We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIGHT on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavalier Motel
Save
You added Cavalier Motel to your Saves list
601 S. Virginia Dare Trl., Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“RIGHT on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Open your door you are on the beach ! Very clean updated some, flat screen tv, nice people that run it. Bathroom is small, kitchen are is fine. Heat unit can be loud, you can barely hear the people next door.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
67
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staff was nice. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage even though it was just 2 adults because we had two dogs with us. They didn't have any 2 bedroom cottages available and only allow dogs in the cottages. The cottages are more like a row of apartments. Kitchen had an extra door to the outside which was so drafty I ended up hanging a blanket over it to try and block the cold. Tiny, tiny bathroom with a shower that drained extremely slowly- I ended up using the toilet plunger to get it to drain. Tiny tv in the living room, with two nice couches, so that is where we slept- as it was warmer than the drafty bedrooms. Kitchen was nice enough and the cottage was clean. Cheap rates- $69 a night plus $8 for dog. Kids play area was nice and they did have pet mess pickup bags and cans to dispose of doggie business, Everyone was good about picking up after their dog. Hubby says it is a once in a lifetime experience- guess that means we won't be going back. Too cold!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went here with a couple of friends in the Oceanfront kitchenette and it was honestly better than I had anticipated. I was a little hesistant with some of the negative reviews, but we decided to go for it. The sound of the ocean is so relaxing, the rooms are super clean. They also provide plenty of towels and toilet paper. The only thing I noticed was obviously the floor gets a little damp from you coming in and out from the ocean. RIGHT on the beach. I would go here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cavalier is the best possible "old style" U shaped family owned hotel you will be able to find at the beach. Ok, so here's the deal. PROs: Awesome views. In fact it is the only motel in Kill Devil Hills that doesn't have a dune between you and the beach. Old style rooms. Want a flash back to the past this is it. REAL wood paneling. Original bathroom tile. Some things have been updated (new flat screen TVs, sinks, etc), but enough is still old style to make you think you are back visiting the beach in the 1950s. CONS: no this is not the fanciest place you can find. The towels are just ok, and the pillows require two per person to really be nice. The atmosphere at the Cavalier changes throughout the year. In the winter it is an awesome laid back place. In November (our last stay) it was packed with Marathon runners and fishermen. Save the uppity stuff for Myrtle Beach, chill out, and enjoy a flash back to the past.

Room Tip: Oceanfront are definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a pet friendly place, provided lots of towels etc... we stayed in a cabin w/2 bdrms, kitchen, the beach is nice and big right in front of the motel. Doggie bags were also provided, could walk to several restaurants, grocery store were close. The only con would be the rooms could use a deep cleaning especially the kitchen. We would stay again.

Room Tip: the cabins are NOT on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved this place. We are cyclists from the UK and enjoy staying in the 'Mom and Pop'/family-run businesses and this is certainly one of those.

Great location, lovely rooms, complete with fridge and microwave. We will book one of the rooms with a kitchen on the front next time, and really take full advantage of the vista and ambience.

If it wasn't for Hurricane Sandy coming in, I think we may have stayed for 1 more week!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to the Cavalier for 10 years now. We enjoy seeing folks we've gotten to know over the years. We had a great two weeks at the beach with our dog. It's like having our own little "beach house" in KDH. We don't drive 14 hours to get there because the drive is "fun", but because the destination is worth it. October is a great time to visit...quiet, affordable, and good fall weather. For those who haven't visited yet: is it fancy? No. It doesn't claim to be. It IS casual, and comfortable. Pet-friendly, relaxed, nice people. And it's right on the beach! One annoyance is the new policy not allowing a Saturday check-in any longer, but that's a minor point.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Motel

Address: 601 S. Virginia Dare Trl., Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your "home away from home" awaits you at The Cavalier Motel. We have ocean front, pool-side and economy rooms with double, twin, or queen beds, microwaves and refrigerators. We also have two and three-bedroom cottages. The Cavalier Motel offers a family atmosphere. For your enjoyment, we have a large swimming pool for adults, a small one for the kiddies and a large playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cavalier Motel Kill Devil Hills
Cavalier Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Cavalier Motel Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.