We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be sorry.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shutters on the Banks
405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't be sorry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent three days here in June with our 7 year old grandson. Great room and excellent view of the Carolina coast. Great selection for breakfast. Indoor and outdoor pools well kept. Rooms were clean and well kept. Great value for the dollar spent. We will be back.

Room Tip: Request at least third floor in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    171
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
208
172
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First let me say that the location was fantastic. First impression of motel was that it seemed pretty nice. Staff was very nice and room seemed decent enough. Breakfast was okay but very cramped. My main issue was that there was only one small mirror outside of the bathroom and there was no visble door sweep which caused a huge and I am not exaggerating! Huge cockaroach to enter our room. This ruined the rest of the trip for me and my family as we were now paranoid we would see more or take god knows what home with us. Had the worst beds also very uncomfortable. The maintence man did come up and spray and he did come up right away also Kelly the mgr did try to resolve the bug issue but I expected them to do better on the credit they gave..50 bucks was the best they could do I mean I would have thought they would have offered to cover 50 percent of the entire stay if not all of it for such a disgusting experience.She told us we could leave early and not be charged but I stayed because I did not want to ruin my kids last two days. We will not be coming back to Shutters due to this bad experience. Also hot tub was not even warm and pool was not very clean exercise room was a joke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel was excellent!! I made our reservations 4 months in advance, based on reviews I tried to book a fourth floor corner room in the tower but none were available at the time. Sandy (at the front desk) suggested I call and check for cancellations from time to time which I did with no luck. A few days before our trip Sandy called me to say she was able to put us in a corner fourth floor room. Room was very nice, very clean and the bedding very comfortable. I love that the room was totally dark at night and so quiet that we slept like babies....absolutely NO outside noise. The entire staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast bar wasn't much but no big deal, we just ate breakfast at Sam and Omies instead. I suggest you try to stay in room 435, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the tower building are the best and there is an extra window. Third and fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Worth the money and would definitely stay here again!
A well-maintained property that provides a more than adequate-sized room within steps of the beach. A housekeeping staff that keeps the rooms spotless, including the bath (No mildewy showers here, as I've encountered even at large chain hotels). You can rent a beach chair, umbrella, etc and have it charged to your room: A nice convenience for those who are not frequent beach goers. Breakfast buffet was the basic one you find today in most hotels to keep them competitive.
Great location, no matter where you might venture during the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Great service, great accommodation, everything was great. Ocean view was breathtaking. Price was affordable. I can give this hotel no bad reviews. We actually locked ourselves out of the room and when we went to the front desk we assumed we would have a bi hassle since we had no I.D. But there was no problem at all. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A clean and well presented place to stay, in the process of being updated. Our room was on level 3 of the tower block - with an excellent view of the beach and sunrise - it was definitely worth paying extra for the view. Breakfast was a basic buffet, but the waffle machine to make you own waffles was amazing. The staff were very helpful and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor tower block for a beach view was definitely worth it, there's nothing really really to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were not impressed. The manager closed the pool for 24 hours because of a tornado watch but the weather was gorgeous. Try explaining that to an 8 year old who loves to swim. The indoor pool was open but the water temperature was too cold to enjoy and it was overcrowded because the other pool was closed. At night, we heard a continuous roar from wind coming in a large crack in the door. We fixed it ourselves but inserting a paper plate in the crack. The beds were very hard so by the third night my back muscles were sore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.