We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar

Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar
1836 North Virginia Dare Trail, MP 6 3/4 on the Beach Road, Kill Devil Hills, NC
252-441-6530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Found a black hair in our food, sent it back and then found another black hair in the new food. Service was good but prices were not so good. Decor was horrible. I do not reccomend for anyone looking for a decent meal.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    154
    62
    37
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not visitor friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dined there twice with locals. Both times server made it clear locals get discount but I pay full price. OK, not looking for special treatment, but the least she could have done is not tell me right to my face that I'm not getting the same check as my friends are. Other places on the beach seem to welcome out of towners to come here and spend money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the beach. We ate at the Jolly Roger twice once for lunch and then for breakfast on Sunday. Both times the food was great with huge portions. The staff was fantastic. We both rate the Jolly Roger best on the Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was advised by our hotel. We were just looking for a good cup of coffee, but got so much more. Even the breakfast waitstaff were obviously having a good time. The decor was entertainment enough. Each little enclave had its own flavor. Our breakfast was fast and yummy. We got combo plates including grits. The price was very reasonable. Can't beat the package.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 Breakfasts & A Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Loved the food and decore! Very real pirate NOT hollywood pirate. The wait staff were very friendly and quick. Home cooked style food in a very relaxing atmosphere. The prices are extremely resonable except for in the gift shop. We still bought the Jolly Roger t-shirts but the other things could be bought else where for cheaper. Sorry guys. We would definitely return again. This is actually one of our favorite places on the OBX.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.