We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Grifton, United States
1 review
“Perfect for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here with our family while visiting the OBX. This hotel is perfect in everyway to accommodate a family; with the beach close by, a pool, hot breakfast, and best of all a private room for mom and dad!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Managment at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    139
    59
    23
    27
See reviews for
170
121
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great location, but dowdy exterior; friendly, pleasant, but poorly knowledgeable staff. Average room, decor, but with great view--stay 3rd fl or above for good ocean view. Poor workmanship with renovation. Lighting poor in bathroom/vanity area. Beds, pillows slightly below average, but relatively quiet and well dark enough for sleeping. Wi-Fi did not work in room and no one took steps to fix it despite being informed of problem. Dirty, wet towel found behind bedroom door upon arrival. Trash removed daily, but one day room not cleaned otherwise. Great beach--but water can be rough, cold (not under hotel's control, of course, just be aware). Pool is fine, but hot tub/spa not working properly. Continental breakfast is fine--don't expect good, traditional southern fare though. Mostly families, no loud party people during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Regards,

Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to our one week rental in the outer banks. The room was spacious with one room with two double beds and a living room area with a Murphy bed that folded out of the wall. Small kitchenette with small fridge and stove. We were not planning on cooking or eating there for the two days so the kitchen was certainly adequate for our needs. The carpets looked new and the room was clean with a deck overlooking the pool with a view of the beach. My view is that this is a great beachfront accommodation with plenty of room for the price. We decided to rough it a little by fitting my wife and I and four adult/high school age kids in the room for the two nights prior to our rental so we were not expecting the Ritz but felt that this was a great value to be on the beach with a pool and not have to rent two separate rooms. The price includes breakfast which seemed to be typical of what you would get at a basic hotel. Good coffee and a yogurt are good enough for me. They had make-your-own waffles which seemed popular. Met my expectations for breakfast.
My last point is to offer kudos to the front desk for accommodating us on Saturday checkout. My car needed an emergency brake job and was in the shop until the following Tuesday (which we did not know at the time--we were still hoping to get it back on the afternoon of checkout). Luckily we were travelling with other family members but they let us stay well beyond checkout in one room on a rainy day so that all we had to do was get a late lunch to kill an hour or two before our house was ready. Much appreciated and this was with a sold out hotel for that night so I know it was not easy. would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry that you experienced car trouble during your vacation.

We hope we have the opportunity to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place has a beautiful life guarded (in season) beachfront location and floors 4 and 5 have been remodeled. The rooms themselves are rather large with a living room, table with 4 chairs, loveseat, and 2 club type chairs. There is a Murphy bed in the living room area and a separate bedroom with a King sized bed. The bathroom has a sink both inside the bathroom and one just outside the bathroom. There's an apartment sized refrigerator and a microwave in the room as well. For those TV lovers, there's a flat screen in the living room and one in the bedroom as well. The balcony allows you to relax and watch the waves crash on the beach. The room was kept clean during our stay.

Breakfast was free and hot. We had options of scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit, bagels, toast, yogurt, cereal, etc.

Ok, now some things you should consider. Although our floor had been 'remodeled', it wasn't done well. For example there appear to have been issues with dampness on the walks that was simply painted over. This results in new paint literally peeling off the walls. One closet door had been replaced, the other had not and we couldn't even get that door open (rust on this door). The door to our balcony could only be opened with both of us tugging on it. Little things were also noticed like the outlets being installed upside down. The toilet paper holder installed too close to the frame of the sink so it won't turn on the holder until 1/4 of roll is gone. Ironing board and iron are at bottom of closet as the holder was never installed. There were marks on the wall where a shelf was to be installed (would have been centered if marks had been used) but shelf was installed a good 1-2" away from the marks making it oddly off center.

The shower has a water saver nozzle installed to rival all other water saver nozzles. Showers took longer as we had to wait until the drizzle of water washed the shampoo out of our hair. This was actually kind of comical. My husband said if we stay here again he's bringing his own shower head.

We also encountered problems at checkin similar to other reviewers. We were told room was ready only to arrive to find room door open, person hanging curtains and a vacuum in the middle of the room. Actual time we were able to get into the room was after 5pm.

All these things are consideration items. You decide whether these are things you would like to deal with while on vacation. The incredible view made us forget most of the issues.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I appreciate your honest and candid views and have taken extreme measures so these issues will not happen in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is our 3rd and last stay. The front desk staff is always crappy, acting like you're an imposition to them. The young guy this year was especially a jerk. We got a renovated room, problem is no more stove/oven, only microwave and fridge. Breakfast is mostly continental except every 3rd day there are scrambled eggs and the greasiest bacon on earth. The other days there is a microwaved omelet thing and sausage gravy. My teenagers ate only fruit loops. The hot tub was out of commission for 4 of our 7 days. There is a great ocean view on floors 4 and 5. The ability to look down on the pool is also very convenient to check on older kids. But we're trying somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we arrived for our seven day vacation, we expected the best. After learning beforehand that the hotel was under renovation, we expected it to be even better. Needless to say that when we went into our hotel room, the repairs already need repaired! It looked as if they rushed into it and "half done" the job. The bathroom door wouldn't close all the way and the tv in the living room area wouldn't even change channels as well as the remote not even working. The tv was eventually fixed and finally worked. The beds were not the most comfortable but oh well. I'm not sure if I would recommend this hotel unless they fixed some issues. In case some of you are wondering, the breakfast was good and the gym and sauna area did seem somewhat nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations, and have taken extreme measures to correct any short comings at our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I booked this hotel through Tavelocity. What a horrible experience I had at this business! Upon arrival, I was told that my room was not available due to renovations on the room. I was told I would be able to stay one night in the room and the next day they would move me to another room. As I left the room the next morning, I found a snake in the corner of the suite! The manager on duty informed me of how often the exterminator sprays...like I cared! I was moved to a new nasty, nasty room! The toilet has a very slow flush! The air conditioner did not work properly, and the sink would not drain! NASTY!!!!! I was moved again. This was the nastiest room ever! The drapes were funky, the bathtub was horrible, and the wall paper was taped with blue tape. UNBELIEVEABLE! As I made the manager on duty aware of the problems, her customer service flew out the window. She attempted to justify and argue that it was not the hotel's problem that there was a lack of communication between Travelocity and Bestwestern. I refused to listen to her excuses. I would not recommend this hotel to the walking dead!

Room Tip: do not book a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Managment at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
I want to apologize for your 3 day experience, and have started an internal review of your concerns in an effort to correct any future issues of this nature.

We wish you the best,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.