We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy and value-priced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Banks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Banks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy and value-priced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the beach and this hotel was a nice clean, cozy and affordable locations. The beach is located right over the dune and it has a nice wakway to it. The beach is a clean but narrow beach with typical rough surf which is the outer banks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I read your other OBX reviews and you definitely picked some good places to eat. We hope to see you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    186
    58
    25
    12
See reviews for
231
186
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for an overnight stay 2 weeks ago through hotels.com and when we called the hotel about an hour or so from the island, they did not have any record of our reservations in spite of the confirmation number from hotels.com.

To their credit (and fortune, otherwise this would be a one-star review), they managed to find us two pool-side rooms at short notice.

First the pros - the rooms were clean, the pool seems to be as advertized and reviewed by many others in this thread and the location is perfect - the beach is literally at the other end of the hotel causeway and restaurants and shops are all within walking distance.

However, this is simply a standard motel (albeit in good condition) in spite of the name and images on the site. The breakfast is the usual staple you find in chains - pastries, toast, coffee etc and the bed is adequate, nothing to rave about. You may be disappointed if you are expecting something akin to a B&B.

Good for a quick overnight halt, travelers on a budget and large families

Room Tip: If you are simply planning for an overnight halt and getting a good night's sleep, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to accomodate you and avoid taking your "getaway" and turning it into a "want to run away".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are nice, clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Good prices and good breakfast! It is right on the beach and has a fabulous gazebo and walkway to the beach. It also has an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. Also centrally located. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and for recommending us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I cannot say how the ocean side and ocean view rooms might be. We were booked in a room listed as pool view from the website for October 20, 2012. We were on the parking lot side and could easily walk to the pool, but there wasn't much of a view. The room was two queen beds with TV, coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator. Everything worked nicely. There was a stale smell to the room which cleared up about an hour after turning up the AC unit. The ocean side of the hotel is nice with a boardwalk and gazebo on the pathway to the beach access. The dunes are gorgeous. All in all it was a nice stay for just overnight accommodations.

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean view room with deck over pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your review. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your opinion with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in the third floor of the Tower. Microwave and fridge available in room. Dis not make it to the indoor pool, easy access to the beach. The room was clean and the view was great. The continental breakfast was good. Check-in and check-out was easy. Great location to many attractions and restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

10 of us Riding Harley-Davidsons came to Shutters for a long weekend during Outer Banks bike week first weekend of Oct. The hotel was very nice to us and the hotel was very clean and orgainized well. We have stayed here before when it was Colony4 by the Sea. We like the new digs a little better. Pool stayes open longer and having pool towels at the hot tub/pool is a nice touch. We love the large shelter out by the ocean. The breakfast (free) in the morning was very good to start the day and the food was filling and best of all free. The desk folks were outstanding and we will return.. thank you.

Room Tip: We love being on the bottom floor and if your not staying up high you cant see the beach any way, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for the review and for your group staying with us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Outer Banks for 26 yrs now. We have stayed at this Motel alot. We have always stayed in the Tower section and have loved it. Very clean, people are very friendly. Housekeeping (Tiffany) is very friendly and helpful and does a great job. Wonderful views of the ocean and love the gazebo! We just got back from a wonderful week there. Have no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, General Manager at Shutters on the Banks, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to your next 26 years of visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.