We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miranda gave our 2 person party , great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar

Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar
1836 North Virginia Dare Trail, MP 6 3/4 on the Beach Road, Kill Devil Hills, NC
252-441-6530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“miranda gave our 2 person party , great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

food good value, Miranda the waitress gave us great service with a smile.She gave us prompt service. I would recommend her to anyone who visits the jolly roger. We asked for our eggs and hash browns to be well done and she got the job done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    155
    62
    37
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Cool inside, lots to look at. We went on a Friday night and they had a 9.99 prime rib that was awesome. Drink were average, I have been her 2 other times and all 3 times the food was great. Service was good, but the manager that dresses like a pirate is rude to the employees and needs to take issues with them up in private. Not in front of customers. Then I heard another waitress complaining to the hostess about losing a tip in front of customers, again, unprofessional. Other than that, the food is great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jolly good and fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very eclectic restaurant. Specifically, it is decorated for Christmas 365 days/year! There are coupons everywhere for their early bird special, which essentially gives you 2 entrees for the price of one (coupons seem to have no expiration dates, so stock up). Pretty much everything is very good and the portions are generous to say the least. We almost always hit this place up at least once when we go to KDH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas , Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go to Awful Arthurs instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Restaurant seems very unorganized and staff acts like they are doing you a favor to wait on you. Not sure why because it wasn't like it was crowded. Early in the evening already of menu items and had the attitude like oh well. The overall atmosphere needs and overhaul and deep cleaning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting Decor, Solid Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A friend recommended this place for breakfast, and it's a bit of a shock to the senses when you walk into the touristy gift shop entrance. Kind of fun to check out the goodies, though. Go with an open mind and enjoy the kitsch:-)

This must be one of the oldest restaurants in the area, and most of the servers look like they've been around the block. That's a compliment. Our server was quick and attentive, and very sweet. The food was fine, if you don't mind butter and grease. My grits were swimming, but they were hot and delicious! My husband's pancakes were good too.

Plenty of breakfast choices and fast service, even on a crowded Saturday morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.