We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars without a doubt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colington Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
Save
You added Colington Creek Inn to your Saves list
1293 Colington Road, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“5 Stars without a doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first stay at the Colington Creek Inn. What a find! Mae and Bob Lunden, the innkeepers, are warm and welcoming hosts. The inn is immaculate and impeccably cared for. The setting is idyllic. It is truly a labor of love for The Lundens and it shows.

We stayed in the Boat Room which was on the front side of inn facing the street. We had a view of Colington Creek from our bedroom, bath and sitting area. Our room was furnished beautifully and the bed was extremely comfortable. Each room has its own refrigerator with soft drinks and snacks. Our private bath had all the necessary amenities and was beautifully decorated.

The public areas of the inn are very comfortable. There is a sitting room on the first floor with a TV and wi-fi throughout. Outside there is a hammock in which to relax, a swing inside of a pergola and seating areas all overlooking Colington Creek. At night, the pier and dock are lit which offers a lovely ambience to the setting.

Breakfast is served at 9AM each morning, but we needed to get an early start on our day the first morning as did another couple, so Mae offered to have our meals ready at 8:30 which was very accommodating. Breakfast is served in the sitting areas at each end of the inn. Each sitting area is shared by two of the guest rooms. The breakfasts were hearty and presented in a lovely fashion. We awakened each morning to the smell of freshly brewed coffee that was available in the common area. Around 4:30PM, Mae served us wine, as well as crackers and cheese to tide us over to dinner. Upon return from dinner, each evening there was a sweet treat waiting for the guests in the common area. One night we had delicious cookies and the second night a wonderful cake.

On the last morning, I sat on one of the rockers on the front porch which also overlooks Colington Creek and enjoyed a cup of coffee prior to breakfast. It was total bliss watching the sun glisten on the water.

If you are plan to visit the Outer Banks, be sure to include a stay at this beautifully maintained inn. This inn is deserving of a FIVE STAR rating!

Room Tip: If you tend to be a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side of the property as you may be sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We like to try B&B's and this was our first trip to the OBX so i utilized trip advisor pick this spot. Everything was very good. This is a purpose-built B&B versus a converted house as many B&B's are. The good with that is that everything is new, spotless, and well laid out. The bad is that you are missing of some of that old house B&B charm that makes them fun to visit.
Bob and Mae are great, helpful and friendly. I recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We come here every year, Bob & Mae are great, bring your spouse here for a nice romantic getaway & be sure to dine at the Colington Cafe also!
They offer a boat ride in the bay as well as wine upon your arrival.
All & all it's a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the OBX early last week and what can I say...we're ready to go back. We spent four nights with Mae & Bob (the innkeepers) at Colington Creek Inn. Originally we were set to stay for only 3 nights, but within minutes of our arrival we booked a 4th night. We stayed in the Island Room which was beautifully decorated and had great water views. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet...not to mention that the entire place is unbelievably clean and impeccably maintained. Mae and Bob are so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a relaxing one. The delicious breakfast each morning was served on the enclosed porch overlooking the water. In the late afternoon you were treated to red or white wine, along with some cheese and fruit to hold you over till your dinner plans. When we'd come "home" in the evening, there'd be a tasty treat waiting for us. Sometimes it would be cake, other times it was cookies. Again, all delicious. My husband enjoyed fishing off of the private pier there and I loved relaxing in the hammock, listening to the water and occasionally getting a visit from the resident cat, Sylvester. No worries if you have cat allergies though, the cat does not roam the inn. Both innkeepers were knowledgeable of the area and answered any questions that we had. The charge for the rooms and all that you get with it, is more than reasonable!!!! Each day our room was made up. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels always smelled clean and fresh. I also loved the location. We were within minutes of restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. However, we were just far enough off the main road to have peace & quiet. I cannot say enough about the Colington Creek Inn and Mae & Bob. I would never dream of staying anywhere else. I've been to numerous B&B's over the years and none will measure up to this one. SUPERB!

Room Tip: First, I have to say that ll of the rooms are nice. The rooms at the front of the inn do face a road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in the Garden Room last week and had a wonderful experience. We've stayed in many B&B's, but never one as nice and modern as this one. Upon our arrival, Mae suggested the Collington Cafe for dinner. It was superb. Each night Mae had a little treat waiting for us when we returned. The room was quiet, clean and it felt like we were at home. We used the pool once and enjoyed that. The room was air conditioned since the temps outside were in the low 90's most days. Both Mae and Taylor presented a beautiful breakfast each day to get us started. We had the whole place to ourselves for one night. This B&B is run beautifully and is not something they do as a hobby. Sorry we did not meet Bob, but maybe next time. We loved our time on the outer banks, and if we can return, we will be staying at Collington Creek Inn. We miss you already Mae.
Tom and Holly

Room Tip: Garden room faces the water and has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our 4-day visit couldn't have been better! Mae and Bob are warm, gracious, and eager to make your stay the best it can be. We stayed in the Boat Room, with boat decor, large dresser, refrigerator, large bathroom, and screened-in porch where Taylor served us breakfast every morning. All rooms have the same amenities, so select yours depending on whether you like early morning sun or not. Mae had wine for us the first day at 5pm, warm molasses cookies, chocolate brownies, and chocolate chip cookies on other days. Mae's recommendation of the Colington Cafe 1/4 mile up the road led us to the best dinner imaginable (you'll need her to make reservations a day in advance). We took advantage of the outdoor pool twice; it was the perfect temperature. Bob's a stitch; be sure to get him telling tales about soft-shelled crab fishing, or boat repair, or running his mower up their telephone pole guy wire.

Room Tip: You can't miss. One corner of our Boat Room didn't get wireless but I understand they are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I went the OBX to celebrate our third wedding anniversary. We read great reviews about the Colington Creek Inn, and decided to give it a try. We wanted a place that was charming and comfortable, had a friendly host, and served delicious breakfast-- and we definitely got all of the above! It is a beautiful home right on the water, nicely decorated and immaculately clean. It was nice to be off the main busy road in Kill Devil Hills in a quieter area, but was a quick drive to the beach and everything else.

We were welcomed by Mae who was very kind and willing to answer any questions or offer recommendations about the area (we used her advice quite a few times!). We were in the Shell room, and loved our comfy bed, beautiful view, and spacious bathroom! We were on the road side of the house, so you do hear a little traffic, but it's not too prominent. The adorable sitting room and view of the water make up for it! We enjoyed breakfast of quiche and sweet potato pancakes (yum!) while we were there. One note - if there is a couple staying in the room across from you, you will sit at a table with them (table of 4) for breakfast. The first morning we ate with another couple, but enjoyed chatting with them. The second morning we had a table to ourselves. Just an FYI. Also, there were cookies or brownies waiting for us in the main room when we could come in after dinner! This place was just what we were looking for---the atmosphere and service were just lovely. While it certainly wasn't a "budget" place to stay, the quality experience made it worth every penny, perfect for a special occasion. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a charming B&B experience at the OBX!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Address: 1293 Colington Road, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colington Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.