We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I love the sea ranch resort north Carolina. we walked in and got a room for the time we wanted without reservations. the restaurant had delicious food for breakfast and dinner. the rooms and pool very clean and all the staff was super nice to us. on our next trip to obx if we can't stay at the sea ranch resort we won't go. would i recommend this place ABSOLUTELY....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for all of your comments. I will make sure that the front desk staff hear the positive feedback as well as the restaurant. Give us a call if we can assist you in planning your next trip to the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    108
    23
    19
    14
See reviews for
117
137
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We rented a condo here in early May, just before the summer season started, was great timing. Sure, there was a lot of work going around on the grounds to get ready, but we had the indoor pool to ourselves whenever we wanted, and there is nowhere on the OBX that is closer to the ocean. Nice location near Wright Bros. memorial, grocery, Lowe's, etc. Condo was well-stocked, not the most modern decor but certainly functional and clean. We picked this property because of the screened-in porches (for young children) and in-unit laundry, both came in very handy. The indoor pool was a plus since it was cold for the first couple days of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that the pool got you through those first couple days and that you enjoyed the enclosed balcony. We hope to have you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Kill Devil hills, where we had a small family get together. This hotel has the beach right in back of it. We got to see dolphins and could fish and just have fun walking down the beach. There was a pier a little ways down the beach but it was a nice walk to it. This place has everything close that you could need or want the stores are close even walmart, and it has a restaurant on property and the food was great. The rooms are spacious and some have balconies with screen enclosures to keep the bugs out. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We watched the sun set and rise and it was beautiful. We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: It has suites and regular rooms. The suites have separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We look forward to having you back too! If we can help assist you with your return visit, don't hesitate to call!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked the Sea Ranch Resort based solely on other reviews, and had high expectations. When we arrived, it looked like your typical 'old' beach hotel - not run-down, but not new, either. We had asked for a room on an upper floor when we made our reservation, as we enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. When we checked in, we were told there were no 'upper floor' rooms available, and we were on the second floor (floor one has no rooms, just workout, laundry, etc.). We were concerned about our view, but were assured that it would be fine. We went to the room, and realized that it was right next to the ice machine, stairs, elevator, and the walkway to the beach - all noisemakers! With 12+ years in the hotel business, I knew this was not a 'prime' room, and was becoming very apprehensive about our stay.

Fortunately, our first impressions were completely wrong!

The view from the room was great. Yes, we weren't 'up high', but there was nothing blocking the ocean from our balcony. (And, had we wanted/needed to, a quick jump over the railing and we'd be on the beach - can't get any closer than that!) Sounds from the ice machine, stairs, and elevator were non-existent. And, the only noise we heard from people walking through to get to the beach was an occasional light 'thud' as the door closed behind them if it was late at night or early (as they propped open the door during the day). Since the A/C unit was one that allowed us to turn the fan on manually (yes!), we just turned that on and it drowned out what little noise there might have been.

So, we would definitely go back, and even stay in that room again (#219, for those interested), even though it was probably the 'worst' one. :-)

We never got to try the restaurant, or any other amenities, so I can't speak to them. We were there to relax, do nothing, and enjoy the beach. And that, we did!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am so glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us this summer and that the resort was a true reflection of the reviews that you had based your decision on! I hope that during your next visit you are able to try the restaurant! Stay in touch for upcoming specials and packages!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting OBX for a week. The room was very clean and spacious! The staff was very friendly. There was a nice bistro on the lower level of the resort. And it was jist steps from the beach! Will be back for another visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review! Keep in touch for great fall travel options & packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inez, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in a a one bedroom ocean front room for 2 nights and what a view we had. We were on the 2nd floor( there is no 1st floor because of the design of the hotel) and had to go down a small set of stairs to get to the beach. The ocean was really cold to us Texas folks, so we never got in, but we had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the ocean. The room was very nice and clean. I got a great summer special deal on their website and it included vouchers for breakfast both mornings. We also ate at the Bistro one of the nights for dinner. The food was really good and they even had live music each night to listen to. One of the mornings they got slammed with everyone coming in at the same time to eat, and the order took quite a while, but they brought in help from the front desk, etc. and they kept apologizing about the wait. It was worth the wait! The pancakes are amazing and you get 3 large ones in an order. The resort is very close to everything. I would stay there again if I ever return to that area.

Room Tip: get an ocean front room for a little extra money. When can you see a view like this from your room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! We appreciate your understanding during an unexpected rush at breakfast during your stay. All of our staff is eager to work as a team to ensure the best guest experience possible.

Although I know that you came a long way, I hope that your future travel plans will bring you back to the Outer Banks and you return to the Sea Ranch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This property was described perfectly on trip advisor . We were going to stay at another property in the area but , the room was unavailable , My wife and my 8 year old were comfortable here like it was home .. (Hard task to do!) the restaurant was better food quality than most areas , The staff was very helpful too .. the concierge was wonderful . we stayed a week and had a wonderful time . Nice quiet place . only three things that could improve customer experience ... 1 When there are guests waiting in line at the hotel desk , the woman in the office to the left should not walk by and add more instructions to the busy person behind the desk and go sit down in the office , she should try to help the waiting customers... 2 Add a clock in the pool area and towels , 3 Clean the area at the bottom of the small elevator to the left it smells badly ... We will stay here again !! and the 90 plus guests at the wedding we were in town attending will see and here how great this place was ...

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the ocean front rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review! I am glad that everyone felt so at home during your visit! You'll be pleased to know that we are now offering towels for our guests at the pool. I will be sure to address the other concerns you have listed in your review.

Please contact us if we can help you in planning your next trip to the OBX!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.