We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Worth every penny !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What was a dearer then normal BW turned out to be great choice. We had an Ocean front suite with lovely views and the calming sound of the waves breaking ! A big suite with seperate bedroom , lounge and kitchen. We shared the Hotel with an army of TV news people and their OB vans and energy repairmen finishing up the mop up after Sandy !! It was a quite , clean and tidy place just missing tourists !! The breakfast was great and had views across to the Wright Brothers Memorial. Would be a lovely place when the weather was calmer !!

Room Tip: The Ocean front suites are worth the extra coin !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    127
    55
    23
    24
See reviews for
159
99
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while looking for wedding venues. It was reasonable and comfortable for our stay. We definitely stay in a vacation home when coming for a week, but this is a great option for a short stay. There was a plumbing problem that was fixed 5 min after we called the front desk. The breakfast filled the void. Our room was nicely heated and clean. We would stay here again for a short trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had made a reservation through Best Western's 800 number, securing a room for us on the first floor facing the dunes. When we arrived in the evening after a long drive, the desk clerk, realizing we had traveled a long way, changed our reservation so we could have a suite on an upper floor facing the ocean. We were so thankful for her random act of kindness.
The suite was spotless; the bathroom and kitchen sparkled, and the carpet was clean. The furniture was modern and comfortable.
The continental breakfast was basic, but sufficient. The centerpieces were unique and attractive.
We could not have been more pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stay at the Nags Head Best Western Ocean Reef Suites for a getaway in the cooler fall months for a weekend or two every year. This hotel has a lot to offer in terms of comfort and ease of getting to all the great attractions of the outer banks. To begin with, you get two rooms, living room with a small kitchen between it and the bedroom. That is a plus if you want to save money on eating out every day and want to cook small meals in the room. The kitchen has a full stove and oven, full size refridgerator, plates and cups and silverware provided. There is a small store across the street or you can go to the larger chain stores which are close by and convienent.
Check in and check out are effortless when you arrive and depart. They also have a small gym to work out if you want to and it has a sauna to sooth tired muscles. The room balconies mostly all look out over the Atlantic ocean with some overlooking the pool as well. Lower floors have views blocked by the sand dunes.
The front desk staff are helpful in directing you to area attractions and things to do. They provide directions to resturants and local tourist sites and are very friendly and accommodating. The maid staff does excellent work cleaning the rooms daily as well.
During the fall and winter months this hotel is a very good bargain for the low price you will paid nightly. They offer discounts for a variety of travel programs as well as for seniors and miliary. A real bargain in terms of the price.
Make sure you go in April because many of the areas eating establishments are closed before that time with most opening the second or third week of the month.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floors are the best for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night off season on our way back home. Was able to upgrade to Penthouse which was very nice. Breakfast was free but a little skimpy. Nice beach front location. Excellent view of the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although this is an older hotel, it was designed very well and we were extremely comfortable. The suite includes private bedrooms for two couples, a kitchen and a bath. We requested ocean view and could not have been happier with the gorgeous view of the atlantic ocean. If you really like a big breakfast, you might want to use the kitchen in your room -- the free breakfast is more continental. It is definitely time to replace the sofa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.