We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Decent Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks to your Saves list
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Decent Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just this month (7/14) stayed at this hotel on the Outer Banks. While it is an older hotel, they have done their best to update it. The clerks, Diana and Sherrie, were just great and very helpful. The pool was well kept. The continental breakfast was better than many others I have experienced with waffles and egg or sausage biscuits as well as the usual bagels and cereal and donuts. The room was very clean and it is very conveniently located across from the beach and near shopping/restaurants. The hotel does allow dogs, and the rooms they are allowed in are all on the first floor which is so smart in terms of taking them out to walk and also making sure the other rooms don't smell like "wet dog". We had a very satisfactory stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    225
    113
    41
    21
See reviews for
250
215
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We traveled across the country to attend a wedding and stayed at this great hotel. Great location. Rooms were a bit small, but clean. Plus Diana and Sherrie at the front desk were super helpful and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a very nice experience at this hotel on our first trip to the obx. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was convenient that the hotel offered a continental breakfast which saved some money for my family. It was more than just coffee and donuts also! I only wish the beach was nicer where the hotel is, I thought it was very rocky and the surf was rough but that has nothing to do with the hotel. I would recommend this place to friends

Room Tip: The first floor is pet friendly so if you don't have a dog I'd ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place is noisy. We had a room facing the pool on the second floor, so all I the noise was amplified. Dogs barking in the parking lot and babies crying awoke me again and again as I attempted to sleep past 8am. Also, there were ramen noodle bits on the counter next to the bathroom sink that smelled like a dog bath. Not clean. I will not stay here again in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagsheadbeachhotel, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking time to let us know how your recent stay was with us. We work very hard to provide our guest with a clean room and comfortable stay. In looking back at your stay, we have seen that no complaints were called in to us. We always stress to our guest at check in to let us know of any issues with there room or noise complaints. We would of been happy to have sent someone to go to your room and remedy your problem. In regards to the dogs barking it is rare that guest complain of dogs barking,(which is also why we keep all pet rooms on the 1st floor) but on the occasion's that it does happen if called we would of called the guest to take care of that. We have in the past needed to do that and our guest have always been happy to comply. We receive many complements on the cleanliness of the rooms and are very sorry there was crumbs on your counter top. Please in the future we welcome a call so that you are happy and we can be sure your stay is the best we can provide. If you have further questions we are available to take your calls 24/7 directly at 252-441-0411. Thank you and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Tabitha Filer
Front Desk'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family of 4 (children ages 13 & 11) enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel in mid July. The room was nice and had a great view of the pool area. It was very convenient to have the microwave and fridge in the room. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was wonderful. It was great to just walk across the street to the beach. We were also close to many restaurants and stores. The only downside was the breakfast. The coffee and juice were from concentrates and pretty watery. The food selection was minimal with very little fresh choices. We didn't even bother eating there the second morning. Overall, it was a great stay and we would likely come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Yes ocean view ,but a football field away.that said! Our stay was great.Very clean rooms,comfortable beds,friendly staff.short walk to beach & so cool to see puppys allowed.A great all around place.Would recomend this hotel to all!!

Room Tip: Go for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were there over July 4th weekend when Arthur came thru. Really nice place and staff was very kind and helpful with eats in the area. Will be sure to stay h there again when in area for short time. Comfortable beds and clean rooms and pet friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks

Address: 804 N Virginia Dare Trail, Milepost 8, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#7 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks
Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
Kill Devil Hills Travelodge
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.