We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water...I mean steps away!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Tilghman, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Right on the water...I mean steps away!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Now I was on vacation with my daughter's family, so I am not sure how much they paid to stay in the two bedroom suite, but I can tell you that we literally walked out the door and were in the sand. The sunrise was unbelievable and the beach is not very crowded in the morning.
We stayed in one of the rooms that had not been renovated and while it needed updating and some TLC, it was very clean and well supplied. The room darkening drapes allowed us to lengthen the children's morning so we could have some time before they awakened. The sunroom made a noise barrier that snuffed out loud ocean waves, so I had a great nights sleep. We cooked in for most meals, which kept our budget under control and when we did go out there were many restaurants within walking distance or a short drive. There are attractions such as the Wright Brother's museum very close by.
The best thing was the family friendly atmosphere. What a great little piece of beach this place has.

Room Tip: For the kids ask for a room close to the stairs to the beach so you can get all the beach toys there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the view from the condo-style suite during your recent stay and that it met your expectations and added all of the home like conveniences! We are beginning a renovation to those units this coming off season that will bring many upgrades to the suites. Keep in touch with our website and social media for updates! . We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    136
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
150
167
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was our first time staying in the OBX and we couldn't have picked a better place to spend the weekend. From the moment we checked in, it was a great experience. Our dining experience was fantastic but our room was the icing on the cake. The view was spectacular! Room was clean, appliances all up to date and the environment was just right. This will definitely be a place we return to in the near future. Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful five-star review! We hope you will make the Sea Ranch Resort a new vacation tradition! WE look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The sea ranch has newly renovated rooms. The room service was good and they always came by to supply clean linen. The room was clean upon arrival and we even had a small fridge, sink and microwave for our food. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We would definitely visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay and compliments to our rooms and views. We look forward to having you all back out for another stay!!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Sea Ranch Resort is the closest you can get in oceanfront for amazingly low prices. The place is so close to the beach high tide almost hits the hotel. I've been coming here 4 yrs in a row now and its always been fantastic. The staff are from the old school of hospitality "where you take care of ur guests as family".For awesome views of the beach and the ocean at your feet.. check out the Sea Ranch ..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your all your kind comments. We love to hear that you feel at home each time you visit. We strive to make everything as comfortable as possible for you. Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort. We can't wait to have you back!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

For the cost of the condo and the partial stay option this place can not be beat! The furnishing were contemporary. The floors and bathrooms were clean. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is dated, but reflected in the price. Just being right on the beach is awesome. We opened the screened windows on the glass sunroom and sliding glass door (leaving the black out curtain closed) to be lulled into sleep by the ocean. The food in the Bistro is typical hotel fare, but the discount and the proximity is great. The staff was kind and helpful even with a wedding there Saturday night!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family visited OBX for the first time ever this year and had a great time. The staff was very polite, rooms were the cleanest we have ever stayed in for a beach resort. You can't beat the breakfast at the Bistro. We will be coming back next year.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are the best. We bought fresh seafood from Billy's Seafood and made all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort! We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite so much and considered this to be one of your 'Best vacations ever'! We hope this is the beginning of a new tradition!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We reserved one BDRM suite, but wanted an ocean view. We upgraded for an extra 100.00 or so and I loved it. It was ON the ocean and a 2 bedrm condo was more than large enough for all 4 of us. Con: one of the toilets didn't work.We got clean towels but you have to clean the rm yourself.Overall, I would rate it a 5.5
out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that we were able to upgrade your group and the accommodations worked out so well! We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and hope that you will consider returning when you visit the Outer Banks in the future.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.