We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked through Travelocity, who royally blew mu reservation. I booked ocean front, and when I arrived, hotel staff told me Travelocity booked first floor facing concrete. The staff callled Travelocity, and tried to help out the best she could, even agreed to release our reservation if we desired. Travelocity would not agree to that, they were rude, and unwillig to remedy their error. She ended up getting us a ocean view (which is quite nice view), but we had to pay the difference, and the only thing they had were two doubles. The pro's = good quality, great service,clean rooms, great for an extended stay as the rooms are equipped with a small kitchen. Con's= rooms are dated, lots of outside noise from elevator and through the walls. This is a great area on the beach! Moral of the story, book through the hotel, the rates were the same, and the customer service is great!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator. dune view is not ocean view. ocean view rooms on the higher floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    118
    48
    22
    23
See reviews for
135
95
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy visiting the obx during off-season. We lived in KDH for many years and returned to Greenville ECU area. This is a excellent hotel to stay for not only the convenience of the area but ocean views! Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my 9 stay at Ocean Reefs for the New Year's Holiday and as always the the staff made the stay event free. During the off season, the very reasonable cost of a two room suite (mine was direct ocean front) with a kitchen and separate living room is almost the same as just a room. The front desk staff and the attendent in the breakfast year have excellent customer skills. When I checked in I was selcomed back as a guest, a very nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our 2nd time here. Will probably come again.

Pluses:
Quiet in off season. Don't know about the "on" season.
Right on the ocean. Nice beach.
Nice exercise room with sauna. Saunas are not common.
Large rooms. They are all suites.
Easy to get to.
Separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bathroom.
2 closets.
Personal balcony.
Plenty of close shopping.

Minuses:
Ran out of much of the breakfast food for a few days.
Housekeeping personnel should be issued a crevice tool and instructed in its' proper use. (Actually, this applies to most places)

That's about it. Nice place to stay and almost impossible to beat the value during the off season.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade. At least I didn't get laughed at like at Super 8 a couple of weeks ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What was a dearer then normal BW turned out to be great choice. We had an Ocean front suite with lovely views and the calming sound of the waves breaking ! A big suite with seperate bedroom , lounge and kitchen. We shared the Hotel with an army of TV news people and their OB vans and energy repairmen finishing up the mop up after Sandy !! It was a quite , clean and tidy place just missing tourists !! The breakfast was great and had views across to the Wright Brothers Memorial. Would be a lovely place when the weather was calmer !!

Room Tip: The Ocean front suites are worth the extra coin !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while looking for wedding venues. It was reasonable and comfortable for our stay. We definitely stay in a vacation home when coming for a week, but this is a great option for a short stay. There was a plumbing problem that was fixed 5 min after we called the front desk. The breakfast filled the void. Our room was nicely heated and clean. We would stay here again for a short trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had made a reservation through Best Western's 800 number, securing a room for us on the first floor facing the dunes. When we arrived in the evening after a long drive, the desk clerk, realizing we had traveled a long way, changed our reservation so we could have a suite on an upper floor facing the ocean. We were so thankful for her random act of kindness.
The suite was spotless; the bathroom and kitchen sparkled, and the carpet was clean. The furniture was modern and comfortable.
The continental breakfast was basic, but sufficient. The centerpieces were unique and attractive.
We could not have been more pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.