We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in Outer Banks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
“vacation in Outer Banks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Wonderful, pleasant staff. Clean, clean rooms that were a bit outdated, but the location was so much more important.Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with everything kept full and a great variety.Bathroom and kitchenette recently remodeled and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Ocean Reef Suites and hope you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    135
    58
    23
    26
See reviews for
169
115
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were looking for a last minute place to stay for just a long weekend and we were very happy with our stay. Our room was on the second floor over looking the pool and we still had a bit of an ocean view from our balcony. We have 4 boys and it is hard to find someplace to sleep us all. The two queens and a true murphy bed worked great for us. We weren't expecting much, it is a bit dated, but we were just happy to have a clean room on the beach.

Don't expect to check in early though. We got here around 10am and the front staff was very friendly but we didn't get a room until the listed 4pm check in time.

The breakfast was good for a free continental breakfast. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, We will begin renovations on the first and second floors the first week of November all renovations will be completed by spring.

We hope you and your family will visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Awesome staff, spacious room and perfect view of the ocean in excellent location. Jon, the manager at time if checkin was very helpful and understanding to our needs. Would recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The room is spacious but AC does not work. Figured this out a round 10:00 pm after coming from dinner . Front desk informed that maintenance will be attending the issue in couple of hrs. It's 11:30pm now. Kids are awake as it's hot (77 degree) inside. Hope this will fix tonite.

The should be checked before giving the key. This is totally not acceptable.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review, and sorry your stay was less than expected.

And hope we have an opportunity in future to exceed your lodging expectations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is right on the beach, just walked out the patio and there was the walkway to the beach, wonderful! But, the room was right out of 1945-- the oven did not work, the stove burners were warped, the microwave kept blowing the breaker when we were just popping popcorn! Hair dryer did not work. Needs a lot of updating interior-wise. Hotel staff were nice and the housekeeping staff were diligent at keeping the sand swept in the room. The pool was nice as was the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall great! Clean, comfortable, convenient to all of Outer Banks. Pretty good breakfast. Staff very nice. It would have been better if they were not painting exterior of building during this busy season. Disappointed in the pool that had broken ladder, that my adult son was injured on, and a broken stair rail that led into the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for writing this review and bringing your disappointment to my attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience you and your family encountered during your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Rooms newly remodeled with 2 tvs the Beds were very hard and thin walls. The rooms were clean but ran short of wash cloths 2 days in a row. I had to ask for them the second night. The experience was second rate. I would only return if it was a last option. I did enjoy the ocean view but was disappointed when the air conditioner turned on and the outside vent was extremely loud along with cigarette smoke chocking me out from the bottom floors.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for bringing your disappointment to our attention, and are disappointed that we were unable to exceed your expectations.

We wish you well, on all future vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.