We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
orangeville, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Close to Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western, Kill Devil Hills. From the staff to the room, to the pool and beach, this place is absolutely great. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk out to the pool, or over the dunes onto the lovely stretch of pure, clean beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    129
    57
    23
    26
See reviews for
161
102
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I needed a getaway. The staff at Best Western are very friendly and we was always greeted with a smile. Upon arrival at check in there was a discrepancy with the price we paid online and what they had for us to pay at check in. The young lady without hesitation got on it and fixed the problem. Though the hotel is a bit outdated they were doing a good job with the up keep. The rooms had plenty of space and they also offered breakfast which for us is always a plus at a hotel. We had a peaceful weekend and it was just what we wanted for our getaway. We definitely will be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms great view and the breeze that comes off the water refreshing 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant city, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

the service was terrible. the first night we could not even get a blanket... the front desk said they ran out ? what hotel runs out of blankets ? we did not get coffee left in our room, even after complaining to the front desk. we even ran out of toilet paper, and had to ask for more toilet paper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight for a spur of the moment get away in August. The room was an oceanfront room, nicely furnished with a separate bedroom with two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, decent size living area with balcony and incredible oceanfront views. The location is perfect and close to everything. You had your choice of a pool or the ocean within steps of your room. Cute little store across the street and Dairy Queen within walking distance. The location is great! Check in and Check out was smooth and all the staff we interacted with were very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can afford the splurge definitely do the oceanfront rooms. The dolphins swimming off shore in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 8 years. The hotel is a perfect size for my family of 6. Two beds plus Murphy bed. Love having mini kitchen facility. One year our family warmed an entire Christmas dinner in our suite. This last stay, our room was a bit worn out, smelled like smoke in main room. I think that it would be great if the rooms and elevator were updated. It looked like they updated pool furniture since our last stay. I think if they remodeled rooms we would come more often.
Must say we love stop and shop next door... Great sandwiches..love going there for coffee, etc instead of the free breakfast offered at hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than I expected. We came with 6 people, 4 of which were kids, staying in two rooms. It was exactly the space we needed. The beach was a 2 minute walk and when that got too cold we swam at the hotel pool. Very nice staff. The kids loved staying here and we def would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Ocean Reef Suites about a month ago for a week. The suite is a large private bedroom with 2 queen beds, and the living room has a pull down murphy bed, and an accordian style room divider which separates the living room from the kitchen and rest of the suite. My 14 year old daughter liked having this feature for her privacy. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room.

The balcony overlooked the pool and jacuzzi (which sometimes got a little noisy when there were a lot of people in the pool).

From room to ocean is about a 5 minute walk over the dunes.

The hotel is a bit dated, but we found the room to be clean, and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.