We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently. I selected an "oceanside" room during a 72 hour sale online and got an excellent rate for a room with two double beds. The room looked as it was portrayed online, but it was in a separate building from the "oceanfront" rooms. We had a very small view of the ocean, but that was acceptable since we planned to spend most of our time on the beach. After checking in, we found that the bathroom in our room had been damaged by a prior guest and the hostess at the front desk moved us to another room with no questions. It was actually better since it had a balcony. Both the original and new rooms both had a damp odor throughout our stay - probably common at the beach. But overall, the property was quiet, clean, and conveniently located. It was a good value for our tight budget.

Room Tip: If you select an oceanside room, be sure to ask for one with a balcony. They seem larger and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    137
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
152
169
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Roads
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sea Ranch for 2 nights recently. Overall it was a pleasant experience. Our room was an ocean front king. The room was average as far as amenities, but it was large and spacious for a standard room. The room was also very clean, which carries a lot of weight with us. The best part of our stay was the view. These rooms have some of the best ocean views we have seen, and you get a very full view through the large glass that spans the entire wall. I would recommend this hotel and will probably stay again in the future. The only small issue we had was that the ac unit is louder than average, but it is by no means a deal breaker.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived in Kill Devil Hills on July 4th with no reservations. After numerous calls to hotels, realties, etc. we stopped @ the Sea Ranch Resort. They had 1 condo available & after looking @ the room, we took it! The room was very clean & had everything you might need. The staff was so professional & helpful. There is a Bistro, concierge, covered pool, beach service & so much more! The prices were very reasonable also! I highly recommend Sea Ranch Resort if you are ever @ the Outer Banks area!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th (top) floor almost @ the end of the walkway. Very little traffic noise, away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review! I will be sure to give the staff your positive feedback, from front desk & housekeeping to the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I love the sea ranch resort north Carolina. we walked in and got a room for the time we wanted without reservations. the restaurant had delicious food for breakfast and dinner. the rooms and pool very clean and all the staff was super nice to us. on our next trip to obx if we can't stay at the sea ranch resort we won't go. would i recommend this place ABSOLUTELY....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for all of your comments. I will make sure that the front desk staff hear the positive feedback as well as the restaurant. Give us a call if we can assist you in planning your next trip to the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here in early May, just before the summer season started, was great timing. Sure, there was a lot of work going around on the grounds to get ready, but we had the indoor pool to ourselves whenever we wanted, and there is nowhere on the OBX that is closer to the ocean. Nice location near Wright Bros. memorial, grocery, Lowe's, etc. Condo was well-stocked, not the most modern decor but certainly functional and clean. We picked this property because of the screened-in porches (for young children) and in-unit laundry, both came in very handy. The indoor pool was a plus since it was cold for the first couple days of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that the pool got you through those first couple days and that you enjoyed the enclosed balcony. We hope to have you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Kill Devil hills, where we had a small family get together. This hotel has the beach right in back of it. We got to see dolphins and could fish and just have fun walking down the beach. There was a pier a little ways down the beach but it was a nice walk to it. This place has everything close that you could need or want the stores are close even walmart, and it has a restaurant on property and the food was great. The rooms are spacious and some have balconies with screen enclosures to keep the bugs out. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We watched the sun set and rise and it was beautiful. We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: It has suites and regular rooms. The suites have separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We look forward to having you back too! If we can help assist you with your return visit, don't hesitate to call!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked the Sea Ranch Resort based solely on other reviews, and had high expectations. When we arrived, it looked like your typical 'old' beach hotel - not run-down, but not new, either. We had asked for a room on an upper floor when we made our reservation, as we enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. When we checked in, we were told there were no 'upper floor' rooms available, and we were on the second floor (floor one has no rooms, just workout, laundry, etc.). We were concerned about our view, but were assured that it would be fine. We went to the room, and realized that it was right next to the ice machine, stairs, elevator, and the walkway to the beach - all noisemakers! With 12+ years in the hotel business, I knew this was not a 'prime' room, and was becoming very apprehensive about our stay.

Fortunately, our first impressions were completely wrong!

The view from the room was great. Yes, we weren't 'up high', but there was nothing blocking the ocean from our balcony. (And, had we wanted/needed to, a quick jump over the railing and we'd be on the beach - can't get any closer than that!) Sounds from the ice machine, stairs, and elevator were non-existent. And, the only noise we heard from people walking through to get to the beach was an occasional light 'thud' as the door closed behind them if it was late at night or early (as they propped open the door during the day). Since the A/C unit was one that allowed us to turn the fan on manually (yes!), we just turned that on and it drowned out what little noise there might have been.

So, we would definitely go back, and even stay in that room again (#219, for those interested), even though it was probably the 'worst' one. :-)

We never got to try the restaurant, or any other amenities, so I can't speak to them. We were there to relax, do nothing, and enjoy the beach. And that, we did!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am so glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us this summer and that the resort was a true reflection of the reviews that you had based your decision on! I hope that during your next visit you are able to try the restaurant! Stay in touch for upcoming specials and packages!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.