We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room, convenient for dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    207
    99
    38
    18
See reviews for
230
184
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family recently spent the Labor Day weekend in the Outer Banks and we chose the Travelodge as our hotel. The room was perfect and the staff was outstanding. Super friendly and accomodating and Diana and everyone went overboard to make sure we had everthing we needed and were quick to respond to any questions about local attractions and the hotel. The cleaning staff did an outstanding job and everyone made our stay just awesome!

Did I mention the breakfast? Wow! The variety and quanity was awesome too and my family I really enjoyed the morning treats before we began our day. I am a coffee drinker and the coffee was right on every day! The pool was super clean and inviting. I think it was heated but could not really tell but it did not matter as we spent most of our time at the beach which was an easy walk across the street from the hotel. Parking was easy and the access to all the local stores and shops and restaurants was perfect.

We did not travel with pets and we did not mind the pet friendly environment. I was not sure what that would be like but we never heard barking dogs and it was sort of nice to see pet owners walking their dogs around the hotel grounds.

We will go back..my family really fell in love with the Outer Banks and I had not been in years but we are hooked now and the Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel will be our first choice.

Thanks again for making our stay an awesome experience!

The McGuire Family

Room Tip: upper floors...we loved the view from the 4th floor..overlooked the pool and the Wright Brothers Mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are always so grateful when a guest takes the time from their busy schedule to write a review of our hotel. In the case of your review we are so very pleased that your family had such an "Awesome Experience" on your recent trip to the Outer Banks! Your second sentence really says it all.....but then you go on to elaborate. The staff of this hotel take a great deal of pride in their jobs here, from your first encounter with the front desk staff (Diana really does love her job here and it shows!), to the housekeepers (these ladies take cleaning "their" rooms and floors seriously) to the maintenance crew (that pool really does sparkle huh?). So I will pass along your compliments to all of them. It means a lot to each and every one of us here at the Travelodge, when a guests takes notice of how much we care!
I am happy you were able to enjoy our FREE Continental breakfast...I wonder what was your favorite....egg & cheese biscuts, powdered doughnuts, waffles, cinnamon raisin bagels with cream cheese, crunchy apples, yummy hot oatmeal, plain bagels, toast and jam, oranges, grits??????? You also mentioned you enjoyed the coffee as well. I certainly hope that you were able to enjoy it throughout the day as we serve it up Piping HOT and fresh around the clock from our "Bottomless" coffee maker.
You are not the 1st guest to mention the close and easy beach access...and we are glad that the ocean is just a quick 100 yards walk. It is a nice feature we are glad the beach access is right across the street form us. We may not be Ocean Front, but for the $$$$ you save we don't feel like our guests have too much of an inconvenience. I might add that we do have spectacular views from the private balconies on our upper floors, so please inquire about those rooms if that is a feature you happen to be looking for.
Thanks for the note about us being pet friendly, even though you didn't travel with a pet. We are very proud the fact that we offer all family members a great vacation opportunity...even the ones with 4 legs!.
We look forward to the next time we can be a part of your "awesome family experiences" and await your call at the front desk so we can accommodate your needs personally 252-441-0411 ext. 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you go on the Travelodge website and filter for just pet-friendly rooms, it pulls up all the room options in a hotel that allows pets, and not just rooms that are pet friendly in that hotel. This left us with no room for three people and a dog at 10 pm over Labor Day holiday weekend. After duplicating the issue on my Smartphone for the staff and still not getting acknowledgement or understanding that this is a problem with their internal website, they put us in a deluxe pet friendly room and tracked down what was probably the last rollaway bed on the Outer Banks. Exceptional service and great on-the-fly problem solving by the front desk staff. I suspect this issue happens to these hard-working staff a lot so I wish corporate would make their website more clear and avoid a stressful situation for all. Great beds, great pool, perfect location a minute from the beach.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the problems you encountered when using the website to book your reservation. From what I am understanding you simply did not scroll down far enough when looking for the correct room. I am however so glad that we in fact were able to accommodate you and your family. We always try to suggest to our guests to call the hotel directly when making a reservation that way we can be sure to ask you for all the information pertinent to your stay with us. The front desk # is 252-441-0411 ext.1
I certainly do appreciate you recognizing and acknowledging the fine staff at the front desk. We strive to give each and every guest the utmost courteous and personal attention possible. From time to time when we do encounter a "computer glitch/error/mistake" we take great pride in our ability to handle the situation quickly and satisfactorily for the guest and as stress free as possible.
We look forward to hearing from you personally when you are planning your next trip to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks

Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#8 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.