We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of ocean from glass sunroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely view of ocean from glass sunroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

For the cost of the condo and the partial stay option this place can not be beat! The furnishing were contemporary. The floors and bathrooms were clean. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is dated, but reflected in the price. Just being right on the beach is awesome. We opened the screened windows on the glass sunroom and sliding glass door (leaving the black out curtain closed) to be lulled into sleep by the ocean. The food in the Bistro is typical hotel fare, but the discount and the proximity is great. The staff was kind and helpful even with a wedding there Saturday night!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your stay at the Sea Ranch Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    137
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
152
169
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family visited OBX for the first time ever this year and had a great time. The staff was very polite, rooms were the cleanest we have ever stayed in for a beach resort. You can't beat the breakfast at the Bistro. We will be coming back next year.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are the best. We bought fresh seafood from Billy's Seafood and made all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort! We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite so much and considered this to be one of your 'Best vacations ever'! We hope this is the beginning of a new tradition!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We reserved one BDRM suite, but wanted an ocean view. We upgraded for an extra 100.00 or so and I loved it. It was ON the ocean and a 2 bedrm condo was more than large enough for all 4 of us. Con: one of the toilets didn't work.We got clean towels but you have to clean the rm yourself.Overall, I would rate it a 5.5
out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that we were able to upgrade your group and the accommodations worked out so well! We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and hope that you will consider returning when you visit the Outer Banks in the future.

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Sea Ranch Resort and when we walked in to check in we were greeted by the receptionist "Katie" who turned out to be very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend going there. Our room was very nice and clean. I didn't want to leave when it was time to go..We will definitely be going back soon. Thank you "Katie" for all your help and for being so friendly...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your experience! I will be sure to share all of your kind words with Kaitie! Please feel free to let us know if we can assist you in planning your next visit!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Sea Ranch Resort for several days while in OBX for a friend's wedding. We had an oceanfront room and it was just that - an awesome balcony view on the Atlantic. There's nothing I like more than not having to leave my room to see the sunrise!! The room was clean and met my fairly rigid standards for a nice hotel room. The Bistro was a great way to come right off the beach and get a bite to eat or a nice drink. Last, but certainly not least, the staff was super helpful helping me rearrange my reservations when I needed to make a modification. Thanks so much for a great time - we will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review with the trip advisor community! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy some of the most beautiful sunrises around ! I will be sure to pass you kind words on to the staff and we hope that you will make plans to come back and visit us again really soon!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The room was okay. Not very clean; but clean enough. There were chips on the floor near the night table that was left by a previous occupant. They gave us new bath towels on the second day, that was good. It served it's purpose, but I paid too much, I think. But we went in August, so it's peak season. The beach was awesome!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was only OK and did not exceed your expectations. I will certainly address you comment about the chips near the night table. This isn't a normal practice of our housekeeping staff and if this issue was known during the time of your stay it would have been taken care of immediately!

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the future! We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing the Sea Ranch Resort!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

There's really nothing special here for the money. The rooms are blah. The reception area is worn. Except for a small indoor pool and beach access, there's nothing else it offers The hotel doesn't even offer beach chairs, umbrellas or towels. You have to bring your own or rent. Sorry but for the money give me a beach towel! Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I was disappointed to see you found our resort so disappointing. We offer a variety of on-site amenities and conveniences to our guest which include; on-site cabana rental service, enclosed pool, full service restaurant, fitness center, direct beach access, as well as organized activities.

I would be happy to discuss the details of your stay! I can be reached at 252-441-7126 ext 150. We appreciate your honest feedback and you business!

Best regards,
Barbara Gusler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.