day trips north and south along the coast.
If we decide to vacation along the Outer Banks in the future,we would definitely consider staying at Shutters again, but I would opt for the more expensive rooms in the tower so we'd have a beach view from the room. We didn't get to use the pool while we were there but it looked very inviting. The only thing I think people should be aware of is the heaviness of the entry doors to the rooms. If you're not very strong and you have a big suitcase, it's a bit of a struggle to get it inside without the door closing on you, and when neighboring patrons let their doors slam you can definitely hear it. Overall, though, we definitely recommend this beach located hotel. .

Room Tip: Upper floors in the tower building have wonderful views of the beach but are more expensive.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not bad for the price. They need more seating for their continental breakfast. Need to remodel. I think the lobby looks nice but they need to carry that into the rooms. The do have an excellent free breakfast everyday. They just need more room to eat it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We searched hard for the right place to stay on our extended motorcycle trip from Wisconsin. We picked this hotel based on price and location plus the TripAdvisor reviews we saw. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very nice and extremely clean. The location is right on the beach with a terrific pavillion for drinks in the evening. The breakfasts were very good. The clerk who checked us in was terrific and went out of her way to make sure we were happy. There was another one the next evening who couldn't care less. Hope you get the one who checked us in! This place is a nugget for value in a very overpriced (law of supply and demand in the summer) area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building which doesn't have a view of the water but which was much less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.