We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week at Kill Devil Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Week at Kill Devil Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall great! Clean, comfortable, convenient to all of Outer Banks. Pretty good breakfast. Staff very nice. It would have been better if they were not painting exterior of building during this busy season. Disappointed in the pool that had broken ladder, that my adult son was injured on, and a broken stair rail that led into the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for writing this review and bringing your disappointment to my attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience you and your family encountered during your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    157
    60
    24
    27
See reviews for
190
160
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Rooms newly remodeled with 2 tvs the Beds were very hard and thin walls. The rooms were clean but ran short of wash cloths 2 days in a row. I had to ask for them the second night. The experience was second rate. I would only return if it was a last option. I did enjoy the ocean view but was disappointed when the air conditioner turned on and the outside vent was extremely loud along with cigarette smoke chocking me out from the bottom floors.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for bringing your disappointment to our attention, and are disappointed that we were unable to exceed your expectations.

We wish you well, on all future vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in the outer banks for our first visit. I booked this hotel because it was right on the ocean and I'm so happy I did! We had a newly renovated suite which had a separate bedroom with 2 double beds and a living room with a couch, 2 chairs and a Murphy bed!
Perfect for a family of 4. The kitchen was beautiful and the bathroom was great, it had a sink in the bathroom and another right outside of it. Great when you have 4 people trying to get ready. The room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. I really felt that I had a beach apt with my balcony overlooking the Ocean. The stay included free breakfast of both hot and cold items and all were good. The staff were so sweet and helpful. My kids didn't want to leave this place and I'm sure we will be back! They also loved the pool and hot tub after a day at the beach.
I highly recommend this place!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to you returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our family has used this hotel for several years because their suites are very kid friendly and the balcony overlooking the beach is wonderful for adults. They will rent a suite for one night which is sometimes hard to find. The included breakfast has a nice variety. This time our room had been recently renovated...what a nice surprise!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Proprty Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroeville, IN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Location was perfect for our family and all that we set out to see on the outer banks. Our room was clean, spacious, we had a ocean front view. Our kids loved having a separate bedroom and living area. The breakfast was also good with different choices each morning. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and happy to hear you would come and stay with us again.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Breakfast was a great addition and the rooms were clean. Prices were a little too high, but I guess that's the norm around this area. The beach was a short Walk from the hotel. Jacuzzi was not working for a couple of nights.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kill devil hills, nc, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

great place, great decor, and very helpful front desk reservations guy named Joe, on the ocean, nice beach, good hot tub, good parking, good beach access, free breakfast, nice people all around, very courteous staff and workers,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, all of us here at Ocean Reef became very motivated by your kind words.

We look forward to you and your family returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.