We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU can find better! - many many other (BETTER) choices out there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“YOU can find better! - many many other (BETTER) choices out there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I just got back from OBX. We stayed at this property, b/c we found internet special ($118.00 plus tax for pool/oceanview - if you call the desk, that same room went for 149.99 plus tax). We were there after labor day

The cons:
This is a much older hotel (more like a motel or efficiency suites). Property is in Maintenance mode (so it seems) neglected in so many ways.

The room -warm and had a musty smell. had a separate bedroom, Mini kitchenette (mini fridge, mini micro, mini stove top) - with disgusting utensils and dishes. Sounds like a great set up online - WRONG! The furnishings were dated/mis-matched, hodge podge of design/pattern, looked like all came from separate garage sales (literally, no exaggeration). Nothing matched - even the ottoman didn't go with the chair. The furniture felt grungy and dingy. The chairs at the table all had white dried stuff (not paint) on the vinyl seats, with splotches of paint from a cheap paint job - which I cleaned, because we had already unpacked and the girls were ready for the beach. Every where we looked just didn't feel clean. The tub had loose tiles around the faucet. No rubber mat for the tub, like the little sign suggested we use. Yucky around the toilet area. Speaks a lot of their housekeeping abilities and the oversight of management - or rather, lack thereof. This is not a property that cares about their guests or repeat guests and definitely doesn't care about excellence. I really wonder if they even know what that looks like.

The patio had two of the cheapest chairs I've ever seen. Pretty side/angled view of ocean and the public beach access that ran right next to hotel. The pool looked good - from our 5th floor balcony. Once the kids were in, we noticed hairballs, bugs, lots and lots of sand at the bottom, floating blobs of trash, plastic, and other unidentifiable things. Needless to say, we said a prayer and let them play/swim some before we made them get out - never got back in. Only after getting the kiddos out, did we noticed that the skimmer and pool filter/pump was not running!!! No water being filtered, nothing. I reported it immediately to the front desk (this was around 5pm) - along with my list of other complaints, and she said she would let someone know. The next a.m. at check out, no one seemed to know anything about any of it - not even the manager. She said the pool got cleaned every morning and afternoon. No way! Because if it had been serviced twice that day (even once) the staff would've known there was something wrong. And, it wouldn't have been that filthy when we were there - only one hour later after the alleged scheduled afternoon cleaning.

During check in, the staff had decided to pressure wash the walkways and hallways, so there were elderly guests using canes and walkers trying to walk down hallways with standing water puddles and big water hoses all over the place. (why couldn't this have been done between check out and check in - not during check in?) And, why leave standing puddles - ever heard of sweeping the excess water out?! it was ironic that they were more concerned about the walkways, rather than the pool or the rooms. And that is what it felt like... "let's make it look okay on the surface, but we won't really take the time to fully clean and get things up to par."

Of course, the beach was great - it didn't have anything to do with the hotel! ha!
Needless to say, the evening we stayed there, we went to explore the island and eat for the rest of the evening, because we just didn't feel like sticking around that place.

Breakfast was mediocre at best. Very small, small space on the third floor that couldn't accommodate even half of the guests (if at full capacity) - maybe that's why they run breakfast for 3 hours. The "eggs" sat in a bowl, in ice, and each guest had to micro their eggs. (one micro for everyone to use) the gravy and sausage, bacon, and biscuits were kept in a warmer that didn't keep food warm. The pastries were not fresh. I even heard one of the staff say to the other staff when checking on the status of how much food was left, "oh, well, we can always re use it tomorrow." Don't know what she she was talking about, but hearing that at breakfast just is not comforting. It was all sub-standard. My girls did enjoy the junk cereal, the cinnamon roll from a box, and the yogurt. Hubby made his own waffle and it was just okay. The coffee was horrible (and I loooove coffee, of all sorts).

The positives:
It is located in a great location - lots to do close by (Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil, shopping, eating, putt-putt, lighthouse, beach, etc). I did only rate it three stars because of being located right next to public beach. We had enough pillows and towels -which almost never happens no matter where we stay - and were allowed to check in a few hours before check in officially began. The beds were actually okay. Not great but not at the level of junk that everything else on the property seemed to be. The room had central a/c with individual thermostat, so that was a plus. Oh, and the elevator never gave us any probs. That's where the positive ended as far as this property goes.

At check out, I asked the front desk rep if she was told about our complaints from day before. She said no. She looked up our room and nothing was recorded. So, I explained it all to her again. As she printed out my receipt to sign for the credit card payment and slid it over to me, she said, "okay, I will let our manager know. She's here right now." (oh, like the girls before you let her know - right.) As I slid the receipt back to her I said, " in that case, I'd like to speak with her." So, I let her know of our concerns/issues/disappointments and she didn't have a whole lot to say. I told her how we felt - like we got what we paid for: an internet special room. She never denied it. She did try to give a few excuses (like a storm blowing through on Tuesday night, day before we were there, as to why the pool was not working - so what's the excuse that's it's not closed for health sake or getting fixed?!) She also said that they have to pressure wash the walkways. Obviously, the to-do list is more important than the safety of their guests. But, never the less, she gave me my new receipt, showing a $55 credit. I do appreciate that I didn't have to ask for the compensation/refund - she didn't even pause for a second before attempting to try to make it better with a refund. The manager was professional. So, although we will never go back, we didn't feel like we got completely ripped off by the time we left.

Ultimately, as a family, we had a great time together and were determined to get past the "hotel" issues. Our va-ca was very memorable - INSPITE of where we stayed. Surely cannot say BECAUSE of where we stayed. (or well, we could, but it would be for the wrong reasons - ha!)

sorry no photos - wish I would've thought of it while there. They would have spoken volumes!

Honestly, stay somewhere else. It sounds like a great economical deal for those on budgets like us, but my husband said, "you know, if we have to spend more for peace of mind and quality, that's what we're going to have to do." And, that's what we will do next time.

Room Tip: if you disregard my review and choose to stay here, make sure you check out the room before you acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I appreciate your response you have given, I am the new General Manager of the hotel, and want to apologize for your recent stay not being up to your standards, Unfortunately you stayed prior to my starting.

The hotel is about to go through an extensive renovation this coming October, to include new furniture fixtures and appliance. We should be done with these renovations within a couple of months, and do hope that you will come back and give us another chance to see the new changes we have instore.

Again I do apologize for your recent stay and do hope that you will come back next summer and see the new look we have planned.

Thanks

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
orangeville, ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western, Kill Devil Hills. From the staff to the room, to the pool and beach, this place is absolutely great. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk out to the pool, or over the dunes onto the lovely stretch of pure, clean beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank wishful48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Director of Property Management at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I needed a getaway. The staff at Best Western are very friendly and we was always greeted with a smile. Upon arrival at check in there was a discrepancy with the price we paid online and what they had for us to pay at check in. The young lady without hesitation got on it and fixed the problem. Though the hotel is a bit outdated they were doing a good job with the up keep. The rooms had plenty of space and they also offered breakfast which for us is always a plus at a hotel. We had a peaceful weekend and it was just what we wanted for our getaway. We definitely will be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms great view and the breeze that comes off the water refreshing 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant city, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

the service was terrible. the first night we could not even get a blanket... the front desk said they ran out ? what hotel runs out of blankets ? we did not get coffee left in our room, even after complaining to the front desk. we even ran out of toilet paper, and had to ask for more toilet paper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight for a spur of the moment get away in August. The room was an oceanfront room, nicely furnished with a separate bedroom with two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, decent size living area with balcony and incredible oceanfront views. The location is perfect and close to everything. You had your choice of a pool or the ocean within steps of your room. Cute little store across the street and Dairy Queen within walking distance. The location is great! Check in and Check out was smooth and all the staff we interacted with were very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can afford the splurge definitely do the oceanfront rooms. The dolphins swimming off shore in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d1xiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 8 years. The hotel is a perfect size for my family of 6. Two beds plus Murphy bed. Love having mini kitchen facility. One year our family warmed an entire Christmas dinner in our suite. This last stay, our room was a bit worn out, smelled like smoke in main room. I think that it would be great if the rooms and elevator were updated. It looked like they updated pool furniture since our last stay. I think if they remodeled rooms we would come more often.
Must say we love stop and shop next door... Great sandwiches..love going there for coffee, etc instead of the free breakfast offered at hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than I expected. We came with 6 people, 4 of which were kids, staying in two rooms. It was exactly the space we needed. The beach was a 2 minute walk and when that got too cold we swam at the hotel pool. Very nice staff. The kids loved staying here and we def would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshellrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing