We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Street Inn
Save
You added Atlantic Street Inn to your Saves list
205 E. Atlantic St., Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Like home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

After reading all of the reviews online about ASI my girlfriend and I decided to book 5 nights in the Back Porch room. After the first night I realized I should have booked at least 2 more. As soon as we walked it I knew it was an excellent choice. Everything about the place from the awesome wood paintings to the outdoor showers were amazing! We loved how this place felt more like a home than an inn. The kitchen and back yard grill access is something we will be taking advantage of on our next visit.

I can not say enough good things about this place. The location is within walking distance to the beach and some really great restaurants. I loved this place so much I actually proposed to my girlfriend in our room rather than on the beach just to make the Atlantic Street Inn that much more special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My wife and I spent three evenings in the ASI smallest room called the "Nor wester". The ASI offers a good location for walking to the beach and/or to the Stack-Em High Pancake House, a reliable breakfast eatery. This is a clean, well kept, nicely renovated structure, however it is not for the claustrophobic. We are likely candidates for another visit to the ASI, only if the "Master", "Front" or "Back" suites are available. Also, if you are a coffee hound, make sure you bring your own grind, the ASI was lapse about providing Java for the in-room coffee maker during our stay. Overall, this is one of the best values in Kill Devil Hills, as long as the rates maintain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This is our second stay at the Atlantic Street Inn. We are as pleased as we were last year. This inn is the perfect alternative to a hotel and much more comfortable. The rooms are spotless clean and the house is welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed here in the Outer Banks for a 3-day weekend (for the first time in 20yrs!). Wife and I in the Master, son's family in the front room below. Excellent value. Agree completely with all of the previous reviews, so I'll just add extra info. Note that some rooms are roomy (such as the Master), but others are indeed a little tight. However, since you can be in the common kitchen, dining room, or front (enclosed) porch as well as out in the backyard (with grill, table and chairs, enclosed outdoor showers), even staying in the smaller rooms should be just fine. I think every room perhaps has a small frig, microwave, and bathroom/shower. Every room has A/C, and maybe all have ceiling fans - a very nice touch. The property is on the east side of Hwy 12, just over one block, so you don't feel the hustle and bustle (sometimes heavy traffic) along there. It is more like 3 blocks to the beach, 100 yards - but as others said, a very short walk. Biking is popular on the Beach Road, and while the property provides no bikes, there is a large bike rental place 1.5 blocks away along Hwy 12. George does an incredible job with this property and could get away with raising his prices - but we hope he doesn't. We liked the Blackbeard painting, too! The location is central in Kitty Hawk/Kill Devil Hills/Nags Head. P.S. Don't rent the Master. We want it to be available for when we come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We choose this Inn for the price and the reviews. I will have to say this Inn is possibly the best value in all of the OBX! It was nice in an ideal location and a VERY short walk to the beach.

I have only two issues with the hotel: 1. there were cob webs in my room that i had to take a broom to (other than that the Inn is insanely clean!), and 2. The shower in the Crew Quarters is teeny tiny (you can not bend over). Besides these two issues our stay could not have been better and I will with out hesitation recommend this Inn to anyone that ask and will be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

This is definitely the place to stay in KDH. It's walking distance to everything (if only the town would invest in sidewalks that didn't end mid-block, but that's not the Inn's fault), and lovely. George is a really nice guy, too. And it's more reasonably priced than anything else we looked at!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay village, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

George, the owner has remodeled this historic house into a charming, atmospheric place with attention to detail - each room has its own personality and much rustic art throughout. It's a quick walk to the beach and good restaurants. Also, it's the most reasonably-priced place in the area. Really a good find.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Street Inn

Address: 205 E. Atlantic St., Kill Devil Hills, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Atlantic Street Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.