We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel was excellent!! I made our reservations 4 months in advance, based on reviews I tried to book a fourth floor corner room in the tower but none were available at the time. Sandy (at the front desk) suggested I call and check for cancellations from time to time which I did with no luck. A few days before our trip Sandy called me to say she was able to put us in a corner fourth floor room. Room was very nice, very clean and the bedding very comfortable. I love that the room was totally dark at night and so quiet that we slept like babies....absolutely NO outside noise. The entire staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast bar wasn't much but no big deal, we just ate breakfast at Sam and Omies instead. I suggest you try to stay in room 435, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the tower building are the best and there is an extra window. Third and fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    185
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
227
185
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Worth the money and would definitely stay here again!
A well-maintained property that provides a more than adequate-sized room within steps of the beach. A housekeeping staff that keeps the rooms spotless, including the bath (No mildewy showers here, as I've encountered even at large chain hotels). You can rent a beach chair, umbrella, etc and have it charged to your room: A nice convenience for those who are not frequent beach goers. Breakfast buffet was the basic one you find today in most hotels to keep them competitive.
Great location, no matter where you might venture during the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Great service, great accommodation, everything was great. Ocean view was breathtaking. Price was affordable. I can give this hotel no bad reviews. We actually locked ourselves out of the room and when we went to the front desk we assumed we would have a bi hassle since we had no I.D. But there was no problem at all. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A clean and well presented place to stay, in the process of being updated. Our room was on level 3 of the tower block - with an excellent view of the beach and sunrise - it was definitely worth paying extra for the view. Breakfast was a basic buffet, but the waffle machine to make you own waffles was amazing. The staff were very helpful and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor tower block for a beach view was definitely worth it, there's nothing really really to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were not impressed. The manager closed the pool for 24 hours because of a tornado watch but the weather was gorgeous. Try explaining that to an 8 year old who loves to swim. The indoor pool was open but the water temperature was too cold to enjoy and it was overcrowded because the other pool was closed. At night, we heard a continuous roar from wind coming in a large crack in the door. We fixed it ourselves but inserting a paper plate in the crack. The beds were very hard so by the third night my back muscles were sore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, SC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicer hotels for the price range we were looking. The rooms were slightly above average, slightly dated. However they were extremely clean and larger than most hotels at this price. We were able to snag one of the beach view rooms and it was a nice view. We were there for Memorial Day and even though there were a lot of big trucks, it was still very peaceful. The breakfast was just what we were looking for...waffles doughnuts oatmeal & small sausage biscuits. The hotel is situated right in the middle of all the local sites and restaurants. We would stay here again if we decide to visit the outer banks again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I decided to go on a Memorial Day vacation a little late, and we found one room left at this establishment. We weren't sure about it, but took a chance...and I'm glad we did! The rooms are nothing special, but we had a balcony facing the ocean and lots of space for our beach chairs and junk! It was surprisingly quiet, given that the entire hotel was booked. Even right near the elevators! The people were super nice, and the breakfast included was good. The pools were a bit chillier than we expected, even though they were heated, but they were nice! This hotel is a perfect location to go to the beach, the Wright Brother's Memorial, the giant dunes for kite-flying, and tons of restaurants! We'd definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean front or ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.