We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food ... tiny bit expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar

Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar
1836 North Virginia Dare Trail, MP 6 3/4 on the Beach Road, Kill Devil Hills, NC
252-441-6530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Elkhorn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Very good food ... tiny bit expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a long wait to get in .... not the restaurants fault as it was just popular. Magician came to the table and did a few short card tricks which was good. I had flounder which was good. My daughter had chicken strips which she said were excellent. The atmoshpere was a mix of many things which made it interesting, but not coordinated. I thought it was a tiny bit on the expensive side ... four of us ate for around $85 before tip and only had one beer and one bloody mary. With that said, the food and service were both very good and I would go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    154
    62
    37
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a our first visit to Outer Banks. The vegetable lasagna, shrimp scampi (not the stuff you get at Red Lobster) and the Shrimp and Scallops pasta dish were excellent. They were very busy, but our service was fantastic. Our server was very attentive even though he was very busy. The portion are large and the price was affordable. I wish they would offer a small portion for the pasta dishes...I took 1/2 of my shrimp scampi back to the hotel...but warming up pasta dishes in a microwave is not the same. Would definitely return....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaritaville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Karaoke not as good as it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Karaoke not as good since they switched to a new vendor. Bring back Alan R. Please. Restaurant needs a good cleaning. Food is OK acceptable. However. Good location on beach road

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is a prime candidate for Kitchen Nightmares! The interior is filthy, the food is bad and over priced and the service terrible! Despite calling ahead, we found out the kitchen was out of gluten free pasta when we arrived. Then we found out that they were also out of all frozen drinks and even mustard! Despite ordering a child's meal first, the kid still had to wait for over 2 hours for his food. The food was subpar -Sysco, anyone?- and incredibly expensive. After waiting several hours for food, the waitress had forgotten to put in the order for one of the meals, resulting in one member of our party waiting an extra 30 minutes. It's also irksome to see that when the restaurant gets bad reviews, their only response is "we have a lot of good reviews." Save your time and money and go elsewhere, there's a lot of great restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
1 review
“Best breakfast and Bloodies on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The menu is fabulous, the food delicious and the waitstaff friendly and efficient. We were told by a local that it was the best place to get a Bloody Mary and were pleasantly surprised to find excellent drinks and food. Fabulous morning fare.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.