We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in offseason” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value in offseason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Nothing fancy but clean. Two room oceanfront suite with 2 double beds and a murphy bed for $64/night.. Well located but a car is necessary. No WiFi but has LAN line in each room (hotel has connector but I would bring my own). Small refrigerator and microwave in unit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    43
    20
    20
See reviews for
126
93
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My husband spent 4 nights here over the Thanksgiving holiday. We really enjoyed the configuration of the suite we stayed in with the ocean view. Since my husband usually goes to bed earlier than I and he usually gets up in the middle of the night, having the separate living area really made this a more The continental breakfast was sufficient---although I observed many people wanted to take their food to their rooms---trays for this purpose would have been helpful. Since my husband goes to bed earlier than I and he usually get up in the middle of the night, having the separate living area with a TV really matched our needs. The woman who checked us in on Thanksgiving about 4:30 p.m. wasn't especially friendly but I assumed she wasn't thrilled at having to work on Thanksgiving day. The young man who checked us out Monday at 6:30 a.m. more than made up for the unfriendliness of the check in lady. We had a very pleasant conversation before I left for home. Although the kitchen area of our room had a discernible cooking oil odor, I would recommend this hotel because of the comfortable room, ocean view and beach access. Would like a larger area set aside for Internet use .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is actually our 2nd stay at this property in the past year. We like this hotel well enough that we came back, will come back in the future and recommend it to our friends. The property isn't perfect, but offers exceptional value, and has some nice touches not found in other similar hotels.

What we like the most about this property is the all-suite configuration. Each room has a separate bedroom with a TV, a small kitchen, and a living room/dining room area with a Murphy bed. All the rooms have a patio and/or balcony. The kitchen has a microwave, stove, refrigerator as well as dishes and utensils. Instead of eating out, we went to the grocery store and was able to cook our own meals.

The hotel offers a deluxe continental breakfast on the 3rd floor. Selections are generous and included biscuits and gravy (which you normally don't see in a continental breakfast). The property is located right on the beach, though my wife complained that the access was blocked off on this visit. Even so, all you need to do is walk next door to the public beach access!

What needs improvement...
The hotel is showing some age, though it still appears to be well maintained. Our room wasn't as clean as it should have been, there was dirt and debris on the corner of room (where the dining table was). While our room did not have a smoke odor, it did have a greasy food odor upon entry. To defend the hotel, the oceanfront environment is a harsh environment and we've stayed at 5 star resorts that have had similar issues. Fortunately, the bedroom was clean.

Be aware that if you book a oceanfront view, you will be on the 3rd floor or higher. A pool or dune view room is on the 1st and/or 2nd floor. There is a single computer in the lobby with internet access and a printer.

We have only visited this property during the OFF season, so we have no idea what its like during the peak summer season!

Bottom line: We really like this place, because the suite configuration (with kitchen) makes this place a tremendous value. Our concern is that on our last visit, the suite wasn't as clean as it should have been, and we hope this isn't a trend! For now, we recommend this place, and will return again in Jan/Feb 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Although I'd reserved a duneside suite, we ended up with a fantastic ocean view suite, so that was nice. Lovely balcony (especially if you don't have super loud neighbors). The ocean is just RIGHT THERE, great location right off the main drag in Kill Devil Hills, very close to the Wright Brothers Memorial.

I liked the kitchenette and having a bathroom sink that wasn't in the actual bathroom. But the fan in the bathroom was SO LOUD. And you couldn't turn it off - if you wanted light, you had to have the screaming loud fan. The bathroom was also just really...dated - dark and felt like it could stand for some fresh paint. You also were not allowed to have any extra towels - my husband went to get some and they said nope.

Having the murphy bed is nice so that my daughter had a bed to sleep on, but it seriously cramps up the living room. We had to rearrange all the furniture, which was fine, but just something to keep in mind if you need that space.

The breakfast was not as good as others I've had (rather limited selection) but the staff in there was friendly.

Two slow elevators (one on either end of the hotel) - I usually took the stairs, but the exterior seemed kept up well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Very good amenities and location with ocean view room

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Great place to stay. One bedroom suite with a door & comfortable beds & a murphy bed in the large living room with a pocket door to close off for privacy. Nice kitchen although no need to cook with free breakfast & tasty restaurants all around. Table for four in the living area with a nice balcony with awesome views from the 3rd floor oceanfront room overlooking the pool. Great pool & hot tub with nice lounge chairs. Easy access to the beach. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottoes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This was our first trip to Outer Banks and upon recomendation of a friend we stayed at the Best Western...great choice...we found nothing negative about our suite or service. Check in was very quick, no wait on elevetors the entire stay. Room service was great, even our dishes were washed upon returning one afternoon. Breakfast was great, very good selection. Bed was very comfortable and suite was roomy. Our stay here made our trip enjoyable and will return again....definitely will stay at the Best Western again. Property is kept up very well....pool and hot tub cleaned daily....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.