We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get a better view of the ocean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You can't get a better view of the ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Ranch Resort May 24-May 26 (Memorial Day weekend). We have stayed on the Outer Banks for years and were pleasantly surprised. There were 6 of us and we had the 2 bedroom condo. It was perfect for us, clean and what a view! The ocean was RIGHT there. We ate breakfast at the hotel also, it was perfect. It's a great location and we look forward to staying again, everyone was happy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Memorial Day experience! We love hearing from our guests and appreciate your taking the time to review the property. And, we hope to see you again---maybe a Memorial Day stay will become a tradition in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    138
    37
    20
    17
See reviews for
153
175
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There are just a handful of hotels on the OBX that can offer rooms right on the beach......and I mean less than 150 feet from the soothing sound of constant breakers on the shore. We were able to keep the door off the balcony open at night, catching the cool breezes and sounds of the ocean. Nothing fancy.....staff was extremely friendly. And the food.......wow! You can waste a lot of time and money searching and experimenting with recommended eateries, but the Bistro had outstanding dishes at prices that were easily 50% less than many higher-end places. And the location is ideal if you plan on other activities.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the south end of the building are ideal......at least 2nd floor or higher. More pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for spending your Anniversary with us (and, congratulations!); we're so happy that you enjoyed everything...especially the view. And, we're glad that you had the chance to dine in the Beachside Bistro--we're VERY proud of our menu offerings and think that it's a little gem,
hidden here by the waves! We hope that you return....next Anniversary...or before that if
you can? We look forward to welcoming you here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our family had a destination wedding at the Sea Ranch Resort and it was AMAZING!!! The staff bent over backwards to make everyone comfortable! The reception room on site was beautiful! The oceanfront hotel rooms were in perfect condition and OCEANFRONT!! The restaurant is on site so the food was perfectly cooked and fresh!! In the middle of Kill Devil Hills so it was the absolute best location for everyone! It was just perfect -- there couldn't have been anything else that could have made it any more perfect than it was!

We did some research before booking our event with the Sea Ranch Resort and I kept thinking it was too good to be true, what's the catch? I have to say there was no catch -- they know what they are doing and they do it right!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments; we are very pleased that you enjoyed everything! We agree that our location, venue, service and food are top-notch and we always strive to deliver the VERY best guest experience possible....especially for a celebration as special as a wedding! Thank you for letting us be a part of such a beautiful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you look at older reviews for this place, you probably won't stay. However, my wife and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms were neat and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the view from our room was exquisite. I gave the value for the money an average just because this is a resort area and even the chain hotels averaged over $100 bucks a night. But I do have to admit that we were pleasantly surprised with this place and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This is my second sisters week staying at the Sea Ranch Resort. It has been an excellent stay even with some rain. View is excellent and love your upgrades. The balcony looks great. The rooms were very clean and all the staff were very friendly. Thank you sea ranch for another wonderful week. Hope to see you again next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
As a return guest, we especially appreciate your comments on your visit and stay with us; we have a strong commitment to providing a wonderful product and superior service for our guests!
And, it looks like "Sister's Week Three" might be in the future!! Again, thank you for your support and for selecting the Sea Ranch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evington, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I vacationed here May 10 - 13, 2013. We've stayed here in the past and we always come back. You can sit on the balcony of your room and feel just like you're sitting on the beach - the weather outside just doesn't matter!. This was the first time we've stayed in the 2 BR condo. We loved it! It's very spacious and nicely arranged. The hotel grounds are nicely kept and attended to. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our AC and stopped by the lobby desk to let them know. Before we could get back to our room, maintenance was already there and the problem was corrected immediately. Great service all around. Best place on the beach! Can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Being someone who grew up going to Carolina Beach I am used to kind of scummy hotels, even for the higher end chains on the beach. The Sea Ranch Resort was a huge surprise for me. While it may not be a resort, per say, the hotel is wonderful. The hotel was very clean and our room was huge! The rates were also great.

Upon our arrival they let us check in about a half an hour early. We reserved an oceanside room, but I did ask if they had availability for us to upgrade to ocean front. While they didn't have a king room with availability, the front desk person was nice enough to look and see if she could find us something. We ended up sticking with the original room. The oceanside room turned out fine though and I was happy regardless. The room was very spacious and I could see the ocean (but it did require standing in the corner of the room and looking out the window.

Everything in the room was very clean. Like I said, as someone who grew up spending time at Carolina Beach I was floored by how clean it was! The room had a fridge and a microwave. It had a small tv, but we barely used it so the size was fine for us.

I was wary based on the pictures on the web of whether I would like the pool being covered. It looks like it is in a greenhouse. It was actually really nice because I have a small child and we could play in the water without fear of him getting burned. There were some ants around the perimeter, but it is to be expected around water and the beach.

The ocean was lovely and the beach was fairly empty since it was still off season. It was really nice to not feel crowded on the beach.

All in all, it was quite a nice place. I would love to go back when my son is older.

Room Tip: Oceanside view isn't much of a view, if you can spring for one of the oceanfronts I would! Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review; we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Since you're a Carolina Beach visitor, and are familiar with the challenges of a beach hotel, your comments are valuable--we strive to maintain a VERY clean property and live up to our guest's expectations.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.